We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More stress than than doing it yourself” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mantaraya Travel - Day Tours and Trips for Colombia

Mantaraya Travel - Day Tours and Trips for Colombia
Carrera 11 B No. 98-08 Of 501, Bogota, Colombia (Chapinero)
1 (877) 354 - 4449
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 86 Activities in Bogota
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Mantaraya Travel is a colombian specialist with custom made tours to over 20 destinations in Colombia. Choose of over 30 sightseeing tours and trips to destinations like Bogota, Cartagena, Medellin or the Colombian Caribbean. We offer the best tours & trips with a highly personal service for your dream vacation in ColombiaIf you book your tour or trip to Colombia with us you can expect:• Consulting and planning with one of our Travel Experts - << Don't miss the best of Colombia!>>• Get a personalized plan - << Get the trip or tour that meet your personal needs!>>• The Mantaraya Booking Specialist - << We do the hassle for you!>>• 24/7-Attention during your trip - << Have problems during your stay? We are there for you, contact us anytime!>>Contact us today and get the best Colombian Experience - Visit our Website for more!
Asheville
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“More stress than than doing it yourself”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

We have been working with Mantarraya Tours and have been very frustrated. We wanted to spend one week in Cartagena, San Andres, and Providencia. They continued to promise an itinerary but it was not until after we told them we were about to cancel the payment with our credit card company (paid in full a month prior) before they provided a less than detailed itinerary. We leave in 48 hours and they have still not provided any confirmation codes or details on transports. They changed our flights, booked a hotel that was in the middle or being remodeled and then changes our hotel (Deep Blue) to a far less superior hotel (El Recreo) without offering a reimbursement.

Last minute they suggested getting a yellow fever vaccination, which is not even necessary for Cartegena or the islands. It would be great to provide accurate and relevant information such as currency and hotel contacts instead.

We thought using a tour company would ease the stress but it has been just the opposite.

My advice:

1) Get confirmation codes BEFORE you send any money.

2) Expect repeated excuses as to why they do not respond to emails or get you the information you request.

3) Check the locations and prices of the hotels and read reviews before you agree to stay there for the price.

4) Consider only using them for internal flights and doing the hotels yourself.

I will be writing a follow-up review for them upon return. I am hoping they can turn this around and provide great service when we arrive.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camih2o, Gerente at Mantaraya Travel - Day Tours and Trips for Colombia, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Hjoyell,

We are sorry that you had a less than perfect experience booking through us. We pride ourselves on offering the best service in Colombia and to hear of your situation has caused us to take a look at how we operate in future.After much investigation we can address the points brought up.

The Deep Blue hotel is by far the best hotel on the island and was supposed to reopen at the start of May. We were informed that the renovations were delayed by 2 weeks and then a further 2 weeks. Since it was a special occasion we had hoped to provide the most exquisite hotel for yourselves as we explained as a result waited to the very last minute in order to provide this. When this was not an option we went with the all inclusive Decameron resorts. Decameron informed us that this was the best of their three properties on the island and the one they recommended. We did a search here on tripadvisor and it was given 4 out 5 so perhaps it was presumptuous but we assumed that it would be of a good standard.

When we found out this was not the situation we were quite surprised to be honest.

All of our bookings are booked directly with the providers under our name and the clients name and therefore we do not normally have requests to provide individual hotel confirmation numbers. It was because of the delay with the renovations and the fact that we normally do not provide the confirmation numbers that you were late receiving those details.

As you saw from the document sent to yourselves it is quite extensive on covering what you should pack, bring and expect. The yellow fever vaccination is something we recommend to all clients travelling. While there is no major risk some clients prefer to have that peace of mind. I have also spoken to the travel advisor and he assures me that he spoke to yourselves about the currency, tipping practices and other practical information.

