We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Bogota

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Bogota to your Saves list
Hilton Bogota
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Carrera 7 # 72 - 41, Bogota, Colombia   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Rates from $99
Ranked #22 of 237 Hotels in Bogota
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The HIlton here in Bogotá simply doesn't cut it. You get a comfortable room, but nothing fits the luxurious experience the hotel's name sets you up to have. There is a very nice heated pool and a great gym, but besides that everything is just mediocre.

My biggest qualms with the hotel were the AWFUL room service (the pizza was disgusting, the french fries as well) and the WiFi charge. The explanation we were given was that marketing research points out that peer hotels charge for WiFi. It is beyond me how this logically leads to the Hilton also charging for internet, specifically because I would expect a hotel to want to outdo its competitors, not conform to their services. Anyways, that is pretty false, considering that I stayed at other locations that were not only more comfortable than the Hilton but also had better service and food with free WiFi for a better price.

I also felt that the prices for the generic minibar were astronomical. I expect to pay more in a hotel, but out of principle I refrain from paying the equivalent of almost ten dollars for a bottle of water.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klaus Z, General Manager at Hilton Bogota, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Guest

We thank you for letting us know your experience in our hotel and for your feedback; all comments will be considered and we will immediately take corrective actions. Also we want to invite you, to future opportunities ask to our reservation agents for rates with breakfast and internet.

Thank you very much and hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Klaus Ziller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    98
    12
    11
    2
See reviews for
23
59
23
142
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Joao Pessoa
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I´ve stayed two nights in two different weekends last month. On the first night I got a bigger room with separated office in the "Executive floor" and on the second night I got one of the smaller rooms. The size does make a difference but the bed and all other items are the same, room was very quiet and shower was great.

I´m a Hilton Honnors gold member so I got free internet and free breakfast at the executive lounge. The lounge is located on the 2nd floor and also offers a happy hour. The food selection on the happy hour was great, with lot of options, probably the best lounge I´ve seen with Hilton.

Colombia charges IVA tax of 16% on hotels, but if you are a foreigner living abroad and have a P5 stamp on the passport you don´t have to pay. There is a 3rd clause to the law, saying that you have to book a package from the hotel, and Hilton Bogota does emphasize that a lot. In the end I had to pay the tax (Hilton Cartagena didnt charge the IVA). So if you don´t want to pay the 16% be sure to book room+breakfast at the Hotel (even if that does not make sense as you are a Hilton Gold/Platinum and get free breakfast at the lounge).

The rules of this "package" are not very clear, so please make sure Hilton Bogota clarifies that before you book the room. Rooms are very cheap during weekends,

There is also a gym and a pool at the hotel but i didn´t check them. Location is great, 2 blocks away from great restaurants (Zona G).

Room Tip: higher floor, try rooms on the left site of the building as they tend to be bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klaus Z, General Manager at Hilton Bogota, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Guest

Many thanks for share your experience on Hilton Bogotá; we can see that you really know the brand and our Hotel, and your information will be useful for futures guests.

We hope that on your next stay you can do use of pool and allow us to assist you as HHonors Gold that you are.

Best Regards,

Klaus Ziller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballston
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

My sponsors negotiated a package rate for its employees that includes breakfast, internet, and executive lounge access, so I was generally a happy traveler. The room was clean, spacious, well lit, and had the best laid-out bathroom that I have encountered in many years, with a vanity counter the size of a football pitch. (See a slightly earlier review, which gave a very accurate description in some detail.) Ditto for the desk -- plenty of surface, well laid out power points, good lighting.

My one downer with the hotel was the breakfast. The buffet line-up was generally good, but there was bacon on the buffet only one morning of the three that I dined there and there is no egg station, just tepid buffet scrambled eggs, next to tepid buffet French toast. You could make your own [hot] waffles. If it is possible to order eggs from the kitchen, no one ever volunteered that and there was no menu presented or a card on the table. Coffee was hard to come by and a bit weak.

The executive lounge is in the top percentiles -- very good small dishes, nice wine and beer choices, and friendly staff throughout the day.

My TV was broken when I checked into my room, though they did get it fixed in reasonably short order. Operating it was a bit of a challenge for this ol' fogey and I needed instruction from the fixer guy. The TV channel line-up included BBC World News.

The one liter bottle of water in room at check-in is not complimentary but may be had for $11.00. Really! I took a walk and found a little grocery store and bought what I needed for less than one U.S. dollar per bottle.

I was surprized at the very confusing laundry form -- shirts are under the dry cleaning category. At any rate, I gave it a try and the shirts were actually laundered. Total cost for a man's shirt, sox, and skivvies was about US$14, not bad for a multi-star hotel.

I do not ordinarily comment of the staff at a hotel unless they are completely incompetent -- I am quite independent and generally want to be left alone. But at this hotel I have to give the highest marks to the second shift concierge, who was extraordinarily helpful and competent. Her English is close to colloquial and she managed complex tasks (with many points of potential failure) perfectly.

The hotel is a five minute walk from the gourmet restaurant zone -- take advantage of that. We enjoyed Casa Bizarra.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klaus Z, General Manager at Hilton Bogota, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Guest

We want to thank you for sharing your opinion about Hilton Bogotá.
For us the comments and the point of view of our guests are really important; always are taken in consideration because they help us to working looking for the excellence.

We are glad to hear that your room and bathroom exceeded your expectations; that our staff accomplished our promise value: offer an innovative and friendly service.

Regarding the breakfast buffet, we will to share your opinion with the executive chef and F&B Manager, to take the corrective actions.

