We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The original experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Muisca

Save Saved
You added Hotel Muisca to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Muisca
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 10 # 0 - 25 Este, Bogota 111711, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 229 hotels in Bogota
Belgium
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The original experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

You can either opt to stay in an international hotel, or in a local hotel; the risk is that one cannot assume the quality of the latter in beforehand. If you plan to stay at a local hotel in Bogota, in La Candelaria quarter, it is recommended to stay at Hotel Muisca. The staff is most friendly and service oriented. The rooms are scattered around and beautiful. This area of Bogota is quite vivid, as you are in walking distance of the old center. Very good price quality !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    37
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
14
36
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

The staff was very very nice, but the Hotel was awkward despite is a beautiful building. We were in one of the back rooms, where noise was extremely loud. At night people coming to the rooms were noisy, and very early in the morning we heard passengers carrying luggage from the 2nd floor (there is no elevator) in a very loudly way, there was a School in the back, so kids laughing and chairs were disturbing from very early... and the fisrt morning, the school was repairing stuff, so we were woke up at 7 am by a nice hammer. Also there is a "nice" fountain in the back that was EXTREMELY NOISY. Apart from that, the heat was not working and they din't have an extra electric/gas heater, the only "solution" was an extra blanket. We didn't sleep at all any night despite we were very tired at night because the Hotel is very near to the touristic spots in the center, but to get there, there's a huge hill to climb up.

Room Tip: Please ask NOT to stay in the back rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellin, Colombia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Small hotel, with a nice interior design. There are many stairs everywhere which makes this hotel a small labyrinth. Nonetheless, the room I stayed in was large and comfortable (4 beds). Excellent attention from the staff, very efficient electronic payment with confirmation and receipt by email. Prices are really low. Definitely a must-go hotel. The best I found so far in Bogotà, and the one I'll choose next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CamiloGarzon, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Muisca, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Is impressive how in such a short time you could "feel" so much that we proposed from the conception of the hotel, from design and decoration, to the location and especially the attention to our guests. We can only thank you for your comment, because encourages us to move forward and make your experience getting better at our hotel.
Hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This gem was a wonderful surprise from start to finish.

Months before leaving the US for a Colombia honeymoon, I was able to "converse" electronically with the hotel's staff through the hotel's website. I was assured they had our reservation, and they promised a large bed, and full bath.

Our late-arriving flight to El Dorado was met by a taxi sent from the hotel, who was a conversational "guide" into the city without treating us like we were on a tour. We arrived at the hotel late, but Sr Ospino, my correspondent, was waiting. The building, which is hundreds of years old, presents a small, secure face to the world. Inside, though, it was much larger than I had imagined. Sr. Ospino whisked us to our charming and comfortable room, easily explaining fundamentals of keys, hot water. breakfast, etc.

The room's square footage was cozy by US chain hotel standards, but had a very high ceiling that made it feel spacious. It was wrapped with windows (that had interior shutters for darkness and privacy). Beautiful, distinctive paintings permanently executed on the walls explained a facet of the Muiscan culture; although we didn't go into any of the other hotel rooms, I understand that each features similar art describing items of cultural significance. It was pristine when we arrived, and was maintained beautifully during our week-long stay by a small, friendly, unobtrusive cleaning staff. The W.C. was small, but had a spacious shower with ample hot water -- and beautiful stone fixtures.

Have i mentioned that the place is beautiful?

The bed struck me as "european," and not the ultra-deep, ultra-fluffy bed that's in vogue in most American chains. It was firm, and a few inches lower than its US counterparts. A perfect resting spot to watch [just a few] minutes of flat-screen cable while recharging our batteries. The room also offered all modern conveniences -- hair dryer. secure safe, individual room temperature control with responsive heat, wifi, phone, etc. . . .

The hotel is in La Candelaria, the "old" city downtown. It is in a perfect location -- on the top of the "hill" of La Candelaria (actually, the foot of a mountain), overlooking the old city sweeping away from it, with the new city reaching out to the horizon in every direction. A spectacular view every time we left the hotel! Taxis have a straight shot to the hotel, though, and from many parts of the city they reach it from the Circunvalar, the "bypass" on the mountain above the city. Most of our cab rides back from all parts of the city were quick, avoiding getting bogged down in the narrow streets of La Candelaria. As every review notes, the hill should be taken into account -- the walk "home" was invigorating most days, but tough sledding on a day we'd overextended ourselves and were racing to get back to prepare for a night out. But ultimately we thought the hill was one of the hotel's "plusses" -- it was great to have such a beautiful view, and my old, fat, weary bones enjoyed walking back.

We had morning plans almost every day, so we didn't stop and settle in for the complementary breakfast. And there are some fantastic breakfast "joints" on every block in La Candelaria, so the idea of taking breakfast there every day didn't make sense to us. But each morning, we did stop for coffee, and were served a distinctive fruit and interesting conversation by the morning chef -- who I believe actually manages the property, but takes mornings to connect with his guests. I can't say strongly enough that he, and everyone working at the hotel, was gracious, kind, quick to smile, and attentive while still offering a respectful privacy. Top notch boutique service.

