We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but not as great as some reviews” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Book Hotel

The Book Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Book Hotel to your Saves list
The Book Hotel
3.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Carrera 5 # 57-79, Bogota, Colombia (Formerly Hotel Boutique Alma)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 236 Hotels in Bogota
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good, but not as great as some reviews”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for our first night in Bogota. It did the job in regards to allowing us a good night's sleep, but there a couple of aspects that slightly let it down:
1. The hotel sauna and jacuzzi were not available (my Spanish wasn't good enough to quite understand why). This was one of the reasons why we chose this place - thinking that after a long flight this would be just the ticket.
2. The room felt pretty damp - the bed felt slightly damp when we got in, and in the morning our equipment also felt damp. Bogota is a wet city though so perhaps this is unavoidable.

The hotel wasn't particularly cheap, but I think Bogota is a relatively expensive place However, in most aspects it was very good - service friendly, breakfast good, location quiet and safe, shower fantastic... I would advise it to others who want to spend a fleeting night in the city and avoid the rather unappealling city centre.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    34
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
12
46
31
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tijuana, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

Cannot say enough about the friendly and helpful staff. You can tell they are not just "doing their job" (like at most hotels)... but they actually care about you feeling at home. Small but very clean rooms. 10 minutes walking distance from excellent restaurants. Affordable. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a comfortable vacation.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

Great staff – plenty of English spoken. Very helpful with a point of view on what’s safe and what isn’t.
Location – The building is an attractive brick building. The neighborhood is not so great, there is a nice collection of restaurants about 10-15 minutes away by foot, but you’ll have to walk through a middle class neighborhood. I felt perfectly safe, but there are plenty of college age kids hanging out at various shops & at bus stops drinking etc. I took taxis a lot & Alma staff were eager to help. This hotel is closer to the attractions in the city center (e.g., Candelaria) than some of the hotels in “El Norte,” so your cab fare will be a bit lower.
Breakfast – Quite good. Made to order, chopped fruits, coffee/tea/cocoa, toast & jam, egg dishes (including egg white only upon request)
Rooms – small but clean and stylish, hot water sometimes took a few minutes but always came on.
Technology – good wireless access, nice Sony flat screen
Negatives: No Gym; check-in process a bit slow

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

The Alma de Bogotá hotel is the kind of hotel that in Spain we usually call "with charm". Located in the main center of Bogotá but in a very quiet residential zone. It combines perfectly the pretty architecture (it's an old big house) with the comfort of modern reformed rooms. The way they treat me made me feel at home even at a thousend miles away

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

I stayed at Alma de Bogotá for 5 nights in March. And to say it upfront: All that is written in the reviews is basically true. It is a small but beautiful and stylish hotel, in a great location with very friendly and helpful staff.
BUT...I had a room on the ground floor facing the street. And despite Carrera 5 being a quiet side street, Bogota drivers love to accelerate rapidly and in low gear. So my weeknights were over at ca. 7am despite wearing earplugs. The bathroom was very small with very little space to put things.
During my stay there was very bad weather in Bogota...cold temperatures and a lot of rain. There is no heating in the rooms. Upon request I was given an electric radiator, but that did not help much, due to the fashionably high ceilings and the laws of physics. The room remained cold and clammy. When I left, all my clothes felt damp.
Breakfast was basic but fully satisfying with coffee, juice, toast, eggs and fruit. But there is no buffet...breakfast is served individually. And depending on how many people there are in the breakfast room, it can be a long wait.
Don't get me wrong...I enjoyed the city and Alma de Bogotá. But it is a very good hotel...just not an excellent one.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

We stayed at the Bh La Salle because of the location and reputation of the hotel brand. There are two other Bh hotels in Bogota but this property was in between the historic district of La Candelaria and the trendy Zona Rosa/Zona T. It's about a twenty minute taxi drive to either location. If you are visitor to Bogota, you will certainly spend time in boht districts.

We loved the hotel and found everyone very helpful. It's a small boutique hotel and the rooms are on the smaller side when to standard American hotel room. What the room lacked in size it made up for in style and charm. We had the only room on the third floor and loved it. It felt like our own private loft. This might be a problem for the eldery or people experiencing altitude sickness in Bogota because it requires climbing stairs. I especially loved the bathroom and large shower. The room was also spotless.

It's good to keep in mind this is a boutique hotel and not a full service hotel. The hotel serves breakfast but there is no bar or restaurant or room service. For us this wasn't a problem because Bogota is absolutely filled with amazing dining.

The staff was so helpful and friendly. I would certainly stay at this hotel again and highly recommend it to other visitors to Bogota.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

I was bowled over by this hotel. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. Its a converted mansion, and feels very homey. The room was large, modern, well equipped (eg Sony Bravia TV). Breakfast is included in the price, although its very basic. Toast, juice and coffee.

The hotel is perfectly located in Bogota if you are interested in exploring the gay clubs, cafes and bars etc. On a quiet residential street in Chapinero, its just a short (and relatively safe) walk to many of the main attractions.

The staff were extremely helpful and welcoming.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Book Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Book Hotel

Address: Carrera 5 # 57-79, Bogota, Colombia (Formerly Hotel Boutique Alma)
Location: Colombia > Bogota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 236 Hotels in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Book Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Venere, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Book Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Book Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.