We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in the historical district” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Muisca

Save Saved
You added Hotel Muisca to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Muisca
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 10 # 0 - 25 Este, Bogota 111711, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 224 hotels in Bogota
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
“Excellent hotel in the historical district”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We had a wonderful two day stay in this charming, well designed and beautifully decorated. The room was small but perfectly adequate for our needs. The service is exemplary. I highly recommend this hotel though climbing up the hill was a little struggle!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    33
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
14
35
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn, Estonia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Muisca on our last day in Bogota. The hotel has great atmosphere, beautiful rooms and public areas. And the staff is very helpful and really try to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. Upon arrival we had a bit of an argument with the taxi driver who tried to charge us more than we had agreed at the airport. The hotel staff helped to sort that out. The also gave us a good overview of nearby attractions, restaurants, where to go and areas to avoid. We had to wait a bit as we arrived before official check in time but they have the cutest small courtyard and you can order cold drinks from the hotel bar - waiting is rarely so nice. The rooms each have a cool design and are spotless. As it was 7 of us travelling, we had two large rooms. A nice bonus was actual hot water - as it was the end of our trip, we had learnt that in Colombia a hot shower is not so easy to come by. All in all - great experience for a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CamiloGarzon, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Muisca, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
We are very glad that you´ve enjoyed your staying, especially that you felt comfortable in our group rooms. It´s also important for our staff to know that they could help you to have a better experience in our Country. Hope you could come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We booked this hotel on booking.com and it was not listed in any guide book so we were not sure of the place but the price was right for us and the location according to the map. When we arrived we were so pleased with the place. The room was big and all the details one likes in a hotel room was there, hooks, light switches, nice soap, heat, hot water(the shower was great), bed and linings were cozy comfortable. The decor was very unique with the use of the 200 year old brick how well the space was planned. The staff were fabulous, helpful, friendly. The bar was open at night and cozy. The breakfast is included and you can have it in a variety of places, the dining area(upstairs from the bar), in the courtyard, in your room, or our favorite on the top deck that over looks the city and mountain range in the back.
The only downfalls were no window in our room(but we did not spend too much time there), and the hill you had to walk up to the hotel. I gave the rating of average for restaurant because there were not many choices for food
Loved this hotel and would love to go back

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We just spent 4 nights at this great hotel in La Candelaria. Staff is friendly and helpful. The front door is locked at all times and room locks are very secure as well. The rooms and the public areas are kept spotless. The neighborhood is lively during the day, but does get pretty sparse by 7 at night. You'll find an OXXO, 7-11 type store, about 1 1/2 blocks down Calle 11 and a wonderful French Patisserie shop about 1/2 block on Calle 9, Also, check out the Visitor's Information Office at Carrera 8 and Calle 10.They are a great source of information and also give daily 2 hr walking tours of La Candelaria for free.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

My wife and I are active senior travelers. We enjoyed the daily walks up and down the hill in Candelaria to the nearby tourism sites. However, the hotel will gladly call a metered taxi any time. Be sure to carry the hotel's business card for the return taxi ride. Carry ample cash in small denominations. There is a no-fee ATM machine in a hole-in-the-wall booth near the corner of Avenida 7 and Calle 19. The hotel books tours for an independent contractor. We took the tour to a coffee plantation, but found that the publicity misrepresented the tour: not conducted in English, did not include lunch, and took 8 hours instead of 5. We recommend that the hotel drop this tour operator. A better choice for tours is to book at the Visitor Information Office in Bolivar Plaza. Staff in the hotel were charming and helpful. The heat in the room was not always reliable, but an effort was made to keep us warm at night. We would gladly stay here again. Before visiting South America, it is very useful to take a short course in Spanish. Meals, transportation, and shopping will all be more efficient and enjoyable. Food tip: ask the staff to direct you to a market that sells "arequipe", a delicious caramel confection with a crunchy crystalized-sugar crust. Mmm, good!

