We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place in Bogota” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tip Top Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Tip Top Hostel to your Saves list
Tip Top Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Kra 1ra Bis # 12 D 78, Bogota 11001-000, Colombia (Formerly Tip Top Guest House)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 149 Specialty Lodging in Bogota
sucre
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice place in Bogota”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

This is a nice hostel in the center of old town.
The staff is really helpful and kind.
I stayed a couple of days longer because the hostel was so relax.
The location is in the middle of a activities from Bogota city

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    12
    2
    5
    1
See reviews for
2
14
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oaklandish
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We stayed there about 10 days between our trips in the different parts of Colombia and used the hotel as our base. The place might not be for everyone (depending our expectations) but we loved our stay and this is why we kept returning back to it. The hostel is conveniently located but above all the people (Sergio and his parents) are the nicest and sweetest people!!!!!!! they made us feel at home and helped us with tons of valuabe info. We would go back and book there again and again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This hostel was quite cheap, rooms were clean colorful and plenty of bedding. Can get cold in the night but what do you expect its in the mountains. Great location right near all the sights and close walk by into the town. The hostel was quiet and the ladies that run it cant speak much english but we got by. They had the owener come in one day and sat hvaing breakfast with us she was very helpful and helped us to plan our next journey and flights. The breakfast is actaully quite good, sweet bread and omlette with endless coffee on tap.
We used this hostel as a stop off and only stayed 2 nights but i would definaelty recommend it to anyone who wants to have a cheap few nights. Its not a party hostel but has everything you need. : )

Room Tip: Try and ask for a room away from the common room as they leave the tv on late and it can be very noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hostal,located near universities in the old town.
Friendly environment.
Staff is friendly an very helpful-they helped us with flights and hostal reservations for our next stay!
I totally recommend it

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taganga, Colombia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

they stepped in for us when we had trouble with the police. Although we only stayed there for 2 nights, they treated us like VIP guests, including helping us with booking flight tickets.
I would recommend this for everyone, being new to colombia!
Thank you so much for everything!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in tip top for 3 nights whilst in Bogota. Maria who ran this hostel and her other hostel a few minutes walk away was really helpful with information on the city and really welcoming.

Her mum and son were also really welcoming which made it a nice place to base ourselves for a few days.

Rooms were clean, the kitchen upstairs doesn't really have anything other than a couple of hobs but you can use bits from the downstairs kitchen.

The free breakfast was good enough to keep you going for a few hours with egg, croissant and a coffee or tea.

The hostel is in the candelaria area and is only a 10 minute walk from where all the main shops are based, the museums and the Bolivar square.

In the evenings it was quiet and we slept pretty good. Can't complain for the price!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin TX
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
212 helpful votes 212 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Stayed at Tip Top Hostel for 2 nights.

Pros:
- Reached hostel early in the morning and we were checked in immediately, which was very nice and gave us a chance to get some good sleep.
- Staff is very nice and helpful
- Decent Breakfast, Eggs and Bread
- Laundry service is offered on site, the caretaker takes your laundry to get it cleaned and returns it the same day, which is very convenient.
- Location is really good, almost in the heart of Candelaria and 5 minutes walk to the Tranmileno station
- Lots of restaurants and Museums are at walking distance
- The rooms are decent size and for the most part clean

Cons:
- 100 year old shower, one of the worst. You will feel like bathing is dripping water if you want hot water. Water was clogging in the shower and we were told, sometimes it happens coz the Building is 100 years old. Plumbing is not at all maintained well.
- The place has paper thin walls and some guests were playing loud music every morning we were there at 7AM, which was a little annoying, no way to sleep in.
- The noise from the common area is carried throughout the Hostel, so, it is not too quite in the mornings.
- The building is dated, which is amazing, but not too well maintained.

Room Tip: One of the Worst shower in South America, if it is important to you, stay away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tip Top Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tip Top Hostel

Address: Kra 1ra Bis # 12 D 78, Bogota 11001-000, Colombia (Formerly Tip Top Guest House)
Location: Colombia > Bogota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 149 Specialty Lodging in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tip Top Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Booking.com so you can book your Tip Top Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tip Top Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.