We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in the historical district” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Muisca

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Muisca to your Saves list
Hotel Muisca
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 10 # 0 - 25 Este, Bogota 111711, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #107 of 245 Hotels in Bogota
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
“Excellent hotel in the historical district”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We had a wonderful two day stay in this charming, well designed and beautifully decorated. The room was small but perfectly adequate for our needs. The service is exemplary. I highly recommend this hotel though climbing up the hill was a little struggle!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    59
    15
    4
    4
See reviews for
14
64
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Muisca on our last day in Bogota. The hotel has great atmosphere, beautiful rooms and public areas. And the staff is very helpful and really try to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. Upon arrival we had a bit of an argument with the taxi driver who tried to charge us more than we had agreed at the airport. The hotel staff helped to sort that out. The also gave us a good overview of nearby attractions, restaurants, where to go and areas to avoid. We had to wait a bit as we arrived before official check in time but they have the cutest small courtyard and you can order cold drinks from the hotel bar - waiting is rarely so nice. The rooms each have a cool design and are spotless. As it was 7 of us travelling, we had two large rooms. A nice bonus was actual hot water - as it was the end of our trip, we had learnt that in Colombia a hot shower is not so easy to come by. All in all - great experience for a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CamiloGarzon, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Muisca, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
We are very glad that you´ve enjoyed your staying, especially that you felt comfortable in our group rooms. It´s also important for our staff to know that they could help you to have a better experience in our Country. Hope you could come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We booked this hotel on booking.com and it was not listed in any guide book so we were not sure of the place but the price was right for us and the location according to the map. When we arrived we were so pleased with the place. The room was big and all the details one likes in a hotel room was there, hooks, light switches, nice soap, heat, hot water(the shower was great), bed and linings were cozy comfortable. The decor was very unique with the use of the 200 year old brick how well the space was planned. The staff were fabulous, helpful, friendly. The bar was open at night and cozy. The breakfast is included and you can have it in a variety of places, the dining area(upstairs from the bar), in the courtyard, in your room, or our favorite on the top deck that over looks the city and mountain range in the back.
The only downfalls were no window in our room(but we did not spend too much time there), and the hill you had to walk up to the hotel. I gave the rating of average for restaurant because there were not many choices for food
Loved this hotel and would love to go back

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We just spent 4 nights at this great hotel in La Candelaria. Staff is friendly and helpful. The front door is locked at all times and room locks are very secure as well. The rooms and the public areas are kept spotless. The neighborhood is lively during the day, but does get pretty sparse by 7 at night. You'll find an OXXO, 7-11 type store, about 1 1/2 blocks down Calle 11 and a wonderful French Patisserie shop about 1/2 block on Calle 9, Also, check out the Visitor's Information Office at Carrera 8 and Calle 10.They are a great source of information and also give daily 2 hr walking tours of La Candelaria for free.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

My wife and I are active senior travelers. We enjoyed the daily walks up and down the hill in Candelaria to the nearby tourism sites. However, the hotel will gladly call a metered taxi any time. Be sure to carry the hotel's business card for the return taxi ride. Carry ample cash in small denominations. There is a no-fee ATM machine in a hole-in-the-wall booth near the corner of Avenida 7 and Calle 19. The hotel books tours for an independent contractor. We took the tour to a coffee plantation, but found that the publicity misrepresented the tour: not conducted in English, did not include lunch, and took 8 hours instead of 5. We recommend that the hotel drop this tour operator. A better choice for tours is to book at the Visitor Information Office in Bolivar Plaza. Staff in the hotel were charming and helpful. The heat in the room was not always reliable, but an effort was made to keep us warm at night. We would gladly stay here again. Before visiting South America, it is very useful to take a short course in Spanish. Meals, transportation, and shopping will all be more efficient and enjoyable. Food tip: ask the staff to direct you to a market that sells "arequipe", a delicious caramel confection with a crunchy crystalized-sugar crust. Mmm, good!

