We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Bellavista Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Bellavista Hostel to your Saves list
Casa Bellavista Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Carrera 2 #12B-31, Bogota 11001000, Colombia (La Candelaria)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 150 Specialty Lodging in Bogota
Kildare
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very friendly atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Stayed at Casa Bellavista for 3 nights. It's situated in the Candelaria area beside a square with some bars and restaurants.

We had a great stay here. The family who run this small hostel are extremely attentive and caring hosts. It felt more like a home than a hostel. They arranged an airport pick-up for us.

They were extremely helpful when we were looking for restaurants and in booking tours for us.

The breakfast each morning was excellent. Eggs, bread, coffee, tea and the hot chocolate gets a special mention.

I would highly recommend this hostel.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    23
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
17
50
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Spotless, well-run hostel with a great atmosphere. My boyfriend and I shared the deluxe private room over my birthday and it was gorgeous, 2 floors, private bathroom and a tv, for only a few pounds more than we'd paid for dorms! The owners were lovely and even decorated the bedroom for my birthday. The common areas are comfy and bright, and the breakfast is great. Don't miss this hostel.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

If you are looking for a well situated hostel, with a friendly familial staff: stay here ! The family running the hostel is one of the most friendly I have seen ! It's not a party hostel but it's full of life ! I really enjoyed my stay and would recommend it to all the travellers I will find on my road :)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

I have been in a few hostels in Bogota and this one was by far my favourite, it is family owned and the family are all so lovely and helpful. Even without me knowing spanish they still were so nice and make you feel like part of the family. Plus their dog Maya is the coolest dog in Bogota! Breakfast included and social vibe , you get to meet everyone in the hostel. Sorry for the late review,
Kanaru

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

My original plan was to come to Bogotá and stay at Bellavista, spend a few days (maybe a week) checking out La Candelaria, then bounce to another hostel or a shared apartment. That was in April 2014, and I stayed at Casa Bellavista on and off for 5 or 6 weeks. I can't even remember how long I spent there--that's how comfortable this place was for me. It's basically a bed and breakfast with dorm beds (and two private rooms) for the price of a hostel.

The family that owns it--Gerardo, Nubia, Vanessa and Sebastian--also lives there, with their awesome German Shepherd Maya, and without a doubt these are some of the nicest people I've ever met. They care deeply about the safety and security of every guest and their things, and will go way out of their way to make your experience in Bogotá (not just at their hostel) safe and memorable. On one occasion I was without a cellphone and had plans to meet a friend. Gerardo called Tigo so that I could buy a new SIM and phone without leaving the hostel. The salesman came to Bellavista and was able to set me up with a SIM but said he'd return with the actual phone "shortly." In Colombia, that means "tomorrow, at the earliest" so without hesitation Gerardo lent me his cellphone to use with the SIM until the salesman returned--two days later.

The kindness and warmth of this family, as well as the relatively small size of the hostel, means that the environment is great for meeting fellow travelers if you're interested in doing so. They do a good job keeping the place dark and quiet after 11pm so that people can sleep (the walls are thin), but you'll never feel like they're stepping on your toes if you're the one being loud in the common area because they ask so nicely.

Gerardo takes the stairs up Monserrate several times a week, and would be happy to have you join him on a run or a hike. I've gone with him to the top three times myself, although I warn you, he's in excellent shape and is going to leave you in the dust until you get adjusted to the altitude. He'll wait for you to catch up, but you might feel bad for slowing him down!

Breakfast at Bellavista is just that: actual breakfast, consisting of eggs, bread, and real coffee or hot chocolate. This is a far cry from the lukewarm milk and stale cereal you've been served in other hostels, sharing a dirty cafeteria table with a handful of jaded, wristband-branded, insular backpackers. You'll never feel like another face in the crowd here; they'll know your name, you'll probably meet everybody else in the hostel if you'd like to, and you'll notice that almost everybody who passes through here seems to pick up the friendly, outgoing vibe.

When I first arrived the internet was spotty, but they've fixed that by upgrading the modem and adding a few routers. I was there two weeks ago, and they had two networks so that you're never without internet (though you should occasionally want to be). The bathrooms are clean, the water is hot, and the beds are comfortable. I noticed that the fitted bedsheets slip off the beds pretty easily during the night, but these are clean, new mattresses so I didn't worry about that much. The proximity to the Plaza de Chorro de Quevedo (20 feet away) means that certain times are noisy at night on weekends/holidays, but La Candelaria is a lively area and noise is just a part of the experience here. The hostel itself is quiet enough, but if you're sound-sensitive, you should probably bring ear plugs.

Overall, very highly recommended--the only negative I can come up with is that other hostels are going to seem a lot more commercial and cold if you spend more than one or two days in a place like Casa Bellavista. Not kidding.

Room Tip: There are 7- and 11-bed dorms upstairs, a 6/7 bed dorm downstairs, and two private rooms, one of whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I stayed here by myself for 4 nights, could not have picked a better place to start my Colombia adventure. The family is so friendly, the hostel is sweet, the vibe is good, nice location, etc. You will also fall in love with their dog Maya! About 30 mins from the airport, but taxis are cheap.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Family is so kind. Stayed for 2 weeks on and off. Always came back. Went to two other hostels in bogota, this was the best place. Relaxed, good location and if you dont have fun here your doing it wrong..

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Bellavista Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Bellavista Hostel

Address: Carrera 2 #12B-31, Bogota 11001000, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bogota > La Candelaria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 150 Specialty Lodging in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Bellavista Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Bellavista Hostel is located in a renovated colonial house right off the Plaza del Chorro de Quevedo—one of the oldest and most historical sectors in the heart of the La Candelaria neighborhood. We offer medium-sized and small dormitory-style rooms with private or shared bathrooms, as well as private rooms. All our beds have new mattresses and lots of blankets to keep away the Bogota cold. Breakfast is included with your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Casa Bellavista Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Bellavista Hotel Bogota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Bellavista Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.