Room Tip: During the busy season, couples may wish to request a room apart from the dormitory rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CamiloGarzon, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Muisca, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
We really appreciate your review and will consider to provide a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Spent a total of 4 nights at Hotel Muisca in November/December last year. What a great inn - the staff is fantastic and very accomodating, breakfast was a good way to start the day as well. We thought the location was perfect - close to just about everything and the steep hill was a good way to burn a few more calories. The rooftop terrace was a great place to view the city lights and hang out. I highly recommend it. The rooms are nice as well. We did experience some noise from other rooms (people talking, etc.) - but it wasn't really a problem. I would definitely return. They also have a sauna and steam room which is nice - although there is a nominal charge.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Spent three wonderful nights in this charming old world hotel in the Candelaria District of Bogota.
The staff was most gracious and helpful from the moment we arrived. The breakfast every morning in the courtyard was substantial and delicious. Fresh juice and fruit followed by scrambled eggs with tomato and onion, with a beautiful egg bread - butter and jelly, choice of coffee or tea.
The hotel is well located to the city centre . The walk up and down are a good way to keep the heart in shape or you can hire a taxi to get you where you need to go.
When going to Bogota do consider the charm of Hotel Muisca and be transported back to another time with modern conveniences.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Muisca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Muisca

Address: Calle 10 # 0 - 25 Este, Bogota 111711, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bogota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 224 hotels in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Muisca 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El primer Hotel Tematico precolombino del centro historico de Bogota se erige luego de la cuidadosa restauracion sostenible de una casa que cuenta con mas de 200 anos de historia.La sencillez y funcionalidad de la arquitectura neogranadina se expresan en una modesta fachada con balcon y puerta artesanal en madera, baldosas y tejas de barro, paredes en ladrillo cocido y piedra, y amplios patios santaferenos ornamentados con barandas, columnas, ventanas, arquerias, fuentes, flores y jardines. En este sentido, el Hotel Muisca sintetiza en su diseno y contenido la arquitectura colonial y la America precolombina, como un homenaje a la nacion Muisca-Chibcha que hace parte de las cinco grandes culturas ancestrales (maya, inca, azteca y selvatica. HABITACIONES El hotel se compone de tres niveles con catorce (14) habitaciones en acomodacion Sencilla, Twin, Doble y Grupos desde 3 hasta 6 personas.Entre los servicios en nuestras habitaciones encontramos: telefono con llamadas locales ilimitadas y nacional e internacional al cobro, TV LCD de 32", television por cable, Wi-Fi gratuito en todo el hotel, servicio de cajilla de seguridad, servicio a la habitacion 24 horas para adquirir productos de la carta de mini bar y de la carta de conveniencias, sistema de calefaccion integral en todas las habitaciones y las zonas comunes con chimeneas.Todas Nuestras Habitaciones Incluyen: Cajilla de Seguridad / Calefaccion Ecologica Integral / Secador de Cabello / Guarda Ropa / Amenities / Llamadas Locales / Internet Wi-Fi / Televisores LCD / Television Por Cable / Llamada Despertador / Desayuno Americano /Impuestos y Seguro Hotelero. ARQUITECTURA Y DISENO Objetos como lamparas, rejas, materas, camas, mesas, entre otros inspirados en el arte Muisca, han sido exclusivamente disenados para dar vida al hotel, y se han mezclado con elementos coloniales cuidadosamente restaurados de la casa como ventanas, balcones, puertas, creando espacios unicos que desean despertar el interes a nuestros visitantes en conocer mas nuestra cultura e historia. En sintesis, ofrecemos una experiencia unica de bienestar, cultura y diseno. SERVICIOS Contamos dos patios, cafe, salon social, spa, una terraza y zonas de exposicion permanente, todo lo cual representa el territorio, la mitologia y el arte de los Muiscas. De otro lado, el hotel cuenta con una estupenda ubicacion en el tradicional barrio La Candelaria, un antiguo lugar sagrado para los ancestros Muiscas que actualmente es conocido como el epicentro historico, economico, cultural y gubernamental de la ciudad, rodeado de plazas, parques, monumentos, teatros, museos, iglesias, bibliotecas, restaurantes, bares y universidades. Asi mismo la Candelaria ofrece un ambiente unico de tranquilidad y calma en medio de la agitada vida propia de una gran ciudad. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Muisca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Muisca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.