We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Boutique Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Morrison 114

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Morrison 114 to your Saves list
Hotel Morrison 114
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. 19 No. 114 - 06, Bogota 110010, Colombia (Santa Bárbara)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
STAY AT THE # 1
Ranked #2 of 236 Hotels in Bogota
Cuenca, Ecuador
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“Great Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

his fine boutique hotel is located in a very nice area of Bogota, close to shops and restaurants and an easy taxi ride to most of the city's main attractions. The rooms are well-decorated, quiet, and comfortable. The staff was very helpful and friendly to me, which is a blessed relief when visiting a large city for the first time. The Greek restaurant in the hotel is very good, with a patio that has a beautiful "green wall" that's ingenious and unusual. The breakfast that the hotel offers until 10 AM is substantial, and includes several delicious Colombian dishes.

I'll stay at the Hotel Morrison 114 again, without hesitation. An excellent value, a convenient location, and very comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    74
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
50
76
24
143
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

My family and I satyed here over the new year period, and apart for the great location the rooms were modern and spacious and the staff and manager of this hotel went out of their way to ensure that our needs were met. Both my son and husband were unwell during out stay and the staff were wonderfully attentive. Looking forward to our next stay and would recommend to anyone after a comfortable and affordable stay in Bogota.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EduardoSanchezF, Gerente at Hotel Morrison 114, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Mary- Jo C
Australia
We wish you have had a great flight back to Australia.
Thank you for using our services and thank you for taking the time to write this review.
We are glad we assisted you on time and in the best possible way during your stay,
we are looking forward to have you back at The Morrison114 and thank you for recommending us to everyone in Australia.

NOS ENCANTA TENERLE AQUI

Eduardo Sanchez
G.M.
Morrison 114
Bogota, Colombia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent three nights here last February and I really can't recommend this place enough. 1) very cute and comfortable boutique hotel 2) Great in-house restaurant and 3) very helpful, friendly, and personable staff - including the Manager, whom introduced himself and went out of his way to make sure we were happy with our accommodations.

They speak fluent English, which is hard to come by in Colombia. They constantly mapped out routes for us for everything from lunch to bike rentals. They hooked us up with Hector, a very nice man who served as our guide numerous times throughout our trip. Stay here if you're ever in Bogota!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EduardoSanchezF, Manager at Hotel Morrison 114, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Mrs. Betsy S
New York City, New York. U.S.

Dear Mrs. Betsy,
We hope you have had a great trip back to the fabulous "Big Apple".
We are thrilled with your comments about our hotel " MOST HOSPITABLE STAFF.
I have passed your comments and congratulated Héctor our professional Tour guide and driver
We are looking forward to have you back at The Morrison 114. Please and kindly, in the mean while tell everyone in New York how fabulous and hospitable our staff is.
Thank you.

NOS ENCANTA TENERLE AQUI

Eduardo Sánchez
G.M.
Morrison 114
Bogota, Colombia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

As others have said, this is a terrific option in Bogota. The hotel is in a safe area on the north side of the city. There is a 24/7 security guard on duty. The rooms are nicely appointed, clean, quiet and spacious. The beds were a bit hard, but not enough to disturb our sleep. The wi-fi worked well in the room and we were never dropped.

The staff is friendly and kind. The manager Eduardo is helpful, lively and engaging offering advice, information and tips about Bogota.

There is a very nice breakfast room with both indoor and outdoor options. The bright and airy outdoor area is covered and a lovely way to begin the day. It's light and bright. The buffet is small, but with enough options to satisfy. They offer fresh fruit and fresh juice as well as eggs of any style upon request.

Bogota is a big city with little in the way of public transportation. Taxis were our main method of getting around. Mostly, it worked OK but be aware that the main restaurant area can take quite awhile to access. One evening we went to Astrid y Gaston. It took an hour and twenty minutes in mind-numbing traffic to drive from the hotel to the restaurant!

