We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful staff, lovely decorated. freezing. no hot water before 5pm” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Muisca

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Muisca to your Saves list
Hotel Muisca
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 10 # 0 - 25 Este, Bogota 111711, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #113 of 240 Hotels in Bogota
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“wonderful staff, lovely decorated. freezing. no hot water before 5pm”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

The staf were amazing and helpful. Place was beautful and clean.

Unfortunately the heating was hopeless and no amount of 'please fix it' got us a result.

Additionally the place has no hot water before 5pm. Why?? We paid a pretty decent rate by Columbia standards. Hot water should be 24/7 at that price. ?..

Room Tip: Their is a music school next door . Keep this in mind
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    48
    14
    4
    4
See reviews for
14
57
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
1,129 reviews 1,129 reviews
168 hotel reviews
Reviews in 336 cities Reviews in 336 cities
579 helpful votes 579 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

Spent four nights here with spouse Jan. 20-24, 2014. Took a taxi from the airport for $25,000 COP. Calle 10 is rather steep and our taxi mechanically couldn't make it up the hill (I think he was so low on gas it kep stalling on the incline). Our driver knocked $5,000 off the fare and walked us up to the hotel entrance, carrying one of our bags.

We arrived at 11:15pm and were welcomed by Edna. She was very friendly and efficient, checking us in. She made a copy of our passports for us and encouraged us to carry that with us Nd leave our passports in the in-room safe.

We checked into room 5, downstairs off the courtyard/patio. Double bed with additional sleeping in the loft. Small bathroom. Bath a,entities, hair dryer and shaving mirror. Slept great in wonderful sheets. Small radiator put out some heat, but was glad for the additional blanket.

In the morning we took our included breakfast in the second floor area above the front desk. Each day breakfast was scrambled eggs with onions and peppers and cheese, with toast (butter, jam), fresh fruit, fresh juice, and coffee. Delicious and lots to eat to keep us going until lunch.

We asked Robert (the morning manager) if we could possibly move to an upstairs room. He said the occupants had checked out and the room was just cleaned, so yes! We moved into room #14 up two flights of stairs (one spiral). He even helped us carry our bags to the new room (same price).

Room #14 is one of the best! #13 is also excellent and has three single beds. #14 has a king bed with chair, is spacious and has lots of natural light. Flat screen TV, wardrobe with unlimited hangers (it seemed), small mini-bar (water, packaged snacks), in room safe, and spacious bathroom. Bathroom had tiled shower and plenty of hot water. Bath amenities included shampoo, conditioner, and bars of soap, no wash cloths, but hand and bath towels.

It must be said the Hotel Muisca has the best bed sheets ever. Better even than a 5* hotel like W or Four Seasons. I seriously wanted to stay in bed all day and bring a set home with me. They are that good!

The hotel is pleasantly decorated with Muisca artworks (carvings) throughout. Well-lit pathways lead from front desk back to the guestrooms. Nice patio where we took our breakfast the other three mornings. There's a computer for guest use off the lobby and also a small coffee/bar by front desk.

There's a sauna we didn't use on the second floor. If you have mobility problems (climbing stairs) you'll be happier downstairs. But, if you don't mind stairs ask for room 13 or 14. You'll love it. Can get cold in Bogota at night. Radiators in room provide some heat, but not enough to make everyone comfortable. They do provide wool blankets, but if you get cold make sure you have your PJs.

It's a short but somewhat steep walk down to the action, but the peace of the Hotel Muisca is worth your walk up the hill. The area isn't the best after dark, but is well-patrolled by police. We never felt unsafe, but used common sense and street smarts (don't flash cash, wear flashy jewelry, or come back drunk). Some nice restaurants on Calle 10 nearby.

In the afternoons we were welcomed back by Jenny. The front gate is locked 24hrs/day, requiring the front desk manager to let you out or in. Jenny was very friendly and personable.

Robert helped us figure out the bus to Villa de Leyva, even calling several bus lines to learn their next departure.

The staff are wonderful, the food is delicious, the rooms and lovely and peaceful, and the sheets are the best ever. Ever!

Should we return to Bogota, we will definitely stay here!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We arrived at Hotel Muisca at 5am, fresh off an overnight flight and a little nervous about walking the streets of Bogota in darkness. One thing you might notice about the streets in Bogota is that at night, unless in a nightlife area, everything looks so closed that it might seem abandoned to Americans. It is with this trepidation that we rang the bell to be let in through the security gate.

From that point on, I considered Hotel Muisca a refuge. The overnight clerk made us some coffee and agreed to let us check into a room for a small fee, even though check-in wasn't until the afternoon. We managed to get some sleep and when we awoke, we realized what a charming interior this hotel has.

We ate our included breakfast, made to order, each morning on the patio, listening to the sound of the fountain and peeking about at all the cool design elements that came together to make this a truly beautiful hotel.

Our room was spacious and comfortable, if a bit dark (we were tucked in by the courtyard on the ground floor). In a way, this lighting had a calming effect, coming back from the frenetic streets of Bogota at the end of long days of walking, biking, and otherwise exploring the city.

The service was good, and although English skills were hit and miss, between what Spanish skills my wife and I possess and the friendly efforts of the staff, communication was perfectly acceptable.

I believe the price-point to be very reasonable, and the location, although a bit farther from the heart of La Candelaria than most hotels in the area, was good exercise and being up the hill a bit afforded us some great sunset views of the city. The walls were thin, as can be expected of nearly all buildings in Bogota, so I consider that shortcoming a wash, particular since the renovation of this building has been so beautifully done.

