We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic meal at excellent prices” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Taperia

La Taperia
Cr 4a No 26d-12 | Macarena, Bogota, Colombia
1-805-3252
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 867 restaurants in Bogota
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic meal at excellent prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I had a truly outstanding meal here during a recent visit to Bogota. The patatas bravas are a tapas standard, but these tasted better than any I'd ever had. Same for the White Sangria, which I usually hate but could not stop drinking here. Other winners included the octopus salad and the eggplant with Spanish cheese. Only the mushroom tapas was average, and even that was fine, just not exceptional. Top it off with great service, excellent prices (really cheap for the quality) and a cool setting--we sat right next to the open kitchen--and I couldn't ask for more. I only wish La Taparia was in my home city, rather than a thousand miles away.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    99
    18
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Best tapas!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I lived in Spain for a few years and this place is like traveling back to one of the hip tapa places in Madrid. We got seated by an authentic spaniard who knew a lot of wines and suggested many delicious things to try. The Serrano ham is amazing, the cheese is to die for, please try the eggplant tapa... its amazing!! The beer menu is one of the best in Bogota. For me, it's the best restaurant in Macarena.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“excellent food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We went for lunch and we had a great experience here. We tried many Tapas, and I would recommend the calamares, the patatas bravas and please please do not miss the datiles covered with bacon and cherry tomatoes!!! I'm still thinking about them! =The jamon serrano and the mini-pizzas were delicious too.
There is not Sangria on the menu, but the staff was so friendly that they made it for us.
Is a great place.
There is nothing special for kids, but the albondigas worked very well for my daughters, and the staff was kid-friendly.
The WC is bizarre... but it doesn't matter, great food!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Really nice food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Just had a few tapas here late in the evening. Really good cooking. Drinks may have been a bit over-priced

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Recommended. Go try it out. Nice dutch touches to the list of beers served, and anjers on the table. Overall, you can just see that this is a well managed business serving great quality food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Taperia also viewed

Bogota, Colombia
Bogota, Colombia
 

Been to La Taperia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Taperia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.