We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent seafood & more” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 69 Oyster Bar

69 Oyster Bar
Calle 69a # 5-59, Bogota, Colombia
57-1-2490426
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 1,003 Restaurants in Bogota
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood & more”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I was there with a few employees early last week. It was the start of Semana Santa so business was slow throughout zone G. We were quickly seated with no reservations and Chef Sophia came out to greet us. Se gave us a few recommendations along with the recommendations I got here.

We ordered the following for appetizers:
- Trio carpaccio (salmon, tuna, grouper), excellent
- Octopus carpaccio, avg at best, over 'cooked'
- Oyster shooter, fresh & tasty

Entrees:
- Steak, can't remember which cut but it was for two and tasted excellent
- Jumbo shrimp, perfectly cooked (boiled then grilled) and tasted heavenly

Service was pretty good, kept my vodka tonic flowing. Atmosphere was nice, modern decor, fresh air. It was a slow evening due to the holidays so it wasn't packed. We got a free dessert or two which was nice.

Value wise, the quality of the food & service matched to bill. Given that it was a business trip, no complaints from me. Will definitely come back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    22
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pass Christian, Mississippi
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellence!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

This is one of the best restaurants in Latin America. Last night I had a marvelous gourmet experience. Words simply cannot express how delicious the food was and the service was exceptional keen attention to detail. Never have I had a dish as exquisite as the Frutti de Mare with Black Pasta! I will download a picture. The flavor and the aroma are spell binding! I will be taking a group of lawyers back tonight! Thanks Sofia and Team

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Memorable!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Right on Calle 69 in the heart of Bogotá is this great restaurant called 69 Oyster Bar. An eclectic decor and fantastic waitstaff make what is already a great menu shine, shine, shine. Mostly Italian and Mediterranean dishes are prepared with singular passion by Sofía Gómez who has an innate knowledge of what flavors work well together, what flavors to highlight and how to make a meal as satisfying as any I've ever had. Squid ink fettucine with scallops and lemon zest were OUTSTANDING and the pasta is home made on the premises!! The Bistecca Fiorentina is a dish worthy of King Henry XII, but size does not mean less flavor here...it's an awesome cut of beef with seasonings that are nuanced and delicious. Great care is given by Sofia and her staff to make sure everyone in 69 Oyster Bar has an enjoyable, memorable meal. Don't miss a trip (or two) to this place!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Much more than an oyster bar!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

A truly passionate chef, a team of charming servers and a cozy, unpretentious atmosphere have made this place the favorite hangout of local celebrities, politicos and Bogotano foodies. If you can't get a table in this small restaurant, by all means wait for one; you will be rewarded with some of the best food to be had in South America!
While the fresh oysters are great, the restaurant's name belies a creative menu featuring a wide variety of delectable specialties: from superb pastas to a fantastically massive and flavorful bistecca fiorentina (large enough for two); outstanding desserts, and that rarity in Andean restaurants: fresh fish and seafood delectably prepared. Start out with boquerones and then try the squid ink pasta with baby scallops, a marvel!
The multitalented and multilingual Chef Sofia presides over an open kitchen, charming patrons with her ability to accommodate just about any request, and turning out specials that feature the bounty of the day's market, always prepared in unusually creative fashion.
In short, 69 Oyster Bar is Bogota - and Colombia - at its best!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“fantastic.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

quality and original food. price average for that zone. one of the best i tried in bogotà! i suggest : gravlax ( nordic salmon with a particular sauce) and carpacho de atun were simply perfect.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 69 Oyster Bar also viewed

 
Bogota, Colombia
Bogota, Colombia
 

Been to 69 Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 69 Oyster Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.