We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hostel in Bogota” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Masaya Intercultural Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Masaya Intercultural Hostel to your Saves list
Masaya Intercultural Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Carrera 2 # 12-48 | La Candelaria, Bogota, Colombia (La Candelaria)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 146 Specialty Lodging in Bogota
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“The best hostel in Bogota”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

I have stayed a few times in this hostel while going back to visit my family in Colombia. The workers, the rooms, the people, everything you can find in there makes you feel like in your own home, even when I have family in Bogota I prefer to stay at Masaya :)

Going back soon so see ya !

Room Tip: Dont worry, even if you have to share the room, for sure that you will stay with nice foreigners.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    57
    26
    8
    2
See reviews for
7
69
66
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Stayed at the hostel for 3 nights, very tasty breakfast (fruit, muesli, eggs...), had a double room with attached bath room, water was hot, however pressure a bit low, very good starting point for sightseeing in bogota, everything in walking distance, staff very friendly but slightly incompetent.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

The place has a good, easy vibe, with very helpful staff, but the rooms are subject to much noise, especially when bad parents let their kids run wild. Earplugs are a must, the included breakfast is top notch, and the location super convenient to La Candeleria. All in all it's worth the $, secure and clean, but the noise levels a bit much.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas P, Propriétaire at Masaya Intercultural Hostel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for your feedbacks; this helps us improving our service!

We are satisfied that you appreciated the personnel and the cultural activities of our Hostel! It is true that our location is ideal for Candaleria. We are sorry for the noisy experience during your stay

Kind regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Spent two nights here on the back end of a 3 week trip to Colombia. My two friends and I stayed in one of the dorms near the back, and the beds were way more comfortable than any of the hostels we stayed in on the trip. The little privacy curtains were great for keeping out other people's bright reading lights. In the evenings it was nice to find a good group of people in the inner courtyard lounge with the TVs (it helped that Pulp Fiction was on in the background). We even got in a few dartboard games in the 2nd courtyard.

The location was alright for being in the historic district, and a few steps from the Banco de la Republica if you're really into Botero works. The plaza down from the hostel is just ok, but at the very least lively. All in all I would stay here next time I'm town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

Way to noisy, because of the neighbours. Very loud music every single night, we stayed here 3 nights in double bedroom nr 1. Staff says its not their fault, but the neighbours. Very overpriced, small room, bed was terrible! Location is good, but after 3 nights loud music we definetly will not go back here!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas P, Propriétaire at Masaya Intercultural Hostel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for your opinion! We take very seriously your opinion into consideration.
We changed the bed settings to better accommodate our customers.
Independently we are very sorry for the noisy experience you had while staying with us! This was caused by the inauguration of the restaurant next door during the Christmas season.

We are very sorry for the inconvenience that as caused during your stay.
Thank you for your feedbacks; this helps us improving the service we offer daily.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

I spent 1 night on 2 different occasions and everything is well thought to make you feel like home.
The place is clean, big and offers different accomodation: private rooms, dormitorios (for girls/ for boys/ mixed), a bar/ restaurant, 3 computers to go online, and surely I forgot other commodities!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

I picked Masaya hostel for a two night stay in Bogota. The place was located in a nice section of Bogota and the rooms were clean. I enjoyed the clean rooms and the staff were nice. However, the service could have been more attentive.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Masaya Intercultural Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masaya Intercultural Hostel

Address: Carrera 2 # 12-48 | La Candelaria, Bogota, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bogota > La Candelaria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 146 Specialty Lodging in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Masaya Intercultural Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Masaya will be your home abroad!Recognized heritage colonial architecture, you will love the house.Great service catering to your needs! Bogota Masaya stands a few meters from the heart of the Colombian capital: El Chorro de Quevedo. It is assumed that it is this famous place where Spanish explorer and conquistador Gonzalo Jimenez de Quesada founded Bogotá in August 6, 1538. This site is now constantly animated by the presence of street artists, storytellers and street vendors.Set in the Candelaria, arguably the ideal starting point to discover the city, Masaya you make you discover this unique district, where history, culture, art, and politics meet.Emerge yourself in the Colombian culture by staying in one of the historic colonial houses! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Masaya Intercultural Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Masaya Intercultural Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.