We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location better values in neighborhood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Emaus Bogota

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Emaus Bogota to your Saves list
Hotel Emaus Bogota
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Carrera 4 # 69A - 46, | Avenida Chile Financial Area, Bogota, Colombia (Chapinero)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #112 of 236 Hotels in Bogota
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good location better values in neighborhood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

The hotel is in a good location and it is quiet. The rooms leave a bit to de desired for. If you are a tourist it can be a good experience. In my experience of frequent travel to Bogota, $ for $ you can get better quality rooms in the neighborhood or just a few blocks away. Also the breakfast takes a while as it is not buffet.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcela T, Gerente at Hotel Emaus Bogota, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Google Translation
Respetado Señor: Muchas gracias por su opinión, Esperamos que en otra oportunidad podamos hacerle un upgrade a una suite o habitación superior. Tenemos otras habitaciones que seguramente le dejarán una mejor impresión y a precios cómodos.

Cordial Saludo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    11
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
6
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stay with my husband for a week. Is located in a safe and beautiful area, surrounded by trees, parks, and also very close to the best city restaurants and High level Financial and Shopping Centers. We have the privileged to be in a quit area, but at the same time close to every thing. Very good food at the little cozy restaurant. Excellent general service and beautiful modern decoration. We felt very comfortable, Thank you.
Mabel Dunn

Room Tip: All rooms are quit and beautifull.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcela T, Gerente at Hotel Emaus Bogota, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por su opinión y por tomarse el tiempo. Esperamos volver a contar con usted como huésped.

Cordial Saludio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I was in Bogota for business and was very impressed with this Hotel, the room was very spacious and comfortable, The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The hotel is located in a very safe neighborhood of Bogota, and it is close to a malls, restaurants, and shops. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcela T, Gerente at Hotel Emaus Bogota, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por su opinion y por tomarse el tiempo.
Esperamos volver a contar con usted como huésped.

Cordial Saludo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I am amazed with Colombia overall and this hotel is not the exception. I was greeted, taken care of, feed and guided on my three day visit to Bogota. Its closeness to the financial area and the fine dining made a big difference. The hotel is not only comfortable but offer the perfect conditions for a business traveler. No need to stay in any other Hotel

Room Tip: Any room is fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcela T, Gerente at Hotel Emaus Bogota, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Google Translation
Muchas Gracias por su opinión y por tomarse el tiempo.
Esperamos volver a contar con usted como huésped.

Cordial Saludo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Emaus for three nights because of the recommendation of a friend who lives in Bogota; her family stays at this hotel when visiting. The hotel itself felt like a cross between a business and a boutique hotel. There was a reception area on the first floor and a bar/restaurant on the second floor. I had my coffee at the bar the first morning and the rest of the time breakfast was brought to our room for free. The mini-bar had great variety--although we didn't use it.

Our standard room faced the street and was on the 4th floor. It was very clean and had plenty of space for two people; there was a nice armoire with ample storage. There was a desk area and a small table in the room as well. Street noise wasn't an issue. One night we did hear noise (we think from the bar area) but we called the front desk and it stopped almost immediately.

The shower had the best water pressure and temperature on this trip to Colombia. As another poster had mentioned, the tub has a step to get in, which may make a difference for a person who has a disability or mobility issues; there may be other setups though. The toiletries (shower gel, shampoo, soap) were free; I was confused because I saw a price on the box but that was for their "dental kit."

All of the people who worked at this hotel were extremely attentive and helpful from the time we checked in to the time we were leaving.

Finally, we loved this location. It seemed mostly residential--but don't be fooled by this! There were lots of restaurants and cafes a short walk from the hotel (Zona G). Originally we were going to stay at a hotel that was in more of a shopping area but are glad we switched to Hotel Emaus at the last minute!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcela T, Gerente at Hotel Emaus Bogota, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Google Translation
Muchas Gracias por su opinión y por tomarse el tiempo.
Esperamos volver a contar con ustedes como huéspedes.

Cordial Saludo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This little hidden B&B should get more accolades! it is in a safe and beautiful section of Bogota with lots of restaurants and shops. The rooms are of an adequate size (room 303) but the tub was a bit of a mystery to me as you had to climb up steps and in to it?? Only drawback. Bed was comfortable, and all the perks everyone else has mentioned were an added bonus. Staff is efficient and very friendly. Fabulous coffee! Most definately would recommend it and stay there again.

Room Tip: Room 303 is on the street side and was a bit noisy but this was not a problem as the sun comes up at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marlboro, New Jersey, USA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

The location and price were primary reasons for selecting this location and did not disappoint. You are in a wonderful safe area with lots of restaurants and shopping. The staff are excellent, friendly, helpful, and most speak English quite well. The room is small, with low platform beds that are bit soft, a reaonsable work area, small flat screen tv, wireless internet that works well most of the time, a small bathroom with new tiles and shower only (no bath). A little surprising to see was shampoo and conditier for sale in the bathroom, not included, so bring your own. The restaurant was pretty good, breakfast was excellent, and they have a relationship with a nearby fitness center which I did not try. On the down side, it is on a fairly busy street, I had to switch rooms because the street noise at 5:00 AM woke me up, to be put a floor higher where the street noise still woke me up.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Emaus Bogota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Emaus Bogota

Address: Carrera 4 # 69A - 46, | Avenida Chile Financial Area, Bogota, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bogota > Chapinero
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 236 Hotels in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Emaus Bogota 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Emaus Bogota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Bogota
Bogota Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Emaus

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Emaus Bogota, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.