Having completed quite a bit of research for my website www.independenttravelplanning.com, I can say that I consider Hotel Muisca to be one of the few hotels in Bogota that provides tremendous value without much downside to speak of.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

I visited Hotel Muisca in November of 2013. I was to busy on return to write my review but it would be unfair not to mention the excellent care provided to me during my stay. The staff was wonderful catering to any need. Edna helped me with directions and was so kind to point out tourist points and suggest things to do. When back at the house the young man assisting give me the best of care I would recommend this site, it is near many activities but does require some amount of walking. As reported by others, the hotel is a bit noisy, my guess is because of the brick and concrete décor there is little soft material to absorb the sound. The place is quite beautiful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruxelles
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

A very small hotel well located in the barrio or old town la candelabra
Ask for the rooms located upstairs!
It is a family like welcome!
A very low price too for such a warm welcome!
Be prepared to climb the hill!
As soon yo got into your upper room, what a good rest to think about your next walk around!

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Muisca for 1 night while in Bogota. Staying at this hotel feels like you are staying inside a museum. The property is absolutely beautiful, unique, and full of amazing detail. I spent some time just walking around the property checking everything out and reading the descriptions. This hotel is located on top of the hill of the colonial La Candelaria district. There are many bars and restaurants near by. Plaza de Bolivar is a 5 minute walk down the hill and 10 minute walk back up. There are also many museums within walking distance. The cable car to the top of the hill overlooking all of Bogota is only a 5 minute taxi away. The staff were very friendly and helpful, but spoke almost no English. My room was clean, beautiful, and the bed was comfortable. The free WiFi worked great. The included breakfast was cooked to order. I had just eggs and toast. Breakfast is served on the terrace located on the roof with a nice view of the city. I wish I stayed here longer!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

This is a beautifully decorated and charming hotel with a great location and a staff that was always welcoming and accommodating. The breakfasts were incredibly delicious, with exotic fruits such as granadilla and tomate de arbol, and you eat them in your own private seating area. There is a room on the top floor where they sent us when the power went out briefly so that we would be warm and comfortable (there was a gas stove in it), and they ordered us a pizza to be delivered (servicio domicilio). There is a beautiful rooftop terrace with fantastic views. The hill that people say is so daunting is not a hill at all but an easy, gently sloped street. I would recommend Hotel Muisca to anybody and can honestly say that it is one of the nicest places I have ever stayed in. I have zero negative things to say about it.

Room Tip: There is no fitness room or swimming pool but TripAdvisor made me rate them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Muisca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Muisca

Address: Calle 10 # 0 - 25 Este, Bogota 111711, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bogota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 240 Hotels in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Muisca 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El primer Hotel Tematico precolombino del centro historico de Bogota se erige luego de la cuidadosa restauracion sostenible de una casa que cuenta con mas de 200 anos de historia.La sencillez y funcionalidad de la arquitectura neogranadina se expresan en una modesta fachada con balcon y puerta artesanal en madera, baldosas y tejas de barro, paredes en ladrillo cocido y piedra, y amplios patios santaferenos ornamentados con barandas, columnas, ventanas, arquerias, fuentes, flores y jardines. En este sentido, el Hotel Muisca sintetiza en su diseno y contenido la arquitectura colonial y la America precolombina, como un homenaje a la nacion Muisca-Chibcha que hace parte de las cinco grandes culturas ancestrales (maya, inca, azteca y selvatica. HABITACIONES El hotel se compone de tres niveles con catorce (14) habitaciones en acomodacion Sencilla, Twin, Doble y Grupos desde 3 hasta 6 personas.Entre los servicios en nuestras habitaciones encontramos: telefono con llamadas locales ilimitadas y nacional e internacional al cobro, TV LCD de 32", television por cable, Wi-Fi gratuito en todo el hotel, servicio de cajilla de seguridad, servicio a la habitacion 24 horas para adquirir productos de la carta de mini bar y de la carta de conveniencias, sistema de calefaccion integral en todas las habitaciones y las zonas comunes con chimeneas.Todas Nuestras Habitaciones Incluyen: Cajilla de Seguridad / Calefaccion Ecologica Integral / Secador de Cabello / Guarda Ropa / Amenities / Llamadas Locales / Internet Wi-Fi / Televisores LCD / Television Por Cable / Llamada Despertador / Desayuno Americano /Impuestos y Seguro Hotelero. ARQUITECTURA Y DISENO Objetos como lamparas, rejas, materas, camas, mesas, entre otros inspirados en el arte Muisca, han sido exclusivamente disenados para dar vida al hotel, y se han mezclado con elementos coloniales cuidadosamente restaurados de la casa como ventanas, balcones, puertas, creando espacios unicos que desean despertar el interes a nuestros visitantes en conocer mas nuestra cultura e historia. En sintesis, ofrecemos una experiencia unica de bienestar, cultura y diseno. SERVICIOS Contamos dos patios, cafe, salon social, spa, una terraza y zonas de exposicion permanente, todo lo cual representa el territorio, la mitologia y el arte de los Muiscas. De otro lado, el hotel cuenta con una estupenda ubicacion en el tradicional barrio La Candelaria, un antiguo lugar sagrado para los ancestros Muiscas que actualmente es conocido como el epicentro historico, economico, cultural y gubernamental de la ciudad, rodeado de plazas, parques, monumentos, teatros, museos, iglesias, bibliotecas, restaurantes, bares y universidades. Asi mismo la Candelaria ofrece un ambiente unico de tranquilidad y calma en medio de la agitada vida propia de una gran ciudad. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Muisca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Muisca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.