We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Place People and Price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Bellavista Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Bellavista Hostel to your Saves list
Casa Bellavista Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Carrera 2 #12B-31, Bogota 11001000, Colombia (La Candelaria)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 162 Specialty Lodging in Bogota
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Place People and Price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

The Hostle is amazing. The Family who owns the hostle is really really nice helpful and friendly. The beds are comfortable and everything is clean. It takes 5 min to the next transmelenio Station and there are always nice people in and around the hostle. WiFi can be used.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    31
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
4
21
61
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cuenca, Ecuador
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

The family which runs this hostel are very friendly, helpful and inclusive. On the Night of the Little Candles (7 Dec - a Colombian tradition) they gave us candles to light, and told us where we should go for the best fireworks and dancing that evening. The included breakfasts are tasty, there is a kitchen guests can also use and the communal areas are relaxing and spacious. It can be a little chilly at night, but blankets are provided. It is located in the heart of the Candelaria district, so a perfect base for wandering around the old part of town.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We met gerardo in the streets of la candelaria, while he was walking with the most awesome dog I have ever met, Maya. He invited us to check out his hostel and we got a nice tour in the house.
The fact that he and his family are so friendly, immediately convinced us to stay here. It is a very cosy house, you realy feel at home, the beds have good mattresses and you have everything you need for a few days bogota. You might need some earplugs though, because it can be a bit noisy at night, but that's normal if you stay in la candelaria. You really feel like you are part of the family when you arrive. The breakfast is perfect to start your day with: hot chocolate milk, bread, eggs and if you are lucky some arepas. Also, if you need anything or you have questions, the family will help you a lot and you can call them anytime you need anything. The lockers are perfect to fit all your valuable stuff in and the fact that you don't have a key of the room or the door are not a problem at all, because if you ring the bell, at night or during the day, there will be always someone of the family opening the door and welcoming you with a big smile! We are gonna miss it here and thank you for making our stay in bogota so wonderful and helping us with our spanish!. Saludos de los belgas, Rosalia and Luis!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dortmund, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

The hostel offers all you need, comfy beds, nice common areas, good wifi and a equipped kitchen.
The best are the owners though. The family running the hostel are the friendliest people I've met on my 3 month trip. When I asked how to walk up the Monserate and if it's safe, father and son decided to join me and we went up together.
The breakfast is big enough to feed a male person, the coffee is good and other guest were happy to stay here as well. Great location just next to Chorro de Quevedo, the nicest plaza in Bogota.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

We checked into Bella Vista after a couple of horrendous nights' sleep at another neighbouring hostel, in desperate need of comfy beds and some down time. Bella Vista was just what we needed, the staff were friendly, we had a four person dorm to ourselves, there was a decent kitchen for cooking meals and a speedy Internet connection. It's right next to xxx, where there's generally something going on, and xxx street has lots of tiny, hole in the wall bars which are great for exploring. Also near Bogota Beer Company pub, which, while they charge more for their beers than Aguila or Club Colombia, if you're missing European style beers and ales, it's a good treat.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

it's located in the hart of La Candelaria with really nice owners who will help you with anything you want to do in Bogota, recommend nice parties for the type of music you like, they have the best play list, your ears will be surrounded with goodness, a full equipped kitchen, with a nice upstairs area with puffs and nice lighting during the day, the beds were comfortable and the breakfast was nice with fresh baked croissants, nice Columbia coffee and teas. We were very lucky as we met a really nice group of travelers and had an amazing time in Bogota! thanks again to the Casa Bella Vista's team!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fisherville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

If you're a young traveler looking for a friendly place that is basically ten feet from a nightly party, this is your hostel!
If you're an older traveler like me (in my 30s but that's too old to stay out all night after walking all day in the heat) then the noise can make sleep difficult. If so, then take away at least 2 stars (I'm not going to give it a low rating because it's a great place for the younger crowd).

The rooms are very basic, there's no hot water, but the location is great and the staff is incredibly friendly. If you're looking to go out and have fun,this is a great spot (just be sure to always walk with a buddy if you leave the square outside, it is Bogota after all) and it's great for exploring during the day, too. The nearby street art is awesome.

If you're looking for a good night's sleep then you should consider elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Bellavista Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Bellavista Hostel

Address: Carrera 2 #12B-31, Bogota 11001000, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bogota > La Candelaria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 162 Specialty Lodging in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Bellavista Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Bellavista Hostel is located in a renovated colonial house right off the Plaza del Chorro de Quevedo—one of the oldest and most historical sectors in the heart of the La Candelaria neighborhood. We offer medium-sized and small dormitory-style rooms with private or shared bathrooms, as well as private rooms. All our beds have new mattresses and lots of blankets to keep away the Bogota cold. Breakfast is included with your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Casa Bellavista Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Bellavista Hotel Bogota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Bellavista Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.