We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, amazing restaurant - rooms a bit small” 5 of 5 stars
Review of B.O.G. Hotel

Save Saved
You added B.O.G. Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
B.O.G. Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Carrera 11 # 86 - 74, Bogota, Colombia (Chapinero)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 226 hotels in Bogota
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great location, amazing restaurant - rooms a bit small”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is a great hotel for the relative pricing. Surrounding similar quality hotels in the area are definitely more expensive. The rooms are a bit small but they hvae done a good job with the space. The restaurant is one of the most spectacular places to eat

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriela M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at B.O.G. Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience in BOG Hotel with other travellers.
Your comments are quite important for us and it helps to improve our service quality. We hope see you in our hotel in your next visit to Bogotá.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    28
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
5
24
7
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Paz, Bolivia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Reminded me of the W hotel in London, no velvet rope here though: excellent location, trendy, great decor, appealing bar, rooms that have about seven light switches, lots of texture in materials and ambiance, etc etc. Rooms rather small but comfortable.

That's the location and infrastructure.

Actual hotel services: room service has a good menu but when food was brought, no napkins or silverware. AC control in room was 'blocked' ie: could not change settings and staff told me they would unblock it but they did not and I slept in a warm room. Bar is very nice but breakfast was standard and plain, nothing special and when I asked for tea instead of coffee by the time it was brought over I had finished and had to leave.

Sooooo, seems like the place needs a qualitative look at their services and stop relying so much on the trendy, boutique, expensive offering. Hope they do this and when they do it, it will be the an great hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriela M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at B.O.G. Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear guest
It was a pleasure to have you with us,
It is sad to hear that your service experience was not as expected; we sent immediately this information to the restaurant manager to make the respective corrections about the room service and breakfast, at the same time to improve it.
Regarding to the air conditioner, we inform you that we did a technical review in order to increase the generation of cold in the rooms we are sorry about this inconvenience in your stay.
Once again, thank you for your comments, it helps us to improve our service quality and we hope to have you with us in your next stay in Bogotá.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

BOG hotel is a lovely design hotel situated in an excelent neighborhood of Bogota, rooms are spacious and have a lovely decoration, nevertheless, when I got to my room I had some trouble turning on the lights (and my 3 friends in other rooms had the same), we had also some problems to call to other rooms, this is not really a big problem but it can help the hotel to improve even more their service ! Breakfast is FRESH and DELICIOUS ! The bar prepares some nice cocktails on the terrace, room service is perfect...
I was a little bit shocked by Converse tenis weared by the porters, and their trousers sleeves were way too long, I guess I would prefer to see them with nice leateher shoes. One other thing I saw a lot in the hotel was that all the employees had their cell phone with them, and as soon as they didn't have much to do they were looking at their phone, what was not so nice for the hotel's image.

Besides this small comments, thanks to all the team for this nice stay !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriela M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at B.O.G. Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear guest
Thank for staying with us in your recent visit to Bogotá. It was a pleasure to have you in our hotel.
We want to apologize because the problem you had with the room lights,now we are making the respective corrections, and we are checking what happened with the phones in the rooms, we have never had any problem with that before, but it is important to check.
It is very grateful to hear you had an excellent experience with the breakfast and room service.
Regarding to what you said about the staff was checking their mobiles in the services hours, it is unacceptable, and we already took new correctives about it to this will not happen again.
Thank you so much for your advice about the converse shoes wear by the front desk staff.
We hope to have you soon in BOG Hotel.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

The BOG is the closest thing you'll find to a NY-style boutique hotel in Bogota. It reminded me of the Gansevoort, with it's roof-top pool and sleek, modern design.

Rooms are large, with great beds and good lighting. It's worth getting one with the free-standing tub. The multiple-head showers are amazing-- the best of any hotel we've stayed.

Despite some of the previous reviews, the neighbourhood seems very safe. We walked around after dark without feeling threatened. Bogota overall seemed as safe as any major American city. We took at least a dozen cab rides (all unmetered) and never had a problem.

