We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice Boutique Hotel in Bogota” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Book Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Book Hotel to your Saves list
The Book Hotel
3.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Carrera 5 # 57-79 | Chapinero Alto, Bogota 11001, Colombia (Formerly Hotel Boutique Alma)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 242 Hotels in Bogota
Certificate of Excellence
Bornheim, Germany
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very nice Boutique Hotel in Bogota”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

I only spent two days in Bogota and I'm happy to have found this boutique hotel. The room was spacious, the staff very helpful (though not all of them spoke English, that's something you have to expect, at least at the reception and in service areas). The room I had ("Junior Suite Elegant") was quite spacious and absolutely nice furbished. The bath was ok. Just the carpet showed some stains, that's something they should have taken care of. It's location wasn't anything to call central but then taxis in Bogota aren't too expensice and it prooved to be a quiet area. I can recommend it and the breakfast was made to order.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    41
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
12
56
33
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Again, it is dificult to find a good pet freindly hotel. Hotel Alma is a small hotel with charm, great bathrooms where my pets and me felt welcomed in a place that felt like home. Good proce value hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
Level Contributor
112 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

We stayed here 3 nights at the end of a long trip throughout Colombia (having stayed in Candelaria at the beginning of our trip). We had one of the rooms (new?) that faces the small courtyard on the first floor. This was a slight downside as we had some noise late one night when neighboring guests were talking loudly outside and coming up and down the outside stairway. For this reason, inside higher floor rooms may be a better choice. But it really didn't deter our enjoyment of our stay. The room was newly decorated. Bed was wonderful. Shower in new bath was fabulous - best on our trip. It was cool in the room, but not a problem once we were under the cozy comforter - and a space heater was provided. Wi fi was great. Included breakfast was nice and served quickly. We also ate two simple dinners here. It's not a big dinner operation - you order what chef is cooking that night. But we had nicely prepared reasonably priced dinners both nights (we got lazy) - fresh nicely cooked fish, nice veggies. The dining area has both indoor and outdoor options. Desk and bar staff were young and enthusiastic - some English spoken as well. We liked the neighborhood. Quiet and convenient. While there are not many restaurants in the immediate area - there are many about 10 blocks away on 69th to 72 or so. We walked that distance in the early eve and felt perfectly comfortable. Plenty of people out and about.
Would obviously be a very easy cab ride. Hotel arranged airport transport for us at a reasonable price as well. All worked out perfectly. Nice lobby, interesting art!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

I stayed at the hotel for 5 nights in September and it was a fantastic experience. It was reasonable priced, the hotel was very clean, there was modern art in the lobby and the staff was helpful and friendly. The hotel is located in a nice area and is an incredible value! Would recommend it and will stay there again if I return to Bogota!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel, great staff. In fact, stayed here again after returning from Cartagena. Quiet neighborhood with great local restaurants. Just ask staff and they can tell you where to go. Highly recommended.

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

I liked this hotel in that it was very clean and had very helpful staff. My only complaint would be that it is a bit far to decent restaurants, but that said, cabs are cheap and honest in Bogota so that isn't that big an issue.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

My girlfriend and i always take turn to book the hotels we are going to stay at. This has lead to a bit of competitiveness to see who can book the best and value for money. This was our first trip to Colombia, we wanted an average price hotel. Alma is £60 a night and well worth this. The candalaria area is about an 80 mins walk. In the opposite direction in zona t and g. The room was an ok size, firm bed and an amazing shower. We had a courtyard outside our room that was cool for hanging out. The hotel staff were very helpful and breakfast was lovely eggs, fruit and free coffee all day. If your not a big walker then taxis are a good way of going round the city nice and cheap.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Book Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Book Hotel

Address: Carrera 5 # 57-79 | Chapinero Alto, Bogota 11001, Colombia (Formerly Hotel Boutique Alma)
Location: Colombia > Bogota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 242 Hotels in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Book Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE BOOK HOTEL, a different concept in the hotel sector that is born in an old Tudor style house, located in the area of Chapinero Alto in Bogota City. Perfect combination of the best European tradition and Colombian unmistakable flavor. The Book Hotel is also bookstore, coffe shop and restaurant bistrot with interesting dishes inspired by the best of the Colombian and Italian cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Book Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Book Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.