Room Tip: During the busy season, couples may wish to request a room apart from the dormitory rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CamiloGarzon, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Muisca, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
We really appreciate your review and will consider to provide a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Spent a total of 4 nights at Hotel Muisca in November/December last year. What a great inn - the staff is fantastic and very accomodating, breakfast was a good way to start the day as well. We thought the location was perfect - close to just about everything and the steep hill was a good way to burn a few more calories. The rooftop terrace was a great place to view the city lights and hang out. I highly recommend it. The rooms are nice as well. We did experience some noise from other rooms (people talking, etc.) - but it wasn't really a problem. I would definitely return. They also have a sauna and steam room which is nice - although there is a nominal charge.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Spent three wonderful nights in this charming old world hotel in the Candelaria District of Bogota.
The staff was most gracious and helpful from the moment we arrived. The breakfast every morning in the courtyard was substantial and delicious. Fresh juice and fruit followed by scrambled eggs with tomato and onion, with a beautiful egg bread - butter and jelly, choice of coffee or tea.
The hotel is well located to the city centre . The walk up and down are a good way to keep the heart in shape or you can hire a taxi to get you where you need to go.
When going to Bogota do consider the charm of Hotel Muisca and be transported back to another time with modern conveniences.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bogota hotels
La Candelaria
Abadia Colonial
Abadia Colonial
#99 of 245 in Bogota
4.0 of 5 stars 154 reviews
Casa Platypus
#81 of 245 in Bogota
4.0 of 5 stars 148 reviews
Hotel Santa Cruz Corferias
#42 of 245 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 stars 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Casa Deco
#24 of 245 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 stars 549 reviews
Hotel bh Bicentenario
#77 of 245 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 stars 55 reviews
La Candelaria
Hotel de la Opera
Hotel de la Opera
#74 of 245 in Bogota
4.0 of 5 stars 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Muisca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Muisca

Address: Calle 10 # 0 - 25 Este, Bogota 111711, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bogota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 245 Hotels in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Muisca 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OUR HOTEL The first Theme Hotel on the Bogota's historic center is built after a careful restoration of a sustainable house with more than 200 years of history. The simplicity and functionality of the New Granada architecture are expressed in a modest front door with balcony and wood crafts, tiles and clay tiles, brick stone walls and santafereños patios decorated with railings, columns, windows, arches, fountains flowers and gardens. In this sense, the Hotel Muisca synthesized in its content and designs the colonial architecture and the ancient America, as an homage to Muisca-Chibcha nation that is part of the five great ancient cultures (Maya, Inca, Aztec and Jungle). OUR ROOMS The hotel consists of three levels with thirteen (13) rooms in Simple, Twin, Double accommodation and Groups from 3 to 6 persons. Amenities in our rooms are: unlimited free local calls and national and international collect calls, LCD TV 32" with cable TV, Wi-Fi access throughout the hotel, security box service, 24 hours room service to purchase products from the mini bar menu and conveniences menu, environmentally friendly heating in all rooms and common areas with fireplaces. SERVICES. Our Hotel has two patios, coffee, lounge, spa, terrace and permanent exhibition areas, all of which represents the Muisca territory, mythology and art. Moreover, the hotel has a great location in the traditional Candelaria District, an ancient holy place for the Muiscas ancestors which is now known as the epicenter of historic, economic, cultural and governmental center of the city, surrounded by parks, monuments, theaters, museums, churches, libraries, restaurants, bars and universities. Likewise, the Candelaria offers a unique atmosphere of tranquility and calm into the hectic life of a great city. ARCHITECTURE AND DESIGN. Objects such as lamps, grills, pots, beds, tables, and others inspired by the Muisca art, have been uniquely designed to bring life to the hotel, and have been mixed with colonial elements carefully restored such as windows, balconies, doors, creating unique spaces who wish to generate interest in our visitors about our culture and history. Briefly, we offer a unique experience of wellness, culture and design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Otel, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Muisca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Muisca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.