With regards to your stay, we were happy to hear that everything exceeded your expectations apart from the Providencia experience. We are working closely with yourselves in order to maximise the refund you will receive and I would like to extend an invitation back to Colombia so we can prove that this was just a once off blip. With Colombia so diverse we like to show yourselves more than just the Caribbean Coastline.

Thank you very much for the feedback, it is appreciated and will take everything on board and learn from this in order to remain the best provider here in Colombia.

Warm regards,
Camilo Gomez
CEO of Mantaraya Travel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    5
    1
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manhasset, NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Mantaraya planned a great trip for us. Well balanced between scenic vistas and recreation and good sights. One of the highlights was seeing condors at close range in Park Purace. The market at Silvia was great--we were sorry we did not buy more indigenous peoples handicrafts.
Cartagena, Medellin and Santa Marta were all beautiful. We stayed in great, centrally located boutique type hotels that were lovely. As New York beach people we were a little disappointed in Rosario. The Santa Marta beach was spectacular!.
We were initially somewhat concerned about safety issues but our fears were quickly dispelled by the number of police and militia. Streets were well lit and safe and at no time did we feel threatened.
All our contacts with Colombian people were wonderful.. Even though out spanish was rudimentary everyone tried their best to be helpful and were always charming!
A great country and a great tour company!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckenham, Kent
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“MANTARAYA - fully recommend them”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Mantaraya travel arranged for me a tailor-made 2 week trip to Colombia visiting different parts of the country. Everything ran smoothly (save one occasion on arrival at Manizales) and I would fully recommend using Mantaraya to assist you in travelling around Colombia and arranging guides, accomodation and internal flights. Various options and itineraries were initially proposed when it came to arranging the holiday, so I found that very helpful of Mantaraya.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karnak2003
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Probably fine, if everything goes as planned, otherwise....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

Starting out our agent seemed informed and knowledgeable. However, prior to the trip we needed to make a significant change in our customized itinerary. While we were told it would not be a problem, our agent always seemed to be away or sick. During the later planning, we often we got vague, incomplete or delayed answers.. Moreover, the story often changed. We paid a tidy sum for our hotel in Cartagena ( we were told we needed a suite), but upon arrival the hotel advised that the agency only reserved a double. As a result of a number of issues e were owed a substantial refund, but after spending weeks negotiating and having to get aggressive, we finally just recently got most of what was owed
.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camih2o, Gerente at Mantaraya Travel - Day Tours and Trips for Colombia, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
Sarah, thanks for your message.
We are sorry to hear of your less than positive response. We pride ourselves in having great customer service and while the agent had to travel abroad for a number of days prior to the trip this was unavoidable unfortunately. We like to empower all our staff to go out of their way to help clients and simple things such as meeting clients such as yourselves at the airport late on Christmas eve show we are committed to giving the best experience we can, when we can.

We do apologize for the mix up with the room in Cartagena. This was a clerical error on our behalf and we have implemented a new operations system so that this will never occur again.

The reason the refund took longer than expected was because the agent tried to help out as best he could and instead of offering a refund directly which is normal policy he went out of his way to try and pay for your stay at the property booked independently. If we had issued the refund like policy dictates there would have been no delays from us. Unfortunately there were issues with the bill firstly being less than the actual amount required and secondly being directed towards yourself as opposed to the company which we believe you were aware of.

We are sorry about the issues that arose but would like to extend an invitation to return to Colombia with us on your next family vacation. With such an opportunity to show you that these issues were just a once off we assure you will have a truly spectacular time here.Best regards
Camilo Gomez
CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sun prairie
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“fantastic colombia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Alexandra with mantaraya travel did a great job on our ten day trip. Excellent arrangements including,B&B's,tours,internal flights,transfers.Trip had culture,relaxation, and adventure (somos adventures).would use them again.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mantaraya Travel - Day Tours and Trips for Colombia also viewed

 
Valle del Cauca Department, Colombia
 

Been to Mantaraya Travel - Day Tours and Trips for Colombia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantaraya Travel - Day Tours and Trips for Colombia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.