We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel and Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Tequendama

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Tequendama to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Tequendama
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Carrera 10 No 26-21 | PO Box 240 112, Bogota, Colombia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #123 of 236 Hotels in Bogota
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel and Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2009

I would have to say that this hotel turned out to be better than I expected. I was hesitant to stay here based on the initial reviews that I read on the site but service really made up for the minor inconveniences that I encountered. Location was perfect as it was within walking distance to shopping and sight seeing. I walked to Monserrate, The Gold Museum, and shopping on calle septima. the hotel staff were very friendly and accomodating. My first room was small and I had trouble with the lighting in the room so I asked to be upgraded since I was going to be staying there for 7 days. The upgrade was fantastic. At no additional charge, they put me in a large corner room with amazing views on the 16th floor (Their Club Suite Floor). If you're not satisfied with anything, just let them know and they will do their best to make your stay a pleasant one. Another nice thing about the location is that there are a lot of Military Police officers throughout the area since this hotel is the prefered location for diplomats and heads of state. Overall, it is very safe area. during the day, it is a bustling financial district and at night, it is very quiet and safe. Also, the hotel taxi drivers are very polite and great guides. You can just hire a taxi to drive you around sight seeing all over the scity if you wish. Their rates are very reasonable and of course this is a more secure option than taking any other taxi. A quick tip on restaurants in Bogota: Check out Adres De Res in the T-Zone (Zona T). It is a great steakhouse that turns into an all out dance club on weekends. Excellent place. Great steaks and good times.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    82
    55
    26
    18
See reviews for
19
37
28
117
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

We stayed in Bogota for a week and enjoyed the Tequedama. It had a spacious and relaxing lobby with a professional staff. The room was clean and comfortable. There was visible attention to security, which was a concern for us. We had no issues while we were there at or near the hotel.

Beware of leaving your luggage, camera bags, laptops out of your reach. Thieves and pickpockets are very aggressive to grab and run!

We would stay here again.

Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2009

I stayed at this hotel because I was attending a conference. This hotel is located in one of the most dangerous areas in Bogota. I strongly recommend that you hire a taxi from the hotel and avoid wondering around this dangerous neighborhood. Although the hotel is clean and the beds are comfortable rooms lack A/C. Even though Bogota is relatively cold, at noon my room was easily 80 degrees. Hallways are dark and scary because lights are motion sensor activated. If your room happens to be near the elevator expect to enter your room in darkness. For the price that I paid, I strongly recommend that you pay a little extra and stay in the nicer part of the city. I must say that wireless internet is complimentary, however, I won't return to this location.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2008

Hotel was clean, beds were comfortable, service was friendly but slow. I DO NOT recommend eating at the restaurant or room service. I had ordered a burger thinking how hard is it to mess up a burger, and half through after removing about 2 lbs of "cheese" from the top I bit into something hard like a bone or piece of wood. I'm just glad I didn't get sick from the whole experience and I didn't bother complaining because it seems if there is a problem, all of a sudden understanding English becomes an issue. Overpriced and over-rated.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Top Contributor
254 reviews 254 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2008

Now rebranded as a Crowne Plaza. Pretty average business hotel in a nondescript location some distance from the tourist attractions downtown. The WiFi, as everywhere, works better in the lobby than in the rooms. Except for breakfast, the hotel restaurants hold no great attraction and should probably be avoided. Rack rates (August 2008): 468,000 – 612,000 Pesos.

  • Liked — It was clean
  • Disliked — the so called Italian restaurant
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Tequendama for two nights. The hotel is old school with boutiques, art gallery and other services.
The lobby is fine and so are the rooms. We did encounter a problem when we checked out: we had fully paid through Travelocity but the front desk claimed the payment had not been made. I gave them all the information, but they were not convinced. I then asked them to use their internet to print a copy of the reservation since they would not do it for me. When I tried to enter the business center it was closed. We had to wait until they found the person in charge. Finally I was able to print the document and was told that normally they charge a fee to use the business center, but they would waive it this time. But I would have to pay for the printing. This situation was Kafkaesque. I showed the document to the front desk and they apologized admitting it was a mistake on their part. This entire episode took approx. 45 minutes.
We were worried that we would miss our flight to Santa Marta. It was a very stressful situation.
Word of advise to Management: the customer is always right and if in doubt don't place the burden of proof on the customer or at least assist him to resolve the problem. Also, have a computer at the front desk so reservations can be verified.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Treatment from the front desk.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2008

The Tequendama has been the class of Bogota for years. My father told me that when he was an adult traveling the world The Tequendama was the best hotel in the city. We stayed there for a week in Dec 07, and it was fantastic. The bed were soft. The water in the hotel was drinkable (yay), the lobby was classy and clean. The staff was really helpful. My favorite part was the buffet breakfast. Excellent. The jewelery boutique had better emeralds and more stylish designs than any at the Emerald Trading Center. I can't wait to stay there again!

  • Liked — Breakfast, Staff, Spa, Location and Service
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Tequendama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Tequendama

Address: Carrera 10 No 26-21 | PO Box 240 112, Bogota, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bogota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Tequendama 3.5*
Number of rooms: 578
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Tequendama Hotel would like to offer you our warmest welcome. We are truly a World Class Hotel. Our experience, quality and name have made us an icon in Bogota. We work tirelessly to provide you with the best service by offering you the high quality, comfort and world class service and facilities you deserve. Bogota opens its doors to you upon your arrival at El Dorado International Airport. The Crowne Plaza Tequendama Hotel is located just a few minutes away and offers the hospitality and comfort of one of the world s most renown hotel chains. Discover the magic of the Andean city from a unique perspective. You will experience the charm of Colombian culture as soon as you walk through the doors of the Crowne Plaza Tequendama Hotel A World Class Hotel. Come and enjoy one of our 578 luxurious rooms. We offer 24 hours Room Service, cable TV, voice mail, high speed internet access, laundry and valet service to meet all your demanding expectations. Nowadays we are ISO-9001 certified in our principal services. We are also certified in a local norm, as a five stars Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Crowne Plaza Tequendama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Tequendama Hotel Bogota
Crowne Plaza Bogota
Crowne Plaza Hotel Bogota
Bogota Tequendama Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Tequendama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.