We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Andino Royal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Andino Royal to your Saves list
Andino Royal
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 85 No 12 - 28, Bogota, Colombia (Chapinero)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 236 Hotels in Bogota
Menomonie, Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Location and Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This is my 3rd trip to Bogota for business and I don't speak Spanish; that was not an issue at the hotel. Everyone was very friendly and there was a great breakfast and strong internet. The location was within close walking distance to many restaurants and shopping, I ate somewhere new everyday and only touched a fraction of the options. The beds were a bit small and firm but the rooms were spacious and very clean. I would strongly recommend this hotel for your Bogota stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    38
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
9
17
13
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed at Andino Royal back in December 2011. This was my husband's first time visiting Colombia and he loved the location of this hotel and everything about it. To start, the hotel is very clean, the staff is very helpful, there is a security guard at the door at all times, and free internet in the lobby. The room was big, the bed comfortable, and did I mention, spotless. The breakfast consisted of fresh coffee, lots of fruit, cereals, bread, meats, eggs, and juices. December is slow season for Bogota, so we were able to book this hotel at at great rate. This hotel is centrally located. Next to the hotel you will find numerous top restaurants, bars, and discos like Bogota Beer Company, Wok, and Wafles and Crepes. I like this area of Bogota because it's not so busy like the downtown and at night we were able to go for walks and felt very safe. We also stayed in the Boheme Royal (another of the Royal chain hotels) but we liked this one better. Try it for yourself, you will not be dissapointed.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

It was the only hotel we booked ahead for our tour. It turned out the perfect start for our stay in Colombia. The rooms are well kept and very comfortable. The staff is extremely helpful and went all the way to give us good advise and suggestions for our trip. The breakfast is the healthiest we had in Colombia. Apart from international dishes there is local food at breakfast too. I recommend the soup ('anti hang over'). The rest is location, location, location

-Zona Rosa with the restaurants and bars is just perfect and safe.
-Shopping malls are at walking distance.
-The TransMilleneo is a 10 minutes walk: It makes an easy half an hour bus ride to town.

I would recommend the hotel and the area any time: it's much better to stay here than in the rather run down historic area of La Candelaria.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

I travel to Bogota a few times a year.
I have always stayed at this hotel.
They have a very good staff.
Mainly my best two girls who work the morning shift for breakfast.
And the night manager.
The location is great for things to do, day and night.
Also a very safe area in Bogota.
I will be going back again.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

I agree with the earlier reviews about the service, friendly atmosphere and good food at the breakfast bar. The mini-bar items are very pricey but there is a supermarket 2 blocks away with anything one could want.
The beds are very hard but the pillow selection is good and the room lay-out makes for a comfortable stay. The shower/toilet is separate from the mirror / sink area so fogging was not a problem. The work desk is nice, the internet connection is fast and I had no problems getting and staying on-line. TV channel selection is varied and the in-room guide is detailed and easy to understand.

Prices in the restaurant is typical of an upper-class hotel but the free breakfast was fantastic. I stayed on two occasions, each on a Sunday night and the street noise stayed high throughout the night both times. I stayed in a room facing the main street outside on both nights and had noise problems both times. There seems to be a lot of partying going on in the area. The local area has plenty of shopping and food choices and this area seems very secure with a strong Police presence.

All in all, I enjoyed my stay but would have preferred a room on the back side of the hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room on the back side of the hotel if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

I stayed here for three weeks as part of a business visit. The service is impeccable - everyone speaks English very well, the cleaning staff is detailed and thoughtful, the restaurant staff is attentive and the front desk staff are helpful, kind and professional. I appreciated the excellent (included) breakfast of fruit, waffles, juice, toast, cereal, eggs and a mix of other local dishes. The hotel is located in the nicest shopping/restaurant/bar area of Bogota, so there is always something to do. Also an easy walk to Usaquen for the Sunday afternoon flea market. My only complaint is that the gym was out of service, and will probably be for a while. The staff will give you a pass to use a local gym, though.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel during a business trip in October 2011 and it was great, because it is located in one of the nicest places of Bogotá: La Zona Rosa (The Rose Zone), full of excellent bars, restaurants and malls. I recommend going to Andrés Carne de Rés, an amazing restaurant/club/party spot, and of course the local Hard Rock Café.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Andino Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andino Royal

Address: Calle 85 No 12 - 28, Bogota, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bogota > Chapinero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Bogota
#33 Business Hotel in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Andino Royal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Andino Royal Hotel, offers a cozy atmosphere that will make you feel right at home. Located in a landscape of business, meeting and pleasure travel pursuits. Our hotel stands in a beautiful cobblestone street that invites you to take walks and visit the various famous boutiques, upscale restaurants, and luxury shopping centers. Our 70 comfortable rooms are specially designed for business and leisure. Among the services and amenities we offer to our guests are: complimentary buffet breakfast, complimentary wireless Internet access throughout the property, complimentary valet parking, 24 hour Business Center, Restaurant, 24 hour rooms service, meeting facilities, dry cleaning service, gym and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Andino Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andino Royal Hotel Bogota
Andino Royal Bogota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andino Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.