We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean and tidy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Explora Hostels

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Explora Hostels to your Saves list
Explora Hostels
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Calle 12C #3-19 | Barrio La Candelaria, Bogota, Colombia (La Candelaria)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 150 Specialty Lodging in Bogota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“clean and tidy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Right in the middle of La Candelaria. 5 minutes from Museo del Oro and close to everything else. The girls in the reception are very helpful, can give all sorts of information. One of the cleanest hostels I´ve been to. Kitchen available. And great hot showers.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel H, Owner at Explora Hostels, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Johane19asdfghjkl,

Thank you for your great review. We're very glad you enjoyed your stay and felt the service was up to par. Our team is constantly working on their local knowledge to give our guests the best tips! We wish you luck in the rest of your travels and hope to see you again in soon!

Best regards,

Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    61
    17
    8
    8
See reviews for
3
62
49
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a double with a private bathroom. The only downsides were the absence of ventilation in the bathroom, which meant it never really dried out and smelt a bit funny if the room was closed all day, and the noise carried throughout the hostel, so every time someone goes in or out the front door, has breakfast or pukes in the bathroom, you can hear it quite clearly from the room. Otherwise recommendable.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel H, Owner at Explora Hostels, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear jpkin123,

Thank you for posting your review and sharing your opinion with us, with it we can help improve our services.

We have taken note on your suggestion for the ventilation and noise to see how we can make changes to offer a better service to our customers. Hopefully when you come back you will be able to enjoy an improved version of the Explora Experience!

Best regards,

Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

just book it on trip advisor, or whatever, breath deep, relax,,,, and come on over...! located in candelaria close to freedom square, all federal building, all major museums, killer cheap restaurants, and a 15 minute taxi ride to north bogota, where you can buy dirt cheap electronics (ask the taxi driver). in closing the explora hostel costs under 10 dollars a night!!! private rooms about 30 bucks.
enjoy your stay and see colombia, the friendliest people in the world! (and most of them work at exlpora hostel)..... (; review by tml
ps security???? you have on the average a cop, security guard, and soldier every 10 feet.
safer than new york, and more prosperous, don't believe the lies by bad sources on the internet.

Room Tip: keep it simple, book a room online or call...dont worry,,,i have done that for you! i presently stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoyosdan, Owner at Explora Hostels, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Tony,

Thank you for your positive review. We are glad you have enjoyed your stay at Explora Hostels.

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Stayed in Explora hostel for 4 nights. Very nice staff. Rooms were clean. Good beds. Nice common room. Staff organizes, among other things, pub quizzes and poker nights. The location is perfect. Would recommend this place!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoyosdan, Owner at Explora Hostels, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Hanneke_G,

Thank you for reviewing our hostel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will come back soon =) Enjoy the rest of your journey!

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

I stayed at explora in early Nov for 4 nights. the room was fairly clean, though there where some long hairs here and there. The walls are very thin, but since I sleep with earplugs anyway it did not bother me. most rooms don't have a window to the outside unfortunately. the reception staff on the other hand is super friendly, always willing to help and they speak English very well. during my stay there where very few people staying there, so it felt a little deserted. the Wi-Fi works well, but I imagine if the place is full it does slow down. all in all I enjoyed my stay, and I would stay here again, if I came back to Bogota.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoyosdan, Owner at Explora Hostels, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dominictru,

Thank you for posting a review of our hostel. We appreciate your comments and take feedback seriously: as a result we have hired an additional staff member for cleaning so that we can move from "fairly clean" to very clean!

Our hostel's building is considered a historic landmark and as such we can't change the placement of the windows. This makes the stay at Explora like a trip back in time - sleep in an old spanish style colonial home (except with new bathrooms!). For others reading this review, we will mention that windows do open into the interior patios of the house, which assures that all rooms can have reasonable natural light.

The owner's of the hostel were avid travelers as well and we understand the importance of having good internet to come back to at the end of the day. There's nothing like sharing that picture with your friends or calling back home. We not only have one, but two high speed internet acces points so that our customer's can count on good bandwith and also never live through an extended outage!

Thanks again for your positive review. We wish you good luck with the rest of your travels and hope you will return soon!

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sint-Amandsberg, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

A place you feel like home! Clean, friendly staff, helpful, cheap....Good atmosphere..just go and check it out! I'm sure i will go back there! I went first for 2 days, stayed 2 more days...went away and came back...and that's what i'm going to keep doing.
They try to make you feel at home and well for me they did great!
Greetings Ruth from Belgium

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoyosdan, Owner at Explora Hostels, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Ruth,

Thank you for your positive review! We hope you have fun in your next destination and will be waiting for you upon your return to Bogotá!

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

It was a nice welcome,good breakfast,friendly staff,basic but nice rooms but nobody could speak any english,dirty kitchen without any proper equipment, a lot off noise in the morning, rooms without window and cold

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoyosdan, Owner at Explora Hostels, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Eline,

Thank you for reviewing our hostel, its always important for us to get feedback from our customers. We find it odd that you mention our staff does not speak English, all of our front desk team speaks English as it is a requirement to obtain the job (in fact we test their English). Perhaps you were referring to our cleaning staff which does not speak English, although we do offer them incentives to learn.

The kitchens are cleaned several times a day by the cleaning staff, but sometimes there are travelers that use the kitchen and don't clean up after themselves. Since your stay we have added another staff member to the cleaning team so that there are more frequent cleaning rounds. I'm sure if you return you will be pleasantly surprised.

All of the rooms in our hostel have a window, although some of those windows open to the interior patio of the house. Some customer's prefer this, as it gives the proper light to the room without them having to hear all the bustling on the street. It's part of the design that comes with an old Spanish colonial house!

We hope you will come and see all the improvements on your next trip to Bogotá. Enjoy the rest of your trip!

Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Explora Hostels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Explora Hostels

Address: Calle 12C #3-19 | Barrio La Candelaria, Bogota, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bogota > La Candelaria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 150 Specialty Lodging in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Explora Hostels 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explora Hostels is located in La Candelaria neighborhood, the historical center of Bogota. We offers to travelers a unique opportunity to experience the Colombian culture. Our colonial house has been completely restored to allow visitors to enjoy the charm of its Spanish architecture while still having all the comforts that have become standard. Our trained staff will be able to give you insights on the best places to visit, available tours and the must-eat restaurants! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Explora Hostels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Explora Hostels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.