We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A luxurious and comfortable historic hotel well worth staying in” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Medina Hotel

Save Saved
You added Casa Medina Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Medina Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Carrera 7, 69A-22 | Cundinamarca, Bogota, Colombia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 224 hotels in Bogota
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A luxurious and comfortable historic hotel well worth staying in”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is a beautiful old historic hotel located in a great area of central Bogota, the Chapinero district. It feels like a Spanish colonial hacienda, with exposed wooden beams, stained glass, ornate ironwork flourishes, and intricate carvings. There are flowers everywhere, especially hydrangeas and orchids. I have stayed there twice in one of the suites for an extended weekend (3-4 nights). They were spacious and comfortable. WiFi is free, and there is an iPad in the room for guest use. I found the staff to be warm, attentive, and friendly. The service is outstanding. We loved the terrace restaurant that has both indoor and outdoor seating. The food is superb, and there is also a pizzeria. I highly recommend this hotel. When I return to Bogota, I will definitely stay there again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlestonHotelGroup, Director Comercial at Casa Medina Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Guest,


We want to thank you for sharing you review of Hotel Charleston Casa Medina. It is a great pleasure to get your positive feedback and to know that you have enjoyed your stays at our hotel. We always aim to provide the highest standards of service and are glad to hear that was your experience. We hope to have you as a guest again in the near future!

Sincerely,

Ana Maria Tello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    25
    6
    6
    3
See reviews for
3
27
10
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I recently spent a week in this very elegant hotel and would call it one of the nicest business hotels I have ever been at. The very special atmosphere combined with top-notch business accessories such as high-quality wireless internet, business center, meeting rooms and the unforgettable service by the entire staff make this an outstanding place. The stay is rounded up by culinary experiences that combine local food with international cuisine, great wine lists and all of this can be enjoyed in different locations such as the trattoria, the terrace or the bar.
I loved the stay and would like to be soon...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlestonHotelGroup, Director Comercial at Casa Medina Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your review of Hotel Charleston Casa Medina. It gives us great pleasure to hear you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, from the ambiance to the food and the service. We sincerely hope we get the chance to have you as a guest again in the near future.

Best regards,

Ana Maria Tello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed a weekend night in Bogota in one of the junior suites. It's a pleasant enough property with plenty of security and next to some good places to eat. Inside it's unusual, with long corridors. It's a quiet place and some of the art is pleasing. The room was good with interesting furniture. Of particular note was an excellent bathroom with good lighting and a fine shower. The wifi - free and without password was fast.
The check in staff weren't wonderful - nothing major you just got the impression you were disturbing their chatter. We had breakfast on the terrace (not a cheap option, but presented well) and the staff seemed keen to move us on quickly, clearing away unfinished food items and stopping offering coffee. At the other end of the terrace a gentleman in sunglasses and his party was getting plenty of attention (our server actually left in mid order to go to that table). I guess on a dull, drizzly morning in Bogota shades either indicate the mother and father of a hangover or you are someone famous. My guess is the latter. We were told that two famous singers were staying at the property that weekend.
Would we return? Well the fireplace in the room looked inviting for a cold wet night in Bogota. The location was reasonable but service wasn't quite there. It's not as luxurious in fittings as the Sofitel or the sister Charleston property. It's an interesting choice, but at the price I wasn't totally convinced.

Room Tip: The junior suite was a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlestonHotelGroup, Director of Sales at Casa Medina Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review of Hotel Casa Medina. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your room- in particular the bathroom and the Internet service. On the other hand, we are sorry to hear you felt our staff was not pleasant enough. We pride ourselves in offering first-class service and we feel this is uncharacteristic of our staff. We hope to have the chance to change that impression in the future.

Sincerely,

Ana Maria Tello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I did not stay at this hotel but did tour the rooms and was very impressed. It looked like a really nice boutique style hotel with very nicely decorated rooms. I was invited to a luncheon that the hotel held in their backyard patio and while the service was extremely attentive and very friendly, the lunch choices were dubious at best. I found it odd that a fairly nice and somewhat elegant hotel would serve unimaginative sandwiches to our group of travel professionals! They were served with a smile - but in a country filled with fine foods it was a real disappointment for sure. So, that said, the hotel looked extremely comfortable - the staff was very attentive but I recommend that you check on the food because a concern to me is that any operator that has a dozen of the top travel professionals to entertain for two hours and decides that cold cuts are the way to impress - makes me wonder!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlestonHotelGroup, Director Comercial at Casa Medina Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor User,

Thank you for sharing your opinion of Hotel Casa Medina. We are glad to hear your impressions on the facilities and the staff, however, we are quite sorry to hear that you weren't impressed with the food. We are known for the quality of the dishes in our regular menu, in particular our famed breakfast and the Italian specialties of Trattoria Santa Lucía, so we hope to get the opportunity to serve you again in order to change your impressions.

Sincerely,

Ana Maria Tello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

i stayed at the hotel Casa Medina the week of July 8 2013. i found the room quality and service to be excellent, and all staff went out of the way to meet my needs. When i return to Bogota, i will stay here again.

Mike Barnholdt
Houston, TX USA

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlestonHotelGroup, Director Comercial at Casa Medina Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Mr. Barnholdt,

Thank you for your review of Hotel Casa Medina. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, in particular your room and the staff's service. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Ana Maria Tello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

This is a great hotel, and it may feel pricey compared to other hotels in the neighborhood, but all similar ranked hotels are in this price range (Bogota is not a bargain folks!). The service is excellent and you can feel you are in a Colombian hotel and not a Western chain. It has a great location, nothing at all to complain about

Room Tip: Rooms not facing Carrera 7a are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlestonHotelGroup, Director Comercial at Casa Medina Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Google Translation
Querido Cliente,

Muchas gracias por compartir con nosotros su buena experiencia en La Terraza del Hotel Charleston Santa Teresa Cartagena. Siempre nos esforzamos por satisfacer a cada uno de nuestros clientes y nos alegra mucho saber que disfrutó de la comida, música y ambiente del lugar. ¡Esperamos volver a verlo pronto!

Atentamente,

ANA MARIA VELEZ RUEDA
DIRECTORA MERCADEO
HOTELES CHARLESTON
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

This is an excellent hotel experience. It´s one of the reasons I love Bogota. Service, decor, food, smell- it is a delightful, luxurious experience. My favorite hotel in Latin America! I would happily recommend to the most discerning customers. The showers and the beds are wonderful!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlestonHotelGroup, Director Comercial at Casa Medina Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and had a positive experience while staying at Hotel Charleston Casa Medina. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Ana Maria Tello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Medina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Medina Hotel

Address: Carrera 7, 69A-22 | Cundinamarca, Bogota, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bogota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Bogota
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Casa Medina Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the new financial and commercial center of Bogotá, one finds the luxuriousCasa Medina Hotel, filled with tradition and warm, personalized service.Built in 1945 by Don Santiago Medina, traditional elements of French andSpanish architecture are combined to make Casa Medina unique. The stonecolumns and floors, the individually and uniquely carved wooden doors addedto the modern comforts of the present, make for a luxurious and memorablestay.Casa Medina is designed to make guests feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Casa Medina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Medina Bogota
Hotel Casa Medina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Medina Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.