Staff at the front desk was helpful, with very good English skills.

A few suggestions for improvement:

-The roof-top pool looks great, but it's unheated and too cold to swim in.

-The breakfast buffet is pretty basic-- it would be nice to have more choices.

-A box of Kleenex would be great in the rooms instead of the small packet provided.

-Mini-bar fridges need to be set to a colder temperature.

-More towels please-- two per room seem a bit stingy.

Room Tip: Ask for an Executive King with tub on the back of the property, away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriela M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at B.O.G. Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear guest
We are grateful to hear your comments about your recent stay in the BOG, the hotel was specially designed for our guest can enjoy a unique experience, and we call it the gold experience! We are glad that you have enjoyed it. Also, as you mentioned, the hotel is located in a safety place, where guest can walk to a different shopping centers, boutiques and some of best restaurants in the city.
Regarding to the swimming pool, we have changed the heat mechanism to make it warmer.
Your suggestions about breakfast, Kleenex in rooms, minibar and towels, are quite important for us; we will improve each one of it, to offer the best service to our guest.
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments, and we really hope, have you in our hotel in your next visit to Bogotá.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed this past week at BOG Hotel, and we are very satisfied. We had a corner room, which I understand are a bit larger than the rest (Executive suite) and I can say that the cleanliness of the room, as well as the bed and bathroom are very good. The location is great ,specially if you are going on business, the down side of the location is the closeness of the residential buildings next to the hotel building because so you have to keep the curtains close for privacy. The restaurant and bar are also excellent, no complaints for the quality of the food and service, I would say is quite the opposite. The menu contains mainly local cuisine, but it is great. The decor is modern and the ambiance is quiet. We will definitely be staying at the BOG again, next time we are in Bogota.

Room Tip: Rooms on the corner are larger and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriela M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at B.O.G. Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest
It was a really pleasure to have you in our hotel, and also we are so excited to hear that your experience was as expected.
I invite you to try in your next stay, the suites located at the other side of the buildings, because from there you will enjoy a really nice view over the city.
You are very welcome to the BOG Hotel the next time you visit Bogotá.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I was there for a business trip that was suppose to last 3 days and ended up to be for 10 days!
The hotel staff is quite nice and helpfull and always pleasant to speak with.

The room was not spacious but just fine. However it was really modern and nice. Just one minor negative comment, the view was terrible. Besides that everything was nice. The bathroom is lovely and the shower unique !!

The breakfast is not fantastic but still very good always with freshgood fruit. Really enough, at least for me. The Gym is small but modern and good to do some morning exercise. The bar at the top roof as a fantastic view over Bogota.

To finalise the location is very good just a walk from T Zone.
In resume a good option at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriela M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at B.O.G. Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind comments, it is very pleasant for us to know that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
we invite you to try a bussines suite which is bigger than the superior and have a wonderfull view to bogota.
We really appreciate to have you in the BOG hotel, and we hope to have you in your next visit to Colombia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Great location and well taken care off. Room is excelent as the shower is too! Not to miss. Very pleasent restaurant. You wont go wrong if you stay at this hotel. And by the way, safety... Tere is so much a Hotel can do.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Carlos G, Gerente at B.O.G. Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for staying with us in your recent vistit to Bogotá, for us it was a pleasure to have you in the hotel. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay because the shower and the restaurant. We hope to have you in the hotel very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to B.O.G. Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B.O.G. Hotel

Address: Carrera 11 # 86 - 74, Bogota, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bogota > Chapinero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 226 hotels in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — B.O.G. Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B.O.G Hotel is designed with a unique combination of luxurious textures and colors inspired by Colombia's two greatest natural treasures: Gold and Emeralds. The imagination of the famed Portuguese Designer Nini Andrade has captured their luster in shades of bronze, green and grey in a concept that mekes the hotel unlike any other, proud to proclaim its selection as the first Colombian Hotel to be chosen as a Design Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your B.O.G. Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B.O.G. Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.