We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is a dirty hole in unsafe surroundings” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Tequendama

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Tequendama to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Tequendama
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Carrera 10 No 26-21 | PO Box 240 112, Bogota, Colombia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #125 of 236 Hotels in Bogota
Kyiv
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“It is a dirty hole in unsafe surroundings”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Everything about this hotel is old, outdated and dirty. Rooms are dirty, especially windows and window drapes as well as bathroom.
Stuff is unreliable, you ask for something as simple as a pen, you never get anything but promises. Only reception stuff speaks English, guys in a bar are so not speaking English that ordering water is difficult.
Breakfast is very poor, the only thing edible is local fruit.
Not that I was planning to ever come back to Bogota, but if I ever come here again that would be certainly not to the very old and dirty lady of Bogota.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Tequendama, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Sunfloo,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I'm very sorry you were not satisfied with the condition and cleanliness of the hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    83
    56
    26
    18
See reviews for
19
37
29
117
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK, North America etc
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Where to start. As a business traveller I stay a lot in business hotels and never review as they are all pretty much the same, but my experience with this one was simply so poor that I felt I should share and spare someone else the grief.. there is a nice marriot 20 mins away! the weight exercise machines were a safety hazard in the 60's let alone today. The food in the restaurant was not terrible, the rooms were standard fare but dirty, the hot water takes a long time to run and the housekeeping service (I stayed there for over two weeks) varies according to the cleaning person whose shift it is.. it went from standard to me having to ask for towels as they were not replaced!!

Avoid, why deal with the hassle?

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariamFLT, Community Manager at Crowne Plaza Tequendama, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Mr(s). Biztraveller30:

Receive a cordial greeting in the name of Crowne Plaza Tequendama Hotel and in my own name.

Let me thank you for giving us your very valid remarks in our services. We regret that you had that situation, since we have a clean service that allows us to deliver each guest clean and neat rooms.
We have standards and quality certifications in our service process. We will check the situation that you mention and we apologize again.

Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellin, Colombia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Crownne Plaza has by virtue of the long history these hotel have been associated with quality and high end accommodation. I choose this hotel as it was close to where a business meeting I was attending. The staff from front desk to room service were excellent. Hospitality cannot be faulted. The rest of my stay has been somewhat shocking to say the leas. Room service food, was well below par. Sloppy presentation of a piece of fish on a dished up plate of rice that looked like something from a food truck. Well below standard, with what would have appeared like tomatoes been standing for a few hours and wilted cold spinach. The whole plate was just poor and only the fish was palatable even though it was extremely over cooked and luke warm. The rooms, filthy carpet, smelling like it had been locked up for some time, and opening the window revealed curtains smelling of cigarette smoke. To run a bath, one must leave the water to run for 30 mins before the hot water starts. Meaning in the morning, a earlier wake up. No bathrobes in the room. Overall, this hotel was disappointing and what I found was poor value for money. I don't know what the rest of Crownne Plaza is like, but for sure, for my next trip, I will be looking at an alternate hotel chain. 5 star prices for a one star stay. Very unimpressed and would not recommend. The staff are the hotels only saving grace that I can be postive about.

Room Tip: I would not recommend any room. They face busy main road with windows open make the room very noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariamFLT, Community Manager at Crowne Plaza Tequendama, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Mrs.Sandi F.


Receive a cordial regards from Crowne Plaza Tequendama Hotel.

We apologize for any inconveniences you may have had with the different services.

Crowne Plaza Tequendama’s goal is provide constantly superior customer service, you are very important for us. The feedback we received from you, our valued guest, allows us to focus on the problem and take the required actions to manage and solve similar situations in the future.

We look forward to receiving you again and let us serve you as you deserve.


Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This may not be a hotel I would chose myself, a very old school hotel screaming 'business'. Though, by the time I was leaving I was totally into its charm. All the staff knew me by the second or the third day, and they made sure I was doing OK. Though Bogota is much safer than it used to be, it was nice getting this reassured as a female traveling alone from abroad.

