We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location & Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of B.O.G. Hotel

Save Saved
You added B.O.G. Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
B.O.G. Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Carrera 11 # 86 - 74, Bogota, Colombia (Chapinero)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 228 hotels in Bogota
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location & Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We had a lovely stay. Value for money. The hotel is filled with fantastic textures & design. The beds are very comfortable. Love the bath products. The staff were helpful. The breakfast was great. The drivers were prompt. A great stay. Only downside - the minibar fridge doesn't get enough ventilation, making the closet warm and along with it all the mini-bar items not in the fridge.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marisol T, Gerente at B.O.G. Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your wonderful comment. It is pleasing to know that you had a wonderful stay and you did enjoy our beds, Bath amenities, Breakfast and the service of our staff providing you a luxury experience.
It is our hope to welcome you soon at your home away home the B.O.G Hotel .

Best regards,

Marisol Torres
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    28
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
5
24
7
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We spent two nights here at the end of our Colombian holiday before leaving. We had previously stayed in Bogota, Cartagena, Barranquilla and Santa Marta during this trip,

We had high expectations for the hotel but it failed on all fronts. Probably the only good things about the hotel and the shower with three different shower heads for your head, chest and legs.

The room we stayed in for our first night did not have functioning air con and we were not able to sleep at all. We called reception on numerous occasions, including at 3.30am but were told they had proxied in from reception and that there were no problems. Absolutely ridiculous.

The next morning when they recognised that the air con was not working they moves us to a new room. The bed in the new room was even harder and worse than the first. And, surprise surprise, the air con didn't work. No sleep again.

The breakfast was nothing to write home about. A very limited selection of food and not much hot food at all. Just two containers. Hardly 5 star.

But the worst of all was during check out when the front desk tried to charge us the 16% VAT - alleging that we did not specify we were from overseas when we made our booking. We made our booking through Agoda - as we did with all the hotels we stayed at during our trip. It came to having to produce the booking papers with the other hotels and explaining to the hotel staff that as international travellers we were not required to pay the domestic tax. We then were charged an insurance fee of approx 30,000, which we weren't for any of the other hotels we stayed at and exorbitant fees for a number of local calls made plus the 16% VAT on those matters. We did not have this experience with any of the other hotels we stayed at during our trip.

Next time we are in Bogota we will be staying somewhere else and we recommend that you do the same.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marisol T, Gerente at B.O.G. Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at B.O.G Hotel.
Please receive my sincerest apologies about the inconveniences during your stay with us. Please rest confident that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problems in the room with the air conditioner system, breakfast and VAT charges in order solve and prevent future occurrences.
It is our hope that you give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Please do not hesitate to contact me for any further information or requirement.


Best regards,

Marisol Torres
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This is without a doubt, one of the best hotels in the city. I stayed in the BOG Suite and I didn't want to leave. Very sleek and spacious room and living room. The bed is super comfortable and the bathroom has a Spa feel to it with a great shower and a free standing tub.

Location is great, in one of the best neighborhoods in Bogota and close to shopping malls and great restaurants.

Don' t leave without having dinner at La Leo restaurant, the hotel's restaurant. It will be one of the highlights of your stay, the food is absolutely unbelievable : " haute cuisine" with a mix of Colombian flavors. Breakfast was excellent as well, with lots of options including the typical " arepa de huevo" , a real treat! The roof top terrace is the perfect location for a drink and to relax at the end of the day.

The spa and steam room were the perfect wrap up for a great experience !

Top of the notch hotel! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marisol T, Gerente at B.O.G. Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. Is pleasing to know that you had a great stay with us and your experience meets your expectations. There is nothing more gratifying that our guest satisfaction, we are glad to know that details like breakfast, localization, our BOG Suite, Shower, Amenities, La leo restaurant and our roof top terrace provided you a memorable golden experience.
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at B.O.G Hotel.
It is our hope to welcome you soon in your home away from home.

Best regards,

Marisol Torres
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Pilar Sarmiento.
After being away for more than 7 years of Bogota my city home it was nice to come back an spend some days in this incredible hotel. The service is unique with the warm and kind Colombian style, the rooms are stylish full of space and diversity, the bathroom is amazing with an incredible shower, the restaurant offers the best Colombian flavors with the unique recipes that the chef magical created, if you want to relax in the middle of the big cosmopolitan Bogota this is the place... Great location too, close to good restaurants and shops. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriela M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at B.O.G. Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your lovely review about us, we are so pleased you enjoyed our hotel services, the location and the proximity to the best restaurants and the most exclusives shopping centers in Bogotá. It is positive and supportive to have feedback like this because it let us know that our strive to provide an excellent service is being achieved.
We hope to be your hotel of choice on your next trip to Bogotá... your city home!
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

If a Kimpton Hotel and the W Hotel had a Colombian baby it would be the B.O.G. Hotel. I'm a huge fan of sleek and modern, so it was a lovely option being that there seemed to be very few modern boutique hotels in the country. I also found out that it is the only hotel in Columbia that is part of "Design Hotels" which I've not heard of and now can proudly say I have. Loved the gold and emerald themes mixed with natural elements, true to Colombian traditions - they aren't trying to be something they're not.

