We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Vieja Suiza

La Vieja Suiza
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bogota
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
La Vieja Suiza
Save Saved
You added La Vieja Suiza to your Saves list
Calle 12 C No. 3-07, Bogota, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 227 Bogota B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I tried this hostel based on others' reviews and I have to say it is just ok. I am a very experienced backpacker and I have been travelled through South America and I have been to better hostels (of course also something bad too). On the good side, it is a small hostel which only has a few rooms so very simple and quiet (I mean inside the house ONLY). Rooms are pretty clean. Location is good...close to sites. Other than these factors, there are a few other problems. It is actually noisy (my windows are closed but I can still hear any sound from the street very clearly until ~2am when finally everyone goes home - I am not kidding...I am ususally very easy to fell asleep but not this time). O...no warm shower if this is important to you...it is not quite true that this is not available in Colombia because I had it at other hostels. And also I don't agree the bed is comfortable...but acceptable. Breakfast is not included so I just tried a few kinds of bread at the bakery downstair. It is an average quality. Anyway, I agree this is a clean place to stay...but I definitely don't understand why the rating is so high.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
12
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

This hostel/ hotel is great. I booked it as we were to arrive into Bogota on a late flight after 18 hours of travel and I wanted somewhere that we would get a great sleep. This place fit the bill. The bed was really comfortable with a lovely warm duvet.
Breakfast the next morning was divine and the best breakfast we had on our whole trip.
It is well located in La Candaleria and the staff are very nice. One of the owners has English also.
There are shared bathrooms here which I was not keen on the idea of but as there are only 5 rooms it's not too much of a hassle. They are spotless.
We did the Bogota Bike Tour the next morning and the tour office was located just around the corner from the hostel.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room with the balcony, it was nice but faces onto the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

La Vieja Suiza is a small hotel/hostel very well placed in la Candelaria, own by two swiss german guys who run the swiss bakery at the first floor.

If like me, you have enough of noisy hostels where it's not possible to sleep properly, where the cleanliness is to discussed, at La Vieja Suiza you will find comfortable private/double rooms for an affordable price and you will feel at home.You will have space to hang a few stuff and even a TV if you feel like watching it.

It's very clean, the internet works perfectly, the staff is very helpful and the cherry on the cake is the breakfast freshly done from the bakery.

Enjoying a great swiss bread variety with a crust and cereals, with Butter and marmelade done with the exotic fruits, who can beat that in Bogota ?

For the Swissies craving for some good typical food from home after travelling month in Latin America, they even have Rosti (yes unbelievable, but true!).

The only thing which may disturb is the slight noise of the street which is more present on the week end, but it's nothing

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This is one of the best hostels I stayed in during my travel through South America. I had the corner room with two windows and the balcony which I liked a lot. The room was spotless clean, the bed very comfortable and there were nice little details like a towel which I didn't expect at a hostel in this price category. Also, there are just 5 rooms so it's very quiet and definitely not a party place. The Swiss guys running the place are very nice and helpful too. The best, however, was the breakfast which had a big basket full of delicious bread from the bakery downstairs. The location is top as it's in the middle of La Candelaria with lots of restaurants and tourist sights around.

A great experience. Should I ever return to Bogota I'll pick La Vieja Suiza again.

Room Tip: Room 4 has a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Marta, Colombia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

-> Excellent choice for a safe location to stay,
-> Warm and creative ambiance,
-> Very helpful and friendly staff day and night,
-> Delightful breakfasts and fresh bakery cooked inhouse are a nice treat,

Thank you Tobias & Fred!

p.s. I am back in Santa Marta and still will enjoy your pretzel and multigrain bread I brought back. <)

Room Tip: Room # 4 has a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Don't go to Switzerland, go to La Vieja Suiza. And enjoy beautifull Bogota just outside your doorsteps. A Cheerful, delicous and comfortable place to stay. Share and enjoy your trip there. And the Andes can be a cold place, so just hide under the real european-thick blankets and enjoy a day in bed. Don't miss the Breakfast!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Very cozy little hotel, clean, superb location to visit nearby sights. The owner lives in one of the rooms. Best breakfast in town with great Swiss bakery groceries!

Seen many places in Bogota, this is definitely the best. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Vieja Suiza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Vieja Suiza

Address: Calle 12 C No. 3-07, Bogota, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bogota
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 227 B&Bs / Inns in Bogota
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Vieja Suiza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.