We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWFUL. AWFUL. AWFUL.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Jazz Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Jazz Apartments to your Saves list
Jazz Apartments
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 87 15-35, Bogota, Colombia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$120 (USD)
Ranked #57 of 236 Hotels in Bogota
Burnaby
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“AWFUL. AWFUL. AWFUL.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Location was very important to us so after much research chose to book the Jazz Apartments for our anniversary weekend in Bogota based on the great reviews and location. On our way to the airport I received an email from Javier at Jazz Apartments claiming there was a problem with our room so we would be moved to their sister hotel (Artes Suites 104) but not to worry as the pre-arranged airport pick-up would still be honoured and as well we would be comp'd a ride to Andres that night. Upon arrival dazed and exhausted their was no one to pick us up, we waited and waited. We finally ended up taking a taxi to the Jazz as we had no idea where their sister hotel was ($35 cab ride). When we arrived they said they had no room for us, never really explained why. We told them our arranged pick up never came, they could not care less and ignored us. We sent an email to the manager Javier about this, and he never responded, odd bc before we arrived and paid he responded promptly. The sister hotel was in a very poor location and not where we wanted to be. We constantly had to take their drivers to the locations we thought were close by. We were charged different prices by all of them to go to the same location. Things like asking for a map were never honored. WE never did get our ride to Andres. The room was nice, the staff was okay, but we were soured. Would not recommend, the manager does not care, and they seem to bait and switch their customers and make false promises. It appears from the last reviews this hotel is going downhill fast. I would not recommend.
I

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JAZZAPARTMENTS, Gerente at Jazz Apartments, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Google Translation
Apreciado Sr. Someney

Gracias por el tiempo que se tomo para escribir sobre nosotros.

Antes que nada le presento mis mas sinceras disculpas por las molestias que causamos en su fecha especial de aniversario y su viaje a Bogota; hemos revisado nuestros procedimientos para ser mas precisos y evitar estas situaciones. En cuanto a lo sucedido no podria cambiar las cosas, pero nos gustaria tener la oportunidad de tenerlo hospedado con nosotros para que usted pueda comprobar el servicio y la hospitalidad que nuestro hotel brinda.

Cordialmente;

Mayerly Briceño
Gerente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    21
    5
    2
    6
See reviews for
13
28
9
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We spent 4 days in August at jazz apartments in the Ray Charles room which had 2 big double beds and a kitchenette with a separate bathroom and a balcony overlooking the park Virrey park. The room was clean and comfortable. The hotel staff were very friendly and we pre-booked a taxi with the hotel to pick us up at the airport. The breakfast is delicious with lots of choice and delicious range of fruit juices. The location is excellent with great restaurants and shops nearby. A great place to stay for business or pleasure!

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Our daughter,who lives in the city has reserved us an apartment at this location for three weeks.It was a very good decision!!
We enjoyed our stay in an apartment viewing the park (Parque de Virrey) on the 5th floor,spacious,clean and with all the amenities needed for a prolonged stay.The breakfast was excellent,the service and the attitude of all the personnel - the same.
And last but not least: the LOCATION!!!!!
I will certainly return to this hotel.
Tip for the light sleepers : ask for the higher floors.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I had booked to stay at Jazz Apartments for 3 days. Upon arrival, late at night, I was told my reservation could not be honored because other guests needed to stay and was transferred to a sister hotel. The reservation was made months in advance and was nonrefundable. It was frustrating to arrive at 11pm and not have a room. There was no prior notification that the room would be occupied. The other guests could have been transferred to the other hotel during the daytime rather than transferring us in the middle of the night after a long day of traveling. We had thoughtfully selected Jazz Apartments as it is safely and conveniently located; the sister hotel was in a different neighborhood and made us feel unsafe.

I can not speak to the quality of the hotel as I chose to stay at another hotel entirely.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JAZZAPARTMENTS, Gerente at Jazz Apartments, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Google Translation
Estimada huesped sabemos y somos conscientes del malestar que causamos, lamentablemente no se cumplieron las politicas de reservas establecidas; y esto causo este suceso, aunque esto no tienen mas explicación lo único que queremos decirle es que lo sentimos y trabajamos para que esto no se repita.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

It was a great place! Staff is very friendly and happy to help you anytime, breakfast is included and offers lots of delicious variety! The rooms are big with a small kitchen included (microwave, fridge, sink), great for spending a couple of days with friends around the city. As rooms have two queen size beds, it can fit 4 people perfectly which budget wise is a great option. The location is also very good! Walking distance from la Zona T (bars, restaurants, mall)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is an outstanding place to stay for the money. For a little over $100/day you get a wonderfully breakfast, a nicely appointed and extremely clean suite fully equipped with a kitchenette and utensils, and a central, safe location. It has a very helpful and friendly staff that arranges everything from ground transportation to tips on EVERYTHING to see and do while visiting Bogota for business or pleasure. There's a park directly across from the hotel filled with joggers and bicyclists, and a police station. There is also a Juan Valdez Cafe (Colombia's version of Starbuck's) very nearby. I have stayed in many places and this is one of the best ones for value received. Highly recommended for those who do not wish to stay in an impersonal big hotel with little to no amenities.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the park across the street from the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay at Jazz Apartments. The location is great, right in front of the park, nice for the kids and for an early morning jog.
Very nice breakfast, excellent service and excellent room. We are traveling with two young children so one room with two double beds can fit us comfortably.

Will return here for sure when in Bogota.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jazz Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jazz Apartments

Address: Calle 87 15-35, Bogota, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bogota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 236 Hotels in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jazz Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleek, modern and oh-so-unique, the Jazz Apartments is a reward for executive and holiday guests seeking a different sort of travel experience in Bogota, Colombia. Jazz Apartments offers a casual and intimate alternative to the more impersonal, chain-style Bogota hotels. A special place where you can return again and again to make Bogota yours, with a gracious, welcoming staff eager to help you enjoy the city - whether you’re touring downtown sights and attractions, relaxing with a glass of wine in your apartment-style suite or meeting friends for cocktails in our fashionable restaurant and bar. Overlooking the lush greenery and meandering paths of Virrey Park, minutes from the Zone T and 93 Park entertainment districts, Jazz Apartments welcomes you to explore Bogota at your own pace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Jazz Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jazz Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.