We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool hotel, nice rooms...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Hotel Bogota

Save Saved
You added Sonesta Hotel Bogota to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sonesta Hotel Bogota
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carrera 15A # 125-26, Bogota, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 229 hotels in Bogota
brazil
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Cool hotel, nice rooms...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

Definitely a nice hotel with a cool ambience. I was not able to explore the surroundings as I was there for only an evening. But, it is kind of far from the center of Bogotá

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServicesMG, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Hotel Bogota, responded to this review, September 1, 2011
Dear Sr.

Thank you for choosing SONESTA HOTEL BOGOTA, it was a great pleasure to have you as our guest and thank you for your comments. Your feedback is very important for us; because this is the best way to realize our strengths and work on the continuous improvement of our beautiful property.

Thank you again for your comments and we are looking forward to your next visit to our cosmopolitan City.

Best regards,

Alexander Caicedo
Guest Services Manager
SONESTA HOTEL BOGOTA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    153
    62
    12
    5
    3
See reviews for
27
56
22
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

A nice modern hotel with lots of potential.

It is a clean, cozy and very well equipped property. High speed wireless Internet connection (free of charge) in the room works very well. The work area is large and confortable as is the bed. The toilet and its amenities are very nice.

Breakfast is generous and with a variety of choices.

Overall a very nice experience at a very competitive price. I think you get more than what you pay for, and that is not the rule in that many places nowadays (unfortunately)

I was only in this hotel for one night and did not have the chance to explore the area however the property itself was very nice.

I strongly recommend anyone travelling to Bogota to stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: Just ask for it! If they can they will do it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServicesMG, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Hotel Bogota, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
Dear Sir,
Thank you for choosing SONESTA HOTEL BOGOTA, it was a great pleasure to have you as our guest and thank you for your comments. Your feedback is very important for us; because this is the best way to realize our strengths and work on the continuous improvement of our beautiful property.

Thank you again for your comments and we are looking forward to your next visit to our cosmopolitan City.

Best regards,

Alexander Caicedo
Guest Services Manager
SONESTA HOTEL BOGOTA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

Hotel Sonesta in Bogota has so much potential! I was there in May 2011 and it's only been open for 3 months. Parts of the hotel are still under construction, although most of it is functional and gorgeous. The new and modern amenities are impressive and have a great eco-feel with the vertical garden in the lobby and other parts of the hotel. The beds and pillows are uber comfortable and the shower is amazing. I could go on and on about the overhead shower with the just right amount of water spewing down. The black out shades are also awesome! Seemed most of the room also came with an iPod stereo, which charged my iPhone 4 just perfectly. Did I mention the breakfast buffet that's included with the stay? It's a good mixture of local and western breakfast foods, including seasonal fruits and pastries. Yum yum. I also loved that the turn down service included little cookies! Btw, the hotel has a great English speaking staff who are very friendly and willing to help. We were there for our friends' wedding and when inquired about hair and nail salons, they offered up several recommendations. And even found us a hair stylist who came to the hotel to do a few up-dos. It's not cheap but great option for those who don't want to hassle with finding the location (they're not far) or if your Spanish isn't up to par…

I'm sure once the construction is done, the weekday 8am hammering will stop and will be peaceful for the guests. The walls are a bit thin but that's not uncommon in some of these international hotels. I heard that the spa and gym will be open mid June so future guests in a few weeks will be able to enjoy them… And thankfully, no hammering or sawing on weekends! (I do have to disclose that our friends who stayed next door did have a shower that flooded due to the clogged drain but they were promptly moved to another suite.)

Oh we were ushered into a double bed suite, although I had requested a king suite. When I mentioned the error, our "bell boy" called down to the front desk and once verified moved us promptly to a king bed suite. And he ran down to get the keys for us. Loved how helpful they were.

As for the surrounding areas, there is the huge Unicentro Mall, which has impressive amount of stores. Heard it's the 2nd largest mall in Bogota and it also as an Exito (a Target like mega super store) with groceries, clothes and other household things for purchase. It's definitely convenient to spend some down time there. And there's also couple of dozen food vendors at the food court on the 3rd floor. Oh there's also a pub/sports bar/restaurant attached to the restaurant, which was very convenient. Although, the other side of the hotel is also attached to a little mall with a jewelry store, a med spa and McDonalds.

Overall, the grand opening special of $90 US per night deal was absolutely fabulous and really enjoyed our first time in Bogota. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServicesMG, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Hotel Bogota, responded to this review, June 10, 2011
Dear Madame,
Thank you for choosing SONESTA HOTEL BOGOTA, it was a great pleasure to have you as our guest and thank you for such an amazing review!!! Your feedback is very important for us; because this is the best way to realize our strengths and work on the continuous improvement of our beautiful property. Thank you again for your comments and we are looking forward to your next visit to our cosmopolitan City.

Best regards,

Alexander Caicedo
Guest Services Manager
SONESTA HOTEL BOGOTA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

I had the opportunity to stay for 3 nights at the new Sonesta Hotel in Bogota. It was really a fun and chic experience. The check-in counter shares a counter top with the lobby's bar, and the bartender makes you complementary magarita on check-in. The lobby is modern and spacious, with thousands of plants growing out of two of the walls, which creates a rainforest feel. The rooms are spacious enough and very modern. Window shades are operated via a remote, and the bathroom has a rainforest-like shower.

The staff is efficient and friendly. Lots of smiles and very quick room service. The restaurant is sufficient, though not overly-elaborate. The hotel is in a multi-purpose building, and there are a couple other restaurants in the building on the ground floor.

The neighborhood is safe, and there's a nice indoor mall across the street.

Overall it was a great experience. It was my first time in Bogota and feel like I picked the right hotel. I'll certainly stay there again if my life brings me back to Bogota.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServicesMG, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Hotel Bogota, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for choosing SONESTA HOTEL BOGOTA, it was a great pleasure to have you as our guest and thank you for your comments. Your feedback is very important for us; because this is the best way to realize our strengths and work on the continuous improvement of our beautiful property.

Thank you again for your comments and we are looking forward to your next visit to our cosmopolitan City.

Best regards,

Alexander Caicedo
Guest Services Manager
SONESTA HOTEL BOGOTA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonesta Hotel Bogota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Hotel Bogota

Address: Carrera 15A # 125-26, Bogota, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bogota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 229 hotels in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Hotel Bogota 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sonesta Hotel Bogota is located in the corner of 127 and 15. Fun, modern and sophisticated, the new Sonesta Hotel Bogotá offers the best location and exclusive suites that give comfort and leisure to business travelers.126 rooms offering oversized soundproofed windows and natural light, writing desk, 40" LED cable television, in-room electronic safe, hairdryer, complimentary high speed Internet access, iron and ironing board, clock radio and audio system for iPhone & iPod, minibar, direct-dial telephone with voice mail, innovative guest room lighting, motorized blackout shades and first class amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Sonesta Hotel Bogota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Hotel Bogota, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.