We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I can't wait to return!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Book Hotel

The Book Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Book Hotel to your Saves list
The Book Hotel
3.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Carrera 5 # 57-79, Bogota, Colombia (Formerly Hotel Boutique Alma)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 236 Hotels in Bogota
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“I can't wait to return!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I am anxiously counting the days until my return trip to Colombia and my stay at the Boutique Alma. I was there a few months ago and was very impressed with the hotel again, as has always been the case. The hotel is located on a quiet street (for Bogota) in a beautiful and historic building. Each room is unique which makes each visit a new experience.

The hotel staff has always been extremely pleasant and helpful. What impresses me most is probably the fact that the owner, Senor Inaki, takes the time to greet me and talk with me. Bogota's shear size combined with my sub par Spanish can be intimidating, but Senor Inaki and his staff go out of the way to put me at ease and provide excellent advice on maneuvering through the city.

My rooms have always been extremely clean and I enjoy the food a great deal. The pricing has always struck me as a great value.

I'm looking forward to my return!

Room Tip: The rooms in the top of the hotel are my favorite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    34
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
12
46
31
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Really nice experience. From the lobby to the rooms you feel just like walking into your best friend's huge home!! Nice and absolutely clean and clear room!! The manager and his staff quite cool! Very nice and respectful. The food was just very local: simple but good. The lunch time I had with a partner turno out to be just a family one looking.
The place is well located. Close to the financial area of 'calle 72' and despite the bumper to bumper traffic nearby the hotel, I found easy and secure to walk the areas close to the hotel. I sure will come back to this placed in a new opportunity.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

Warm employees, great service. Close to carrera 7. Easy acces to everything. Taxis. Also you can use their choufer. Great experience. Ill recomend it. Tremendo calido personal. Te asesoran en todo. Muy buen trato. Claro q regreso.
Habitaciones comodas. Limpio. Buen desayuno. Feels like home.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bornheim, Germany
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

I only spent two days in Bogota and I'm happy to have found this boutique hotel. The room was spacious, the staff very helpful (though not all of them spoke English, that's something you have to expect, at least at the reception and in service areas). The room I had ("Junior Suite Elegant") was quite spacious and absolutely nice furbished. The bath was ok. Just the carpet showed some stains, that's something they should have taken care of. It's location wasn't anything to call central but then taxis in Bogota aren't too expensice and it prooved to be a quiet area. I can recommend it and the breakfast was made to order.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

Again, it is dificult to find a good pet freindly hotel. Hotel Alma is a small hotel with charm, great bathrooms where my pets and me felt welcomed in a place that felt like home. Good proce value hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

We stayed here 3 nights at the end of a long trip throughout Colombia (having stayed in Candelaria at the beginning of our trip). We had one of the rooms (new?) that faces the small courtyard on the first floor. This was a slight downside as we had some noise late one night when neighboring guests were talking loudly outside and coming up and down the outside stairway. For this reason, inside higher floor rooms may be a better choice. But it really didn't deter our enjoyment of our stay. The room was newly decorated. Bed was wonderful. Shower in new bath was fabulous - best on our trip. It was cool in the room, but not a problem once we were under the cozy comforter - and a space heater was provided. Wi fi was great. Included breakfast was nice and served quickly. We also ate two simple dinners here. It's not a big dinner operation - you order what chef is cooking that night. But we had nicely prepared reasonably priced dinners both nights (we got lazy) - fresh nicely cooked fish, nice veggies. The dining area has both indoor and outdoor options. Desk and bar staff were young and enthusiastic - some English spoken as well. We liked the neighborhood. Quiet and convenient. While there are not many restaurants in the immediate area - there are many about 10 blocks away on 69th to 72 or so. We walked that distance in the early eve and felt perfectly comfortable. Plenty of people out and about.
Would obviously be a very easy cab ride. Hotel arranged airport transport for us at a reasonable price as well. All worked out perfectly. Nice lobby, interesting art!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

I stayed at the hotel for 5 nights in September and it was a fantastic experience. It was reasonable priced, the hotel was very clean, there was modern art in the lobby and the staff was helpful and friendly. The hotel is located in a nice area and is an incredible value! Would recommend it and will stay there again if I return to Bogota!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Book Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Book Hotel

Address: Carrera 5 # 57-79, Bogota, Colombia (Formerly Hotel Boutique Alma)
Location: Colombia > Bogota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 236 Hotels in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Book Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Venere, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Book Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Book Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.