We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, friendly staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bogota Plaza Summit Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Bogota Plaza Summit Hotel to your Saves list
Bogota Plaza Summit Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 100 No. 18 A -30, Bogota 14225, Colombia (Santa Bárbara)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 235 Hotels in Bogota
Austin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great hotel, friendly staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed in the Bogota Plaza Summit Hotel from Februrary 1 until February 4. This was my first trip to Bogota and I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of this hotel and the friendliness of its staff. I got to know a couple of them by name and they were always quite helpful. I had a junior suite room and was glad that I did because the sitting area came in handy when guests visited. The breakfast buffet was extensive and of good quality. Free Wi-Fi in all areas that was of acceptable speed and quality. The room was clean and was able to watch the superbowl right from the comfort of the bed! The only downsides to this stay was that the hot water was turned off late one night for maintenance (which I couldn't fault too much) and that they charged me for items from the mini-bar that I didn't actually consume. It amounted to only a few dollars, so I just let it go rather than arguing over it. Other than that, it was a quality stay and I would return the next time I am in Bogota.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    89
    25
    5
    3
See reviews for
22
32
17
113
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Having stayed for one night in one of the top listed places in Candelaria we speedily transferred here.

Got an executive room for a good price with 2 really comfortable double beds, huge room with tons of storage, desk for working and extra seating.

Gym is unusually good for a hotel and included as is the extensive breakfast buffet.

Excellent service with attention to detail. recommended

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

They market as a 5 star hotel l but it isn't . Rooms are ok but not was I expecting . The price is high compare to the real five star hotels in the Salitre Area . Lobby too small and very old furniture. elevator slow and old , take your time in order to wait for them, small as well , People are nice , I saw the same people in 3 days .So how many employees they have.? Food , very bad. I ask for a typical Ajiaco soap, pure water and very expensive . Don't have dinner in the hotel . Breakfast ok , buy no very variaty in food. Normal. If you want a 5 star hotel , don't go there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

From the moment you walk in you're treated very well.

The bell hop brings in your bags and waits patiently to see if you need of his services or not. Not once do you feel pressured to use him.

The front desk is very quick to take your information and get you straight to your room. The elevator to the room does require you to insert your room key to function. Another reminder that this hotel is very strict about who enters. Also the room key only allows you to access your floor and any general areas.

The room I had was a spacious suite. I had a very comfortable, memory foam lined mattress (it has a foam top but is a spring mattress on the bottom), huge tub and separate sink area. The temperature control is by the door but very easy to control. FYI you will need your key (like many other Latin American countries) for power so if you have an extra key leave it in so your room stays cool while you're out and about.

View was not amazing but was not bad. My view was of 19th Street and the BODYTECH gym down the street. You still great views of the western side of the story.

As for dining at the hotel, I can't speak much about it because I always dine out the hotel. I can speak for the breakfast buffet in the morning and I can say it is AMAZING! The staff is more than helpful and nice. They never feel pushy or overbearing. They go above and beyond for you. Remember to bring a few dollars to tip. After the amazing service you won't even mind leaving a few bucks for the great service you get.

Around the hotel is a grocery store named Carulla very much in the style of a Whole Foods or Trader Joe's. They have a cafe and a deli there so for a quick bite or if you want to take something back to your room its ideal. Across the hotels south entrance is "Avenida Carlos Lleras Restrepo" cross that, take a left and take the first right you can and you'll bump into several little restaurants and cafes.

If you plan on venturing out taking a taxi from the Hotel can be a hefty sum. I have always taken a taxi from the street, just make sure the taxi driver uses his meter.

This hotel is great for anyone that wants a stress free trip to Bogotá

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room closer to the elevators for better WIFI signal Lower level rooms have large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The Plaza Summit is located in a convenient location somewhat north of the city center. There's a clean and modern supermarket about two blocks away ad two good restaurants down the side street right outside the hotel entrance. Centro Andeno Mall and a large pedertrian shopping area are about a 5-10 minute walk from here. The rooms are typical business traveler generic Holiday Inn style rooms, but the view of the Andes is outstanding. I found the staff to be very helpful, friendly, and polite. It was spotlessly clean. They give you coffee flavored snacks on check-in and a bag of coffee when you check out. The neighborhood feels very safe.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

When we first booked the hotel, we chose it because of it's location and reasonable price. But what we found was a whole lot more!
A very spacious room with a big tub, free wi-fi and 3 different types of pillows to accommodate different tastes: from a very soft pillow to an ergonomic tempur-pedic type pillow. Very comfortable beds.
But what truly made it stand out was the service: the waitstaff at the breakfast buffet was very attentive to our needs. Friendly and courteous, they offered advice about the fruits or dishes unfamiliar to us. The bell boys were very friendly and helpful.
We came to Colombia to celebrate my birthday and without us telling them (probably by just looking at the info on my passport) they sent a small bottle of wine, a snack and a nice letter with congratulations.
But the icing on the cake was that we got a FREE night. We were going away from Bogota for one night so we had two non-consecutive bookings of the hotel. When the manager of the hotel noticed this, he offered a free night so that we didn't have to pack everything and leave only our bags. So we kept the same room, left our clothes in the hangers and packed a small bag for the one night we were going away. Such a great treat not to have to pack and unpack.
Also, we booked their AGL taxi services for private excursions and it was MUCH LESS EXPENSIVE than comparable private tours and with excellent service. New and clean cars, drivers dressed in suit and tie, and conservative driving.
I would highly recommend this hotel.
The one drawback was that our room was facing east and even though it has great light-blocking drapes the light still made it into the room from the sides.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciudad de México, Distrito Federal, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Bad service and couldn't take a shower because the water heater was off!! Restaurant was really bad and expensive. Not recommended. Gym was not ok either. Room fan was not working either. Not a comfortable stay and the personnel was not helpful when needed. I do not recommend to stay here specially if you are on business travel as it will make the trip harder

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bogota Plaza Summit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bogota Plaza Summit Hotel

Address: Calle 100 No. 18 A -30, Bogota 14225, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bogota > Santa Bárbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Bogota
#25 Luxury Hotel in Bogota
#33 Romantic Hotel in Bogota
#35 Business Hotel in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bogota Plaza Summit Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is ideally located in northern Bogotá; it has 190 warm and comfortable rooms softly aromatized with air conditioning, soundproof windows, bathtub, electronic door locks, safe box, LCD TV, Internet and telephones with voice services. Bogotá Plaza Summit Hotel looks for its guests’ satisfaction and well-being through total comfort, using elements that contribute to real relaxation, such as the “Memory Foam Pad”; the exclusive Pillow Menu, and ample body care product dispensers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bogota Plaza Summit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Bogota
Bogota Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bogota Plaza Summit Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.