We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant hotel off the beaten path” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Charleston Bogota Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Charleston Bogota Hotel to your Saves list
Charleston Bogota Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Carrera 13, 85 - 46, Bogota, Colombia (Chapinero)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 236 Hotels in Bogota
London
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Elegant hotel off the beaten path”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I enjoyed the luxury of this hotel. Our room was lovely and quiet. The linens were luxurious and the room was very large with a nice bathroom. The staff were very nice and helpful and you felt secure and safe. Parts of the hotel were very charming and other parts were a bit mundane. All in all a good choice if you want something other than a chain.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlestonHotelGroup, Director Comercial at Charleston Bogota Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We aim to provide a luxurious and personalized stay to each of our guests so we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Ana Maria Tello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    31
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
8
29
10
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Very well located, safe neighborhood and a few blocks from many restaurants and great shopping. If you ever stay here you should ask for chofer 'Angel Moreno': he is the sweetest most reliable service you will ever recieve. Angel makes the entire stay at this hotel worth it.
The hotel itself is fancy and modern but the last time i stayed it wasnt the most clean room Ive ever seen (but also not the worst). The staff is friendly and food was pretty good.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlestonHotelGroup, Director Comercial at Charleston Bogota Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the hotel's location and service, in particular that provided by Mr. Moreno. We are, however, very surprised to hear about your impressions on the cleanliness of the room. Our rooms are known for being spotless and we provide maid service twice daily to ensure they stay that way. This is definitely uncharacteristic, we're sorry that was your impression and we hope to have you as a guest again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Ana Maria Tello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a wonderful little hotel in a great neighborhood of Bogota. There are dozens of restaurants nearby, so it is very convenient to going out in the evening. The hotel is charming and cozy and the staff excellent. I stayed there on a business trip and thoroughly enjoyed being at a place that had character instead of the usual hotels that are the same everywhere.

The bathrooms have a large ledge for storing your suitcase open with a rack for hanging clothes above it. This is a simple but fabulous innovation that makes it so easy to access ones things in one place. For frequent business travelers this is much appreciated.

I would highly recommend it!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Comfortable small boutique hotel, very well located.
Staff are very friendly and helpful - English is however not always an option which can lead to interesting situations when trying to order Room Service.
However, with so many nice restaurants around, room service should be reserved for emergencies only.

Would not choose room 505 again. While it was very clean and comfortable sound from the room underneath gets transmitted with extraordinay clarity: telephone conversations and other activities appeared to be taking place directly in my room.

Sleep quality severly impacted by the noise issue - but my bed was wonderful.

Would come back but choose a different room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed for four nights, we loved the location, attention, cleanliness....most definite we would return. The breakfast were good, lunch at The Brasserie right across the street was wonderful...they have an awesome wineli

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in new or newly refurbed room , 515 . Faced road however not unduly noisy and we left windows open to avoid using aircon . Room well laid out and loved the shower , high pressure ...good toiletries .
No coffee maker in room but breakfast starts at 6.30 so not unendurable and we travel with small kettle and mugs .
The service and attention is first class , also delightful flowers , cymbidiums and orchids aplenty .
Neighborhood has excellent restaurant choices in easy walking distance and the hotel restaurant didn't disappoint .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham, MA
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We spent 3 days in Bogota recently at the Charleston Bogota. Located on a quiet street lined with excellent restaurants and around the corner from many more restaurants and some great shopping it was a perfect location. A 20 room boutique hotel, they cater to their clientele and can't do enough; from the doormen to the housekeeping staff. Beautful orchids arranged in all sizes of vases are everywhere in the common areas. We loved coming back after a day of touring. The rooms are spacious, quiet, comfy and beautifully appointed. The bathroom had a big glassed shower with rainforest shower head and some very nice amenities. The hotel also uses an ipad for its list of guest services. Loved that. Also, turn down service at night. We had breakfast in the small hotel restaurant and enjoyed it very much. In the evening stopping at their small bar off the lobby for a glass of wine before heading out was very pleasant. If you're going to Bogota and don't want to stay at a large hotel, try this one. For more, see 2atthebar.

Room Tip: Our room was very quiet. It looked out on the street but that didn't seem to matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Charleston Bogota Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston Bogota Hotel

Address: Carrera 13, 85 - 46, Bogota, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bogota > Chapinero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bogota
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bogota
#25 Business Hotel in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Charleston Bogota Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Venere, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Charleston Bogota Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Hotel Bogota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charleston Bogota Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.