I unhesitatingly recommend the hotel to everyone -- even if you're more prone to seek the familiar (many acquaintances we know stayed at the Embassy Suites -- a distinctive Chicago/Houston/Denver/DC vibe transplanted to Chapinero), you will still feel comfortable at Hotel Muisca. It felt like the perfect combination of authenticity, old-city charm, and boutique luxury. And it somehow did it while charging much less than some of the cookie-cutter chains.

Bravo!

Room Tip: Room 7 had two walls of windows overlooking the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Museum hotel! The hotel was interesting, vintage, clean and beautiful. The hotel sat on a lonely hill with little to no traffic. So traveling at night isn't that safe. The rooms isn't sound proof. So you can hear hotel guest, hotel neighbors, and neighborhood traffic. If your a light sleeper like myself it can be very aggravating. There is no sleeping in. The hotel does have a rooftop that provided a great view of the City.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CamiloGarzon, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Muisca, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thanks for your comment. ¡Hope you have had a great experience with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

It was so nice that it is difficult to express with words. Nearly on the top of the hill, walking distance from the city centre, in the historical area, small house from outside is hiding a very beautiful, magnificently designed charming hotel. Very clean, cosy, elegant, comfortable and extremely quiet. The staff was very friendly and helpul, we could choose the place where we wish to have breakfast and what we wish to eat. We have been eating on the roof with beautiful view to the centrum of Bogota. In the neighbourhood on the way from the city centre there were several excellent restaurants and museas. It was a pity that the opera house which is also on the way up to the hill was not functioning. Perhaps next time. Only one remark from my side, we asked a quiet room with a window, we have received it, but the window could not be opened. The same was true for the bathroom. We spent there two nights, the hotel manager was willing to change our room but we did not insist.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartagena, Colombia
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is definitely the best value hotel i have stayed in, true there is climb home, but the quality of the design, the cleanliness and superb hospitality makes this a hotel you cant refuse. This is the first review i have written in having visited 49 countries and i felt compelled to write about the fine hosts Johanna and Jenny, who really care about their guests.

Room Tip: Try and stay on ground or first floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CamiloGarzon, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Muisca, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Google Translation
Agradecemos su comentario y nos enorgullece saber que nuestro trabajo se ve reflejado en una positiva percepción de nuestro hotel y en una buena experiencia de viaje para ustedes!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Muisca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Muisca

Address: Calle 10 # 0 - 25 Este, Bogota 111711, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bogota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 229 hotels in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Muisca 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El primer Hotel Tematico precolombino del centro historico de Bogota se erige luego de la cuidadosa restauracion sostenible de una casa que cuenta con mas de 200 anos de historia.La sencillez y funcionalidad de la arquitectura neogranadina se expresan en una modesta fachada con balcon y puerta artesanal en madera, baldosas y tejas de barro, paredes en ladrillo cocido y piedra, y amplios patios santaferenos ornamentados con barandas, columnas, ventanas, arquerias, fuentes, flores y jardines. En este sentido, el Hotel Muisca sintetiza en su diseno y contenido la arquitectura colonial y la America precolombina, como un homenaje a la nacion Muisca-Chibcha que hace parte de las cinco grandes culturas ancestrales (maya, inca, azteca y selvatica. HABITACIONES El hotel se compone de tres niveles con catorce (14) habitaciones en acomodacion Sencilla, Twin, Doble y Grupos desde 3 hasta 6 personas.Entre los servicios en nuestras habitaciones encontramos: telefono con llamadas locales ilimitadas y nacional e internacional al cobro, TV LCD de 32", television por cable, Wi-Fi gratuito en todo el hotel, servicio de cajilla de seguridad, servicio a la habitacion 24 horas para adquirir productos de la carta de mini bar y de la carta de conveniencias, sistema de calefaccion integral en todas las habitaciones y las zonas comunes con chimeneas.Todas Nuestras Habitaciones Incluyen: Cajilla de Seguridad / Calefaccion Ecologica Integral / Secador de Cabello / Guarda Ropa / Amenities / Llamadas Locales / Internet Wi-Fi / Televisores LCD / Television Por Cable / Llamada Despertador / Desayuno Americano /Impuestos y Seguro Hotelero. ARQUITECTURA Y DISENO Objetos como lamparas, rejas, materas, camas, mesas, entre otros inspirados en el arte Muisca, han sido exclusivamente disenados para dar vida al hotel, y se han mezclado con elementos coloniales cuidadosamente restaurados de la casa como ventanas, balcones, puertas, creando espacios unicos que desean despertar el interes a nuestros visitantes en conocer mas nuestra cultura e historia. En sintesis, ofrecemos una experiencia unica de bienestar, cultura y diseno. SERVICIOS Contamos dos patios, cafe, salon social, spa, una terraza y zonas de exposicion permanente, todo lo cual representa el territorio, la mitologia y el arte de los Muiscas. De otro lado, el hotel cuenta con una estupenda ubicacion en el tradicional barrio La Candelaria, un antiguo lugar sagrado para los ancestros Muiscas que actualmente es conocido como el epicentro historico, economico, cultural y gubernamental de la ciudad, rodeado de plazas, parques, monumentos, teatros, museos, iglesias, bibliotecas, restaurantes, bares y universidades. Asi mismo la Candelaria ofrece un ambiente unico de tranquilidad y calma en medio de la agitada vida propia de una gran ciudad. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Muisca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Muisca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.