We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel we stayed in” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Masaya Intercultural Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Masaya Intercultural Hostel to your Saves list
Masaya Intercultural Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Carrera 2 # 12-48 | La Candelaria, Bogota, Colombia (La Candelaria)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save on Event tickets
Ranked #9 of 168 Specialty Lodging in Bogota
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best hostel we stayed in”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

As a couple, we stayed in hostels in Medellin, Santa Marta, Barranquilla and Cartagena and Masaya was the best hostel we stayed in. The shared bathrooms are still getting renovated but they are modern and the water is instantly warm. The beds are uncomfortable and the breakfast was so good for a free breakfast with scrambled eggs, juices and fruits. The only thing I can think of is that we stayed in a private room below a dorm, and you could hear the people above walking on the wooden floorboards which was a little annoying. The TV in our room with pay TV was great! The Candelaria is a beautiful area of town, but very dead at night and far more dirty compared to the Zona Rosa.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    84
    31
    13
    4
See reviews for
10
102
94
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

I stayed there 3 days and it was great! There is a restaurant next to the hostel that offers very nice tapas!!! It is located in the Candelaria, which is basically the historic center of Bogota... Ask what you want to the staff... they will help you

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

Just like the title of this really. Liked the hostel, friendly and helpful staff and good breakfast but our room couldn't pick up with (wife and I had private room) which was annoying as we were trying to plan ahead. But seemed like pretty much everywhere else it was fine

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas P, Gérant at Masaya Intercultural Hostel, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you for choosing Masaya as your accommodation during your stay in Bogota.
2 years ago, we decided to begin our project in one of the best place of the capital: La Candelaria. We want to share our experience with our customers and it's a very nice satisfaction for us that you appreciated our concept!!!!
we are sorry for the problem of connection during your stay

You can also discover “la Buena Onda” of Masaya Santa Marta in the Caraibe Coast!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Despite plenty of options (some considerably cheaper) email decided to stay here based on the positive feedback we researched online.

Firstly I would like to say that the hostel is very well located for those wishing to explore beautiful La Candelaria and the rooms and decor are very appealing.

However we were disappointed with the poor service we received from the reception staff which included amongst other things; them receiving a laundry order from us (local charge which was absolutely fine) but I did did not expect the same bag of laundry to be returned to me 2 days later still unclean having already paid upfront. This was disappointing and also inconvenient as we were departing that afternoon. In fairness to the guy on the desk he did refund us after our remonstrations.

One of the attractions at the time of the booking was also the bar which was currently under mass refurbishment along with the first courtyard (again not a problem on itself, but some notice would have been nice, particularly as the refurb work seemed to be active from early hours, containing into early evening almost directly outside of our room.)

A simple heads-up at the time of booking or check in would have been appreciated.

If returning to Bogota I would stay elsewhere before trying Masaya again and advice others the same.

The wifi also did not work as advertised during our stay.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas P, Gérant at Masaya Intercultural Hostel, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Good afternoon,

We take very seriously your opinion into consideration. It’s true that actually we renovate the bar of the hostel during your stay but now the bar it’s over and totally new.

About the laundry, we spoke with the staff to avoid this type of mistake next time. We hope that you appreciated the atmosphere of the hostel and that you spent a pleasant stay in Bogota and Colombia!!

We are sorry for the inconvenience that as caused during your stay; this helps us improving the service we offer daily.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

A very nice place to stay in Bogota. The staff is really friendly and makes sure that it is not too noisy at night, which I really appreciated. There is a lot of common space to hang out if you want to and breakfast was good! I also loved the shower. It was a normal one (not an electric one) with great water pressure and nice temperature. I would definitely go back!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas P, Gérant at Masaya Intercultural Hostel, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Good morning,

Thank you for your advise about the hostel! We are very satisfied that you appreciated the cleanliness, the comfort and the professionalism of our employees of Masaya.
Avoid the noise during the night is very important for us to assure the tranquillityt!!

You can follow us on our Facebook page: Masaya hostel Bogota!!

Best regards and see you soon in Masaya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

The hostel was in a central location in la candelaria. The staff provided suggestions for activities and restaurants. Good common space, 3 computers and internet that works in the common areas. The breakfast is good as well, but is not included in the price of a shared room.

The rooms were decent - be sure to mention what type of room you want - dorm, double, all girls, etc. It is not a party hostel so good for the traveler who doesn't want to be kept up all night by loud revelers. I stayed next to a large dorm with 10 beds and they were quite loud, so be sure to bring ear plugs. Also, there was only one bathroom with 2 working showers for all the women in the hostel - so you may have to wait in line.

Overall, the experience was very good and I would stay there again if I was passing through Bogota but would assure I got a private room. If you can, bring along your own towel, albeit a rental is quite cheap.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas P, Gérant at Masaya Intercultural Hostel, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for your opinion! We are satisfied that you appreciated your stay in our hostel. It's true that our hostel is not an party but a cultural hostel with our different activities around the culture of the country (dancing class, karaoke, concert with local artist...)

You can follow us on our Facebook page: Masaya Bogota and discover our hostel Masaya Santa Marta in the Coast Caribe!

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

However, one of the staff told us to walk through a tough slum to get to Montserrate...and we nearly got mugged! its only a $3 cab ride...why they didn't recommend this is beyond me...felt it was terribly irresponsible of them to suggest this when even locals don't do this! aside from that, i had a brilliant stay...enough to make up for the near mugging. Lots of places to socialize..garden...bar...kitchen...pool table, tv room, courtyard! the rooms...LOVE the bunk beds with curtains! Tidy bathroom though the shower needs hooks! Great location, in Candelaria in the heart of Bogota walking distance to everything...but don't walk to montserrate...

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas P, Gérant at Masaya Intercultural Hostel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Good morning,

Thank you for choosing Masaya as your accommodation during your stay in Colombia! we are very satisfied that you appreciated the service and the cultural activities of our hostel!!!
we hope that you spent a good time in Colombia!!

You can follow us on Facebook "Masaya hostel Bogota" to see all the news about the hostel and the country!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bogota hotels
La Candelaria
The Orchids Hotel
The Orchids Hotel
#2 of 244 in Bogota
5.0 of 5 stars 53 reviews
Hotel Casa Deco
#25 of 244 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 stars 544 reviews
La Candelaria
Casa Bellavista Hostel
Casa Bellavista Hostel
#10 of 168 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 stars 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12:12 Hostels
#1 of 168 in Bogota
5.0 of 5 stars 84 reviews
La Candelaria
Destino Nomada - DnHostel Bogota
La Candelaria
Explora Hostels
Explora Hostels
#17 of 168 in Bogota
4.0 of 5 stars 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Masaya Intercultural Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masaya Intercultural Hostel

Address: Carrera 2 # 12-48 | La Candelaria, Bogota, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bogota > La Candelaria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 168 Specialty Lodging in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Masaya Intercultural Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a new generation Hostel, Masaya Hostel Bogota wisely mixes the spirit of a hostel with hotel comfort. In a national heritage listed Colonial house of 750 m2 and in the heart of la Candelaria, Masaya Hostel Bogota has superior comfort, a wide offering of services and a variety of planned events to soak you with Colombian culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Venere, Odigeo, Agoda, HostelBookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Masaya Intercultural Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Masaya Intercultural Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.