Again, thank you very much for your feedback and choose Hilton Bogotá.

We hope to welcome you back in a near future.

Warm Regards,
Klaus Ziller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It is sad when you are staying at a hotel, expensive as this one and you have to pay for internet, and when you call they tell you to go to the lobby, is free there. Can some explain to me why if you are paying for a room a lot of money you can not get internet for free, but if you are just visiting, the internet is FREE, I really do not understand this and I would appreciate if some at Hilton can explain please.
Rooms are ok

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klaus Z, General Manager at Hilton Bogota, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion about Hilton Bogotá. It was a pleasure to have you in our Hotel.

We would like to invite you for the next bookings, ask our agents of reservations about the rate with breakfast and internet included.

Always you welcome to this your home.

Sincerely,
Klaus Ziller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I traveled to Bogota Columbia on business to assist one of our Locations to prepare for an upcoming audit. During this visit, I stayed at the Hilton Bogota Hotel and was very satisfied with the accommodations and security at this full service hotel. The hotel is centrally located in the downtown area, with several restaurants / Pubs available for the choosing within walking distance of the hotel. I would definitely recommend you to experience this hotel during your visit to Bogota.

Room Tip: The room I stayed in at the hotel was facing the main street. it was relatively quite and very comfo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klaus Z, General Manager at Hilton Bogota, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Guest

It was a pleasure to have you in our Hotel; We are glad to know that we exceeded our expectations and to know that you will be comeback.

We hope to welcome you very soon.

Warm Regards,
Klaus Ziller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the Bogota Hilton on Septima for one night. This was our first stay. Great location, easy access to Ciclovia on a Sunday. This really is more of a business hotel, not a romantic getaway place. We couldn't help but compare the Hilton to the JW Marriott, which is right around the corner, and an incredible place to stay. The Hilton had no tub, and no separate toilet, but a nice shower. Bed was ok. We stayed on the Executive Level (floor 13). The Executive Lounge was so-so. The Happy Hour (as we were told) is from 5-8pm. We showed up at 7:10pm and found out that the food goes away at 7pm. What? We rushed and grabbed a few things before they were taken out (cold cuts and some bland pastries). The wine was good and the beer was fine.There was ever only one person working in there, except at the end of our breakfast, a second person showed up to help. With only on person at breakfast, he was frantically rushing around trying to clear dishes, get food, make coffee etc. The dirty dishes are not behind a screen or anything - yuck. The breakfast was minimal and cold, and the coffee was so-so (big no-no for Colombia). The server wasn't very pleasant and never even asked if to refill my coffee. The lobby is small, but the footprint of the Hilton is much smaller than that of the JW, so no biggie. We would have loved to have had breakfast in the main dining room rather than that Executive Lounge - which wasn't very executive after all. The Executive Lounge at the JW has the exact same breakfast as the main dining room, but on a smaller scale. There is no way that the Executive Lounge at the Hilton was the same. Watery, cold eggs, watery cold hollandaise sauce, only two types of bread to toast (brown and white - no artisan), and undercooked bacon. No soups, hash browns, various breads/bagels, and two unhealthy cereals (except for the granola with warm yogurt in a cup). With cold food, constantly out of things, and no enough servers, it was very subpar. We will not be returning to the Bogota Hilton. Oh - and don't drink the water in the room unless it specifically says complimentary. Otherwise you will pay $25mil (approx $12-13).

Room Tip: Don't bother with the Executive Level. Waste of money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klaus Z, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Bogota, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for sharing your experience on Hilton Bogota; we want to apologize because we didn't exceeded their expectations, and we want to tell you that all your comments and observations, are important and we will work in them.

Thanks again for your feedback.

Best Regards
Klaus Ziller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the Hilton Bogota a few days before Christmas. The location is good, it is mainly a business hotel, so rooms cater to this type of visitors. Located in a business district. Very nice bathroom, but the setup with the closet door, it is not practical. We travel from the US so at checking time we had a few hiccups with our reservation and charges for taxes. The staff tried to solve the problem, but they could not agreed to how to handle the situation among themselves, so it took a long time to get our rooms. They have internet but is not free. We found the restaurant a bit overpriced. There are plenty of good restaurants in the neighborhood, and with reasonable prices. The gym and pool are great. The taxi service provided by hotel is excellent, very professional and friendly. Good value for your money

Room Tip: Nice restaurants in the neighborhood
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klaus Z, General Manager at Hilton Bogota, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for take the time to share your opinion about Hilton Bogotá; we are glad to know that you had a good experience during your stay and hope to see you in a near future in this your home.

Warm Regards

Klaus Ziller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Bogota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Bogota

Address: Carrera 7 # 72 - 41, Bogota, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bogota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Bogota
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bogota
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bogota
#21 Business Hotel in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Bogota 4.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Bogotá is ideally located in the heart of Colombia's largest city and within walking distance from the vibrant dining and entertaining areas, the financial district - including shopping malls, theatres, museums and conveniently located just 25 minutes from El Dorado International - the city's only airport. This modern hotel features excellent facilities that are ideal for leisure and business guest alike; including a restaurant with direct street access, a sophisticated bar overlooking the pool, state-of-the-art fitness center, swimming pool and underground parking. What's more, this hotel is an ideal choice venue for meetings and groups, with close 10,000 sq. ft. of meeting space including 8 meeting rooms varying in size up to 1,100 sq. ft. and a main ballroom with 5,000 sq. ft. There is wireless internet access throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Bogota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Bogota Hotel Bogota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Bogota, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.