We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant stay,very helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Masaya Intercultural Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Masaya Intercultural Hostel to your Saves list
Masaya Intercultural Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Carrera 2 # 12-48 | La Candelaria, Bogota, Colombia (La Candelaria)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save on Event tickets
Ranked #8 of 168 Specialty Lodging in Bogota
Certificate of Excellence
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“pleasant stay,very helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We spent 3+1 nights in Private luxury master bedroom with private bathroom in Massaya in december 2013.Nice rooms,huge flat TV and THE BEST HOT SHOWER IN COLOMBIA! The place is absolutely OK,we paid 24000COP from the way from eldorado airport (hotel offers also private pickup for 40000),area around hotel is nice and safe,close to Choro quevedo,not far away is small shop,ATM and many restaurants.The staff is great,speak english and is absolutely helpful.Check out 11am,but no problem left luggage,use toilet and wait at the patio for free.There are two patios - first serve as breakfast area (breakfast was OK,included in price - otherways 7,500 COP), in the middle is social area with PC,TV lounge,billiard and chess table,second patio is on the back new part - place for smokers.The first room (NO1) was older and smaller,but OK,bed was big and comfortable,fridge+safe was nice bonus,the second (NO 6or9) was at the back part - bigger and newer.Both rooms was OK,the only disadvantage is that some rooms are a bit noisy (on the back you can hear any step of wooden floor of dormitory,which is located directly above the room,) the first room was next to main patio and we up to now remember the young drummer from neighboring Casa Nativa resstaurant,which apparently could not sleep and dazzled us drumming to Tamtam from 4 to 6 in the morning.Kill him!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas P, Propriétaire at Masaya Intercultural Hostel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for your opinion! We are satisfied that you appreciated the comfort, the staff and the cultural activities of our Hostel! We hope that you spent a pleasant moment in Bogota.
We are very sorry for the Casa Nativa noise! He told us that he would not happen again

See you soon to Masaya for ever more culture!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    85
    31
    13
    4
See reviews for
10
105
98
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

I have stayed a few times in this hostel while going back to visit my family in Colombia. The workers, the rooms, the people, everything you can find in there makes you feel like in your own home, even when I have family in Bogota I prefer to stay at Masaya :)

Going back soon so see ya !

Room Tip: Dont worry, even if you have to share the room, for sure that you will stay with nice foreigners.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
71 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Stayed at the hostel for 3 nights, very tasty breakfast (fruit, muesli, eggs...), had a double room with attached bath room, water was hot, however pressure a bit low, very good starting point for sightseeing in bogota, everything in walking distance, staff very friendly but slightly incompetent.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

The place has a good, easy vibe, with very helpful staff, but the rooms are subject to much noise, especially when bad parents let their kids run wild. Earplugs are a must, the included breakfast is top notch, and the location super convenient to La Candeleria. All in all it's worth the $, secure and clean, but the noise levels a bit much.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas P, Propriétaire at Masaya Intercultural Hostel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for your feedbacks; this helps us improving our service!

We are satisfied that you appreciated the personnel and the cultural activities of our Hostel! It is true that our location is ideal for Candaleria. We are sorry for the noisy experience during your stay

Kind regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Spent two nights here on the back end of a 3 week trip to Colombia. My two friends and I stayed in one of the dorms near the back, and the beds were way more comfortable than any of the hostels we stayed in on the trip. The little privacy curtains were great for keeping out other people's bright reading lights. In the evenings it was nice to find a good group of people in the inner courtyard lounge with the TVs (it helped that Pulp Fiction was on in the background). We even got in a few dartboard games in the 2nd courtyard.

The location was alright for being in the historic district, and a few steps from the Banco de la Republica if you're really into Botero works. The plaza down from the hostel is just ok, but at the very least lively. All in all I would stay here next time I'm town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

Way to noisy, because of the neighbours. Very loud music every single night, we stayed here 3 nights in double bedroom nr 1. Staff says its not their fault, but the neighbours. Very overpriced, small room, bed was terrible! Location is good, but after 3 nights loud music we definetly will not go back here!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas P, Propriétaire at Masaya Intercultural Hostel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for your opinion! We take very seriously your opinion into consideration.
We changed the bed settings to better accommodate our customers.
Independently we are very sorry for the noisy experience you had while staying with us! This was caused by the inauguration of the restaurant next door during the Christmas season.

We are very sorry for the inconvenience that as caused during your stay.
Thank you for your feedbacks; this helps us improving the service we offer daily.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

I spent 1 night on 2 different occasions and everything is well thought to make you feel like home.
The place is clean, big and offers different accomodation: private rooms, dormitorios (for girls/ for boys/ mixed), a bar/ restaurant, 3 computers to go online, and surely I forgot other commodities!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bogota hotels
Hotel Casa Deco
#24 of 245 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 stars 549 reviews
La Candelaria
The Orchids Hotel
The Orchids Hotel
#7 of 245 in Bogota
5.0 of 5 stars 55 reviews
La Candelaria
Casa Bellavista Hostel
Casa Bellavista Hostel
#10 of 168 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 stars 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12:12 Hostels
#3 of 168 in Bogota
5.0 of 5 stars 90 reviews
La Candelaria
Explora Hostels
Explora Hostels
#19 of 168 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 stars 23 reviews
La Candelaria
Destino Nomada - DnHostel Bogota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Masaya Intercultural Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masaya Intercultural Hostel

Address: Carrera 2 # 12-48 | La Candelaria, Bogota, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bogota > La Candelaria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 168 Specialty Lodging in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Masaya Intercultural Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a new generation Hostel, Masaya Hostel Bogota wisely mixes the spirit of a hostel with hotel comfort. In a national heritage listed Colonial house of 750 m2 and in the heart of la Candelaria, Masaya Hostel Bogota has superior comfort, a wide offering of services and a variety of planned events to soak you with Colombian culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and HostelBookers so you can book your Masaya Intercultural Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Masaya Intercultural Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.