We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Masaya Intercultural Hostel

Save Saved
You added Masaya Intercultural Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Masaya Intercultural Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Carrera 2 # 12-48 | La Candelaria, Bogota, Colombia (La Candelaria)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Bogota
Bogota, Colombia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice and fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

I stayed there 3 days and it was great! There is a restaurant next to the hostel that offers very nice tapas!!! It is located in the Candelaria, which is basically the historic center of Bogota... Ask what you want to the staff... they will help you

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    48
    21
    6
    1
See reviews for
7
63
61
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

Just like the title of this really. Liked the hostel, friendly and helpful staff and good breakfast but our room couldn't pick up with (wife and I had private room) which was annoying as we were trying to plan ahead. But seemed like pretty much everywhere else it was fine

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas P, Gérant at Masaya Intercultural Hostel, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you for choosing Masaya as your accommodation during your stay in Bogota.
2 years ago, we decided to begin our project in one of the best place of the capital: La Candelaria. We want to share our experience with our customers and it's a very nice satisfaction for us that you appreciated our concept!!!!
we are sorry for the problem of connection during your stay

You can also discover “la Buena Onda” of Masaya Santa Marta in the Caraibe Coast!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Despite plenty of options (some considerably cheaper) email decided to stay here based on the positive feedback we researched online.

Firstly I would like to say that the hostel is very well located for those wishing to explore beautiful La Candelaria and the rooms and decor are very appealing.

However we were disappointed with the poor service we received from the reception staff which included amongst other things; them receiving a laundry order from us (local charge which was absolutely fine) but I did did not expect the same bag of laundry to be returned to me 2 days later still unclean having already paid upfront. This was disappointing and also inconvenient as we were departing that afternoon. In fairness to the guy on the desk he did refund us after our remonstrations.

One of the attractions at the time of the booking was also the bar which was currently under mass refurbishment along with the first courtyard (again not a problem on itself, but some notice would have been nice, particularly as the refurb work seemed to be active from early hours, containing into early evening almost directly outside of our room.)

A simple heads-up at the time of booking or check in would have been appreciated.

If returning to Bogota I would stay elsewhere before trying Masaya again and advice others the same.

The wifi also did not work as advertised during our stay.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas P, Gérant at Masaya Intercultural Hostel, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Good afternoon,

We take very seriously your opinion into consideration. It’s true that actually we renovate the bar of the hostel during your stay but now the bar it’s over and totally new.

About the laundry, we spoke with the staff to avoid this type of mistake next time. We hope that you appreciated the atmosphere of the hostel and that you spent a pleasant stay in Bogota and Colombia!!

We are sorry for the inconvenience that as caused during your stay; this helps us improving the service we offer daily.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

A very nice place to stay in Bogota. The staff is really friendly and makes sure that it is not too noisy at night, which I really appreciated. There is a lot of common space to hang out if you want to and breakfast was good! I also loved the shower. It was a normal one (not an electric one) with great water pressure and nice temperature. I would definitely go back!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas P, Gérant at Masaya Intercultural Hostel, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Good morning,

Thank you for your advise about the hostel! We are very satisfied that you appreciated the cleanliness, the comfort and the professionalism of our employees of Masaya.
Avoid the noise during the night is very important for us to assure the tranquillityt!!

You can follow us on our Facebook page: Masaya hostel Bogota!!

Best regards and see you soon in Masaya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

The hostel was in a central location in la candelaria. The staff provided suggestions for activities and restaurants. Good common space, 3 computers and internet that works in the common areas. The breakfast is good as well, but is not included in the price of a shared room.

The rooms were decent - be sure to mention what type of room you want - dorm, double, all girls, etc. It is not a party hostel so good for the traveler who doesn't want to be kept up all night by loud revelers. I stayed next to a large dorm with 10 beds and they were quite loud, so be sure to bring ear plugs. Also, there was only one bathroom with 2 working showers for all the women in the hostel - so you may have to wait in line.

Overall, the experience was very good and I would stay there again if I was passing through Bogota but would assure I got a private room. If you can, bring along your own towel, albeit a rental is quite cheap.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas P, Gérant at Masaya Intercultural Hostel, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for your opinion! We are satisfied that you appreciated your stay in our hostel. It's true that our hostel is not an party but a cultural hostel with our different activities around the culture of the country (dancing class, karaoke, concert with local artist...)

You can follow us on our Facebook page: Masaya Bogota and discover our hostel Masaya Santa Marta in the Coast Caribe!

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

However, one of the staff told us to walk through a tough slum to get to Montserrate...and we nearly got mugged! its only a $3 cab ride...why they didn't recommend this is beyond me...felt it was terribly irresponsible of them to suggest this when even locals don't do this! aside from that, i had a brilliant stay...enough to make up for the near mugging. Lots of places to socialize..garden...bar...kitchen...pool table, tv room, courtyard! the rooms...LOVE the bunk beds with curtains! Tidy bathroom though the shower needs hooks! Great location, in Candelaria in the heart of Bogota walking distance to everything...but don't walk to montserrate...

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas P, Gérant at Masaya Intercultural Hostel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Good morning,

Thank you for choosing Masaya as your accommodation during your stay in Colombia! we are very satisfied that you appreciated the service and the cultural activities of our hostel!!!
we hope that you spent a good time in Colombia!!

You can follow us on Facebook "Masaya hostel Bogota" to see all the news about the hostel and the country!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Awesome setup with tons of common space to chill out. Full kitchen, some sort of renovations going on when I was there, I think they are adding a bar/kitchen but don't quote me on that. Construction wasn't overly distracting. Front desk people were great and helpful. Only downside is noise travels and an almost unbelievable rate into rooms. They do a good job of asking people to be courteous of others later in the evening, but in your room you can hear even faint conversation (at least this was true in the rooms off the back courtyard). Hostel has a cat with 3 small kittens to keep you company. Usually keep to their own, but are quite happy to be pet and played with. Drinks are reasonably priced as well. Insulation is poor, so if you're a cold sleeper, consider extra sleeping sheets/bag. You could probably ask the front for one as well.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Masaya Intercultural Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masaya Intercultural Hostel

Address: Carrera 2 # 12-48 | La Candelaria, Bogota, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bogota > La Candelaria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Masaya Intercultural Hostel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Masaya will be your home abroad!Recognized heritage colonial architecture, you will love the house.Great service catering to your needs! Bogota Masaya stands a few meters from the heart of the Colombian capital: El Chorro de Quevedo. It is assumed that it is this famous place where Spanish explorer and conquistador Gonzalo Jimenez de Quesada founded Bogotá in August 6, 1538. This site is now constantly animated by the presence of street artists, storytellers and street vendors.Set in the Candelaria, arguably the ideal starting point to discover the city, Masaya you make you discover this unique district, where history, culture, art, and politics meet.Emerge yourself in the Colombian culture by staying in one of the historic colonial houses! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Tingo, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Masaya Intercultural Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Masaya Intercultural Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;