We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in the city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Evenia The Book Hotel

Evenia The Book Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Evenia The Book Hotel to your Saves list
Evenia The Book Hotel
3.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Carrera 5 57 79, Bogota, Colombia (Formerly Hotel Boutique Alma)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 236 Hotels in Bogota
Wimberley, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Older place in Chapinero. It was a nice stay, the bathroom and beds were great, wifi worked, breakfast was included and a good location to start your walking adventure of Bogotá. I'd totally stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    33
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
11
46
31
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

The hotel and our room was worn, old, in need of refurbishment.
Many things just needed a handy man to go round and fix but management are letting it fall apart like our towel rail hanging off the wall, light switch also pulled from wall, bathroom door needs to be trimmed as we couldnt shut the door as it would scrape the floor tiles and then would be very difficult to open again. Meant you had little privacy going to the toilet especially at night when you dont want to wake up your partner.
Also there was no daily vacuuming of the communal area which wasnt very nice.
Breakfast was very good, typical Colombian, fruit, arepa, eggs to order.
The area is safe with some restaurants, shops, supermarkets close by.
Staff were friendly at this hotel. Just unfortunate that its being neglected.
We paid similar price at another hotel of comparable location and that was in a good state and being looked after. Maybe if management invested a bit in having simple things fixed, cleaned then we would consider staying here again. But in its present state we would find somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico DF
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

The house is charming and the personnel was always very kind and helpful.
Breakfast is of excellent quality –the arepas are really good–, but it can be monotonous after a few days.
The room (202) was very cosy, tidy, and full of light, the bed being very large and comfortable. The isolation of the windows is nevertheless quite poor, and the room can be a bit chilly at night –at least it's a quiet street and the noise is minimal–. Some details (bedside lamps, shower curtain) were worn and should be replaced or fixed.
Just one thing: don't walk alone around the area at night! If you want to go outside at night use always the taxi service, which can be inexpensively booked at the hotel's reception. There are several drunken beggars in the park behind and on Carrera 7 and one of them attacked me towards midnight just a block away from the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Great hotel. Lovely food and staff. Would recommend this place. Beautiful country. The rooms are spacious and airy. Great sir con system too. The monitors are to die for. Cocktail hour is perfect here

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We chose the book Hotel because of good review in the Tripadvisor. We were not disappointed. Reasonably sized rooms, with hot water, good sized TV, and excellent breakfast. The staff were unfailingly helpful. No AC in the room, but it was not needed as even in June, it was not too hot at night. The only things to be aware of is that the Hotel is a fair distance from the old city in El Candelaria. However the Hotel is only 50m from Carrera 7, with many minibuses going into the center ($1.50) or Taxis for about $5. It is also 500m from the Transmilenio station at Calle 57. This takes you up to Portal del Nort - the place to catch buses out to the Salt Cathedral, and the lagoon at Guatavita. And it is fairly noisy - Bogota is a bustling city of up to 10million people, so it is noisy. Take ear plugs.

Room Tip: Rooms on the East have lovely sun in the AM, but a lilltle bit of noise in the evening from the bask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Not usually one to write a review, however having stayed in the Book Hotel for just shy of two weeks and had great service there everyday from a very friendly staff I felt It was very appropriate . A very lovely, cosy and smart hotel in the very nice Chapineros area, close to some great places in Bogota, lovely restaurants and bars are in a very close proximity. Each member of the staff tried their hardest to speak good English and solved any problem or requirement I had. The rooms were nice (very comfy beds) and large bathrooms. Free Wifi across the whole hotel with a nice breakfast in the morning as well, I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Chapineros or indeed Bogota.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

I decided that on this trip to Bogota I wanted to stay in Chapineros, a nice part of Bogota, but not so nice so that one is removed from the flavor and action of the city. Our company uses an agency that are experts in hotels in Bogota, and per my criteria they selected The Book Hotel.

I've been here a week, and I just feel really at home. It's located in a residential neihborhood 2 and 3 blocks away from a couple main avenues that are full of shops and people. 1 block away towards 7th ave. is a sandwhich shop that makes delicious and authentic sandwhiches uses cured meats imported from Spain. My room, 202, is very unique- It has a loft feel, and I have the most giagantic bed I've ever slept in, and there's a nice tv in front of the bed that is flush with the wall.


There is no breakfast buffet. You sit down in the dining area and they bring you coffee and toast, fruit, juice, and eggs as relaxing music plays in the background. This is where I will be staying when I come back to Bogota.

PS- If you happn to be here over the weekend, on Sundays they shut down 7th avenue, a major avenue, and many people in Bogota jog, walk, bike, or rollerblade down it, and vendors serve fresh squeeze orange juice, $1 per gicantic cup. And if you enjoy good coffee, here's a tip: The best coffee in Bogot is served at "Juan Valdez: Origenes". This is a brand new shop that is several tiers above a normal Juan Valdez, and it's located about a 15-20 walk from The Book Hotel, at Cra. 6 + Calle 70 (you will be on Cra. 5 Calle 57). When you are there sit at the coffee bar and ask the barista to make you a cup of coffee using "granos micro lote (Mee-crow-low-tay" - this means that they will make your cup using beans that all come from the same farm, and are of supremely high quality. If you don't ask they will make it with beans from a region, which means that it will be beans combined from several hundred farms. There is a taste difference. And also ask them to use the siphon- it's the one that looks like laboratory equipment, and it's quite a show.

Room Tip: Mine was 202, which I enjoyed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Evenia The Book Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evenia The Book Hotel

Address: Carrera 5 57 79, Bogota, Colombia (Formerly Hotel Boutique Alma)
Location: Colombia > Bogota
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 236 Hotels in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Evenia The Book Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Evenia The Book Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Evenia The Book Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.