Building is old and rooms are simple, but kept well and clean. Ultra high-security to enter the hotel makes you feel safe (though, neighborhood is safe). Hotel has designated taxies, which were very convenient in town I was told not to hail a cab myself as a foreign female with limited Spanish. Having the same driver drove me to different places made things extra easy for me. Hotel taxi cost more than local taxi, but it totally worth it.
Convenient neighborhood, short walking distance to historic area Candelaria, and lots of good restaurants near by in Macarena right up on the hill.
As many of the wrote, internet can get patchy, but it worked. I used it whenever it was available. You are not in the US, so let's give them a break for a bit of imperfection.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the east has a good view of the mountain and greens, and I believe to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariamFLT, Community Manager at Crowne Plaza Tequendama, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Mrs Yuko
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for the time you took writing this awesome review, We are pleased you took the right decision choosing Hotel Crowne Plaza Tequendama for your stay in Bogota. We love to hear you liked our rooms and specially our staff service. We are looking forward to welcoming you again at Hotel Crowne Plaza Tequendama Bogotá.
Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

It's the people who make the value
Indeed it’s an old solid building… however it’s the rooms look renewed; but what really impacted me the most is the attitude of the staff; and by that I mean the entire staff no matter what position they are in.
Location is very interesting and close to financial districts, downtown and plenty of nice restaurants.
I recommend it with no hesitation!

Room Tip: Pick a high floor with a spectacular city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariamFLT, Community Manager at Crowne Plaza Tequendama, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear marlecz,

Thank you for staying with us and thank you for the time you took writing this awesome review, We are pleased you took the right decision choosing Hotel Crowne Plaza Tequendama for your stay in Bogota,. We love to hear you liked our rooms and specially our staff service. We are looking forward to welcoming you again at Hotel Crowne Plaza Tequendama Bogotá.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

March 2013
A decent hotel in need of renovation located in a run down and unsafe section of the city.

Slow check in and front desk service. Friendly staff. Rooms are ok for the price.

If you need even basic internet do not stay here as you will be frustrated.
Hands down the worst internet service of any hotel that I have stayed in over a decade of intense business travel. The local staff just apologies profusely concerning the internet and mentions the internet has been bad for some time. It appears management has no plan to fix it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Tequendama, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Steven D,

Thank you for posting a review of our property. It is good to know that you found our staff to be friendly and rooms comfortable for your needs. However, I would like to apologize for the issues you encountered during check in and Internet connection being sub par. We will use your comments to improve our efforts.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I stayed three nights in this hotel in February. It is conveniently placed, although we were told by the staff that the area is not safe for strolling around after dark. The room was clean and the bed comfortable, breakfasts were OK. There is no complimentary water and my minibar was empty. It is obvious that the buliding needs some renovation, the windows do no isolate and since the traffic gets heavy in the morning, it was almost impossible to sleep after 6.30 a.m. even on the 9th floor. Free wi-fi was working well.

Room Tip: You should go for an upgrade to a suite, the price difference is not that big and it is certainly wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Tequendama, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear kooladanice,

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our hotel. I'm glad that you found the beds comfortable. My apologies for the inconvenience you experienced with the condition of the property. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Tequendama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Tequendama

Address: Carrera 10 No 26-21 | PO Box 240 112, Bogota, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bogota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Tequendama 3.5*
Number of rooms: 578
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Tequendama Hotel would like to offer you our warmest welcome. We are truly a World Class Hotel. Our experience, quality and name have made us an icon in Bogota. We work tirelessly to provide you with the best service by offering you the high quality, comfort and world class service and facilities you deserve. Bogota opens its doors to you upon your arrival at El Dorado International Airport. The Crowne Plaza Tequendama Hotel is located just a few minutes away and offers the hospitality and comfort of one of the world s most renown hotel chains. Discover the magic of the Andean city from a unique perspective. You will experience the charm of Colombian culture as soon as you walk through the doors of the Crowne Plaza Tequendama Hotel A World Class Hotel. Come and enjoy one of our 578 luxurious rooms. We offer 24 hours Room Service, cable TV, voice mail, high speed internet access, laundry and valet service to meet all your demanding expectations. Nowadays we are ISO-9001 certified in our principal services. We are also certified in a local norm, as a five stars Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Crowne Plaza Tequendama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Tequendama Hotel Bogota
Crowne Plaza Bogota
Crowne Plaza Hotel Bogota
Bogota Tequendama Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Tequendama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.