We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Medina Hotel

Save Saved
You added Casa Medina Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Medina Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Carrera 7, 69A-22 | Cundinamarca, Bogota, Colombia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 228 hotels in Bogota
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Awesome!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I lived in the Casa Medina hotel during my business trips to Colombia. Good location (walking distance to my office), breakfast was nice. Warm atmosphere and very intelligent staff.
I strongly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlestonHotelGroup, Director Comercial at Casa Medina Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very glad to hear you have enjoyed your stays, especially coming all the way from Russia! We thank you for your kind comments and recommendation and hope to have you as a guest again the near future.

Best regards,

Ana Maria Tello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    26
    6
    6
    3
See reviews for
3
27
10
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I picked this hotel because I thought it was going to be classic and traditional, first at all it doesn´t has an A/C basic for me , and all though it was cool outside if you open the window you heard all the noise from outside, the room was nice and big with all the amenities, free WiFI and the G Zone ( gourmet zone is around the corner) my advice check trip advisor first before making any reservation I did not pay attention to their recommendation ,it was better and cheaper

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlestonHotelGroup, Director Comercial at Casa Medina Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment. We are sorry to hear the lack of A/C was inconvenient for you, as you mention, Bogotá has cool weather and our rooms are not particularly hot. We are glad to hear you that besides that issue, you enjoyed your room, the amenities, and the hotel's location.

All the best,

Ana Maria Tello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is a beautiful old historic hotel located in a great area of central Bogota, the Chapinero district. It feels like a Spanish colonial hacienda, with exposed wooden beams, stained glass, ornate ironwork flourishes, and intricate carvings. There are flowers everywhere, especially hydrangeas and orchids. I have stayed there twice in one of the suites for an extended weekend (3-4 nights). They were spacious and comfortable. WiFi is free, and there is an iPad in the room for guest use. I found the staff to be warm, attentive, and friendly. The service is outstanding. We loved the terrace restaurant that has both indoor and outdoor seating. The food is superb, and there is also a pizzeria. I highly recommend this hotel. When I return to Bogota, I will definitely stay there again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlestonHotelGroup, Director Comercial at Casa Medina Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Guest,


We want to thank you for sharing you review of Hotel Charleston Casa Medina. It is a great pleasure to get your positive feedback and to know that you have enjoyed your stays at our hotel. We always aim to provide the highest standards of service and are glad to hear that was your experience. We hope to have you as a guest again in the near future!

Sincerely,

Ana Maria Tello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I recently spent a week in this very elegant hotel and would call it one of the nicest business hotels I have ever been at. The very special atmosphere combined with top-notch business accessories such as high-quality wireless internet, business center, meeting rooms and the unforgettable service by the entire staff make this an outstanding place. The stay is rounded up by culinary experiences that combine local food with international cuisine, great wine lists and all of this can be enjoyed in different locations such as the trattoria, the terrace or the bar.
I loved the stay and would like to be soon...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlestonHotelGroup, Director Comercial at Casa Medina Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your review of Hotel Charleston Casa Medina. It gives us great pleasure to hear you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, from the ambiance to the food and the service. We sincerely hope we get the chance to have you as a guest again in the near future.

Best regards,

Ana Maria Tello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed a weekend night in Bogota in one of the junior suites. It's a pleasant enough property with plenty of security and next to some good places to eat. Inside it's unusual, with long corridors. It's a quiet place and some of the art is pleasing. The room was good with interesting furniture. Of particular note was an excellent bathroom with good lighting and a fine shower. The wifi - free and without password was fast.
The check in staff weren't wonderful - nothing major you just got the impression you were disturbing their chatter. We had breakfast on the terrace (not a cheap option, but presented well) and the staff seemed keen to move us on quickly, clearing away unfinished food items and stopping offering coffee. At the other end of the terrace a gentleman in sunglasses and his party was getting plenty of attention (our server actually left in mid order to go to that table). I guess on a dull, drizzly morning in Bogota shades either indicate the mother and father of a hangover or you are someone famous. My guess is the latter. We were told that two famous singers were staying at the property that weekend.
Would we return? Well the fireplace in the room looked inviting for a cold wet night in Bogota. The location was reasonable but service wasn't quite there. It's not as luxurious in fittings as the Sofitel or the sister Charleston property. It's an interesting choice, but at the price I wasn't totally convinced.

Room Tip: The junior suite was a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlestonHotelGroup, Director of Sales at Casa Medina Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review of Hotel Casa Medina. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your room- in particular the bathroom and the Internet service. On the other hand, we are sorry to hear you felt our staff was not pleasant enough. We pride ourselves in offering first-class service and we feel this is uncharacteristic of our staff. We hope to have the chance to change that impression in the future.

Sincerely,

Ana Maria Tello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I did not stay at this hotel but did tour the rooms and was very impressed. It looked like a really nice boutique style hotel with very nicely decorated rooms. I was invited to a luncheon that the hotel held in their backyard patio and while the service was extremely attentive and very friendly, the lunch choices were dubious at best. I found it odd that a fairly nice and somewhat elegant hotel would serve unimaginative sandwiches to our group of travel professionals! They were served with a smile - but in a country filled with fine foods it was a real disappointment for sure. So, that said, the hotel looked extremely comfortable - the staff was very attentive but I recommend that you check on the food because a concern to me is that any operator that has a dozen of the top travel professionals to entertain for two hours and decides that cold cuts are the way to impress - makes me wonder!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlestonHotelGroup, Director Comercial at Casa Medina Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor User,

Thank you for sharing your opinion of Hotel Casa Medina. We are glad to hear your impressions on the facilities and the staff, however, we are quite sorry to hear that you weren't impressed with the food. We are known for the quality of the dishes in our regular menu, in particular our famed breakfast and the Italian specialties of Trattoria Santa Lucía, so we hope to get the opportunity to serve you again in order to change your impressions.

Sincerely,

Ana Maria Tello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

i stayed at the hotel Casa Medina the week of July 8 2013. i found the room quality and service to be excellent, and all staff went out of the way to meet my needs. When i return to Bogota, i will stay here again.

Mike Barnholdt
Houston, TX USA

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlestonHotelGroup, Director Comercial at Casa Medina Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Mr. Barnholdt,

Thank you for your review of Hotel Casa Medina. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, in particular your room and the staff's service. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Ana Maria Tello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Medina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Medina Hotel

Address: Carrera 7, 69A-22 | Cundinamarca, Bogota, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bogota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Bogota
#13 Luxury Hotel in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Casa Medina Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the new financial and commercial center of Bogotá, one finds the luxuriousCasa Medina Hotel, filled with tradition and warm, personalized service.Built in 1945 by Don Santiago Medina, traditional elements of French andSpanish architecture are combined to make Casa Medina unique. The stonecolumns and floors, the individually and uniquely carved wooden doors addedto the modern comforts of the present, make for a luxurious and memorablestay.Casa Medina is designed to make guests feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Casa Medina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Medina Bogota
Hotel Casa Medina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Medina Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.