The rooftop bar and pool is so beautiful. Unfortunately, was only able to see it at night but had a cocktail before bed and enjoyed the view. The bartender made a cocktail for me that was not on the menu - it actually was one of the most incredible cocktails I had during 12 days of travel around South America. Was a martini that had fresh juices, including mango - delish.

Breakfast buffet was very good but nothing special. Typical waffles, fruit, cereal, yogurt, cold cuts, etc. I didn't even expect breakfast to be included so it was a nice surprise. Unfortunately there were so many places on our list to dine that we never ate in the hotel restaurant so didn't get to try the restaurant home to Leonor Espinosa (who happened to be sitting in the breakfast courtyard that morning!). That's my only regret is not eating at her restaurant in the hotel.

Great news is if you're traveling alone, you don't have to even leave the hotel to get a good meal! Our room service of tomato soup and a burger was really good - even though there was a miscommunication or something, it took over an hour before we got our meal. Wouldn't have minded so much if we weren't starving from traveling all day.

The hotel was located in Zona Rosa close to shopping and great dining. Was a short 10 minute walk to Club Colombia and Andrés DC (the one in Bogotá not the original Andrés in Chía) and only about 20 minutes in a Taxi from the airport. The hotel arranged a driver to take us into town for the day, he was incredible and although our language barrier was an issue - we somehow managed to get everywhere we wanted and had a fantastic time.

Room Tip: Room 203 has a huge courtyard patio but only looks up at people in an office building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marisol T, Gerente at B.O.G. Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank for taking the time to tell us about your fantastic experience at B.O.G Hotel. We are very glad to know that you did enjoy the facilities of our property as the roof terrace, our Martini with fresh fruits, location and that the service of our staff did meet your expectations.
It is very gratifying that you liked the gold and emerald theme that makes our hotel the first hotel to be part of “Design Hotels”.
It is our hope that in your next stay you will be able to try and enjoy our delicious dishes from La Leo Restaurant by Leonor Espinoza.

Best regards,

Marisol Torres
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

A hotel which should appeal to all. It oozes style but with the glam and sophistication to avoid alienating more mature guests.
This new hotel in Bogota really impresses and does more than enough to switch the most committed chain/loyalty program guest to reconsider - forget the nearby Sofitel.
Rooms are well equipped with a modern edgy feel and luxurious touches - only room negatives are the absence of a bath and a double sink and confusing lighting. Charging for coffee satchels and even an initial bottle of water is however bad policy.
Free Internet is a bonus although the signal sometimes lacks strength.
Facilities including the spectacular roof top heated pool are a thorough delight.
The opportunity to enjoy a sumptuous breakfast in the main dining room with local Colombian selections proved a treat.
Service was simply outstanding from the front door to housekeeping - not in your face but anticipatory and warmly enthusiastic.
The high level of security gives great comfort.
The location allowed walking to the best eating strip in the city.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriela M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at B.O.G. Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind and lovely reviews of you stay with us.
we value every feedback and highly appreciate your suggestions as the coffee or complimentary water in the room.
we are very looking forward to have you back in the future.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I recently stayed here on a business trip to Bogota. The room was really nice, with a great shower and one of the comfiest beds I have ever slept in (although, sadly, I had little chance to do that). The location is useful for business, although quite a long way from Candelaria if you are a tourist. Breakfast involved a dull buffet but good a la carte options. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriela M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at B.O.G. Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sending us your vaulable feedback, we are delighted to hear, how much you have enjoyed your stay with us, in particular our shower and bed, we hope to have you back in the very near future and then you can enjoy a little bit more our comfortable beds.
we also are working to get a cheerful breakfast for our guest!
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to B.O.G. Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B.O.G. Hotel

Address: Carrera 11 # 86 - 74, Bogota, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bogota > Chapinero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 228 hotels in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — B.O.G. Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B.O.G Hotel is designed with a unique combination of luxurious textures and colors inspired by Colombia's two greatest natural treasures: Gold and Emeralds. The imagination of the famed Portuguese Designer Nini Andrade has captured their luster in shades of bronze, green and grey in a concept that mekes the hotel unlike any other, proud to proclaim its selection as the first Colombian Hotel to be chosen as a Design Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your B.O.G. Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B.O.G. Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.