We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT SPOT” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa Guadalupe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Casa Guadalupe to your Saves list
Hotel Casa Guadalupe
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Calle 12b bis A 1-21 Candelaria Centro, Bogota, Colombia (La Candelaria)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 227 Bogota B&B and Inns
Österreich
1 review
“GREAT SPOT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Casa Guadalupe is a perfect location, central, close to museums and restaurants and night life.
We had a big room, spotless, nice decorated, with a comfortable bed, free Wi-Fi and cable TV, breakfast was rich and delicious, staff helped us to plan our tour in the city and in Colombia as well.
So what to say more …for sure a nice place HIGHLY RECOMENDED.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    24
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
33
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

I'd recommend this hotel to all looking at a great spashios room with trendy decor. The hotel is located in the College area and might not be for all travelers. However, if your a frequent travelor that thinks outside the box and want to be treated nice, meet new friends, and be in a great walkable location you've located your hotel. If your one of the travelers looking to get peace and sound free night this might not be your location. All in all this location is great and they have just remodeled with expanded building. Make sure you ask for new Building!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

This little boutique hotel was a real surprise Excellent value for money. The room s are big ,Stylishly decorated, very modern Great quality beds and excellent bed linen . Flatscreen TV , fantastic views of the mountains and the local area, a good breakfast and friendly staff. The only negative was no Wifi but they were working on rectifying that at the time. Would definately stay there again. Its also in the historic Area of La Candelaria , very cool.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Nicely decorated, spacy rooms and comfortable beds. But unfortunately no (significant) hot water, and a lot of noice instead. Both the noices from the street as well as the ones from inside the building (including personell) kept us awake. On top of that we experienced smell of garbage in the breakfast area. Location is OK for some tourist highlights like Plaza Bolivar and several musea. According to us not worth 2nd place on tripadvisor.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaco, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

This is a new B&B (opened in late 2011) in the area known as La Candelaria. It is on the same street and owned by the same person who owns the B&B “Chorro de Quevedo”. We had hoped to stay at Chorro de Qevedo but it was booked and we were happy with the owner’s suggestion of Casa Guadalupe.

You can see that extensive renovations have been done to this building and the rooms are large and fresh. The décor is minimalist: the rooms have white walls with low beds and bedside tables. The linens and pillows were excellent as was the comforter, which was much appreciated on chilly Bogota nights. There was a wardrobe in our room but the room could have used a table or dresser where you could layout a suitcase or put a bag or purse. Also needed were hooks to hang up clothes and more than one hook for towels in the bathroom (there was no towel bar in our room).

Our room, on the 4th floor, was very clean and had a high beamed ceiling, wood floors, a coloured glass wall separating the bathroom from the sleeping area and a balcony where we could sit out and take in the view of the city and Monserrate up on the mountain.

As another review mentioned, the staff changed frequently and some were more outgoing and friendly than others. Of special note were the night staff: Guillermo and a women who we cannot recall her name. They were most helpful and both had happy and warm personalities that were endearing.

The complementary breakfasts seemed disorganized, only one day were we offered eggs, the other it was just juice, coffee, bananas and bread. There was no butter or jam for the bread.

Casa Guadalupe is located just around the corner from Chorro de Quevedo Square and is a short walk from many of the city’s main attractions: Museo de Oro, Plaza de Bolivar, the cable car to Monserrate, and our favourite: the art museum “Museo Botero”. Museo Botero is always free and on Sundays all museums in Bogota, including the Museo de Oro, are free admission. Also on Sundays Carrera 7 is closed to street traffic and is open to only cyclists, pedestrians and the many street vendors, street musicians and food vendors.

We enjoyed our stay at Casa Guadalupe. We found it safe and a good value. We are certain the little kinks will get worked out.

Room Tip: We liked having a balcony although carrying heavy bags up four floors is not for everyone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We enjoyed our stay here. I traveled with a friend and they gave us an extra bed in the room. The rooms are basic and clean. The location in La Candelaria is great-walking distance to shops that stay open late, good restaurants, bars, musuems, plaza de Boliva and Monserrate. The staff didn't speak any English but with google translation we were able to book taxis and get directions. They were all so nice and very helpful. Breakfast was good too. We also stayed at their other hotel on the same block called Chorro de quevedo and we liked it there as well. In both places the street noise at night can be loud but that didn't bother us since we were coming in late anyway. There was a trick to getting hot water witih the shower but I didn't master it so it was cold showers for me for the few days. Bring warm clothes-it gets chilly at night!

Room Tip: it can be a little noisy so not the best spot for light sleepers!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We had booked the Chorro de Quevedo, but ended up here, three doors up. Same owners, same quality.

We were offered a choice of rooms throughout the B&B and opted for the top room with the veranda. Having travelled across Colombia in various hotels and hammocks, the Guadalupe provided an excellent, luxurious time to relax, unwind and reflect.

The decor is so colourful and vibrant, the room itself was immaculate and spotless. A real bed and duvet provided comfort we never experienced in Colombia. The best sleep we had in two weeks.

New style bathroom, and warm, yes, warm water. The balcony provided views of Monsteratt and the statue of Christ, way up in the Andes.

Breakfast was great. Fresh fruit, eggs any style, coffee and fresh fruit juice with a croissant and marmalade.

The female staff member (sorry, dont know your name!) was delightful and very helpful. She worked so hard and took care of everything, all alongside trying to learn english. She directed us to where we wanted to be, organised our taxis and generally enhanced the whole experience. (If you guys are reading, give her a raise..she deserves it!!)

This pace is right in the middle of La Candelaria area. A lovely place to explore and walk around, with good eateries and nice beer stops. A bit of a student feel to it, but this adds to the experience.

Overall, can't fault this place. Spoil yourself to a wee bit of luxury in Bogota. Wish we had spent the rest of our time in Bogota here.

Great quality at 55 euros per night for double (+) per night.

Room Tip: All good, but for the views of Bogota and Monsteratt go for the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casa Guadalupe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Guadalupe

Address: Calle 12b bis A 1-21 Candelaria Centro, Bogota, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bogota > La Candelaria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 227 B&Bs / Inns in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Guadalupe 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Casa Guadalupe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa Guadalupe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.