We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good one” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Santa Barbara Real

Save Saved
You added Hotel Santa Barbara Real to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Santa Barbara Real
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 127 No 7 - 89, Bogota, Colombia (Usaquén)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #119 of 222 hotels in Bogota
Ukraine- Egypt- Emirates
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“good one”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I m very picky client , very hard to please, I was ok with this hotel , let me say all the mistakes :
1. all the rooms can hear each other , if somebody not sleeping next door you can hear it. you can hear all what hjappening outside your window ... but I think its a general mistake of all the houses in Bogota ... one glass windows all the time all the places.
2. one lady from the staff was very rood to me .
3. very difficult was find an adapter for electricity . its not like in europe , and not like in uae ... its small one
4. at night is becoming very cold in the room since all the houses in Bogota are having the same temperatura like in the street.
5. parking underground become paying at the end and very big amount of money , nice surprise :)
6.the room was small

Now good things,,,
all the staff except one lady is very friendly and helpful also its very clean !!!! very clean ... one more time - very clean !
good bed , very comfy !
good location , nice neibourhood !
good price for 4 stars , but tis not 4 stars in real
good breakfast

Room Tip: they have bigger size of the room , better to take this pne , but better to chose one on the backsid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jcamilog, General Manager at Hotel Santa Barbara Real, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Natalia

Thank you for staying with us.

I appreciate your feedback and our Customer service team is now working in order to solve the inconvenients you've mentioned regarding insulation and sound proofing. Our staff is in constant learning so in name of the Hotel I apologise for any missunderstanding that had may occur.
We are trying harder to improve and have a better service every day.

Once again thank you for your taking time to leave us a feedback. We will take action promptly. and we hope to see you again back in Colombia.

Sincerly,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    45
    25
    16
    9
See reviews for
9
42
5
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I just had a two day stay at this hotel. Rooms are clean and comfortable, not as quiet as I expected but street noise is low during weekends. The toilet has some kind of water saving technology, so it takes two to three flushes instead of one. Hot water can take up to five minutes to come out, consider this since Bogota has a very cold weather. Wifi passwords are valid for 24 hours, and cannot be used in more than one device. There is a minibar in the room with juice, softdrinks and water, but no item pricing. The basement can hold up to 4 cars in very tight parking slots.

Staff is very friendly, specially the lady that serves breakfasts. But there is this young guy at the lobby that handles check-ins and payment: rude, avoids eye contact, zero