The only negative I can think of is that no one informed us that the hotel offers access (at no charge) to a gym five minutes away. We learned about this when checking out! Too bad as it might have been something we would have taken advantage of.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego Area
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

As others have mentioned, our expectations were high for our stay at Morrison 114. So when we did not receive the room we were promised, and I could not communicate with the front desk clerk, I thought the wheels had come off and we were in for one of those where-everything-goes -wrong experiences.
The room we did receive was quite nice - it was very quiet as promised, with dual glazed windows to cut the noise outside. The bath had an attractive glassed in shower. It had decent lighting. and also featured a magnifying make-up mirror for the ladies.
The lighting in the room was typically substandard! It is a rare property that provides adequate lighting to read or see any fine print after dark. This is very annoying, and one would think that these nicer properties would be able to balance their need to reduce electric consumption with the guest's need to see! Reading in bed is definitely out!
The bed was hard. We are big fans of firm beds, but these are just plain hard. Bed quality is another very common issue in the hospitality business, and Morrison's are above average, but could be so much more comfortable. After all, is not a comfortable bed the foundation of a good hotel night?
On the second day of our stay, we returned late in the afternoon to find a small gift in our room and an apology note concerning the mistaken room assignment. Eduardo, the manager, later got involved and asked us to please change rooms and stay longer! We declined to make the move, even though the hotel staff and Eduardo himself would do all the work in transferring our belongings.
We would definitely stay again at Morrison 114. We feel it is an excellent value for money, and although you can certainly pay a lot more, the staff makes the difference at Morrison 114.

Room Tip: Higher up and away from the elevators, although these are the quietest elevators we've encounter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for four nights. My expectations were relatively high due to the numerous high ratings on this site, however, I was conscious that it was an independent mid-sized hotel which is not pretending to be a five star hotel. The location of the hotel is quite good - with numerous restaurants within walking distance (the spanish restaurant ,Chef Julian, next door is excellent), a convenience store across the street, an HSBC ATM machine close by, and a Juan Valdez cafe a couple of blocks away. The hotel is around 16 months old and it is beginning to show some signs of deferred maintenance, but nothing serious. The room is good-sized and the bed is comfortable. The bathroom is efficiently laid out and the tv and wifi works very well. The morning breakfast is good with cook-to-order eggs offered. There are not much more amenities in this hotel, although they have a hotel taxi that one can hire for trips. I have arranged for a guide and a car during my stay so I did not avail of this service. The manager is very affable and a joy to chat with. The staff are helpful and friendly, however as commented by another reviewer, they try to serve other guests even if they are in the middle of a conversation with you. This might be a sign of their efforts to be accommodating to everyone, but in the end, could be quite annoying if you have waited for your turn only to be interrupted. In general, it is a good solid hotel in a safe and walkable location, but do not expect anything extra-ordinary.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

We booked here after 5 days in the Amazon. From its ratings I expected a little more. I got a good deal on booking.com.. We looked a little rough coming out if the taxi but I was shocked when the the doorman directed us to the front and never offered to take my luggage which was slung over me shoulder. Check in took a little extra time because our reception kept stopping to help other receptionist who was not working with a customer. When we went to go to our room the doorman pressed the elevator button and never offered to take our bags again......bizarre. I put my tip back in my own pocket.
The room looked nice, it was a little small and we had booked a king bed but ended up with 2 queens which was fine. I was excited to get in shower and was looking forward to a nice clean & dry hotel robe but there were none in our closet. No one answered the phone for room service so I had to go thru the front desk. The first time I was connected to the wrong #, 2nd attempt I was connected to someone who didn't speak any English so with my minimal Spanish.....she got our order wrong (it probably should have been obvious to her because it was a bizarre order she sent). Once it came the steak chimchurri smelled and tasted like fish, they must have reused the oil. It was a little noisy outside since it was Sat nite but I slept fine with my earplugs.
Check out was simple and they called a taxi which came quickly in the am.
I definitely expected more from the ratings of this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Morrison 114? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Morrison 114

Address: Av. 19 No. 114 - 06, Bogota 110010, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bogota > Santa Bárbara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 236 Hotels in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Morrison 114 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MORRISON 114: TRAVEL SMART. QUALITY. COMMITMENT. RESPECT. VERY SOUND PROOF. WI FI. This is the right mix of location, confort, chic and good service. Safe area. Plenty of restaurants within walking distance. 10 Min walk from shopping area and large mall. 100 % GUARANTEE THAT'S WHY WE ARE # 1. Brand new boutique hotel Morrison 114 at Santa Barbara the most desirable district for living, working and shopping north of vibrant Bogota near to Unicentro and Hacienda Santa Barbara Malls. Usaquen district, Park 93 and The Country Club. All Superior Rooms and Suites with mountain and park views. Free reliable High Speed Wi-Fi, Free Breakfast buffet, Bussines Centre, Meeting space with A/V equipment, TEO Greek Restaurant, Safe and reliable Airport pick up, Tour and transportation services with selected and professional bilingual drivers. Morrison 114's guests can enjoy for free one the best Gym: BODYTECH, look for CHICO BRANCH few blocks from the hotel NOS ENCANTA TENERLE CON NOSOTROS. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Morrison 114 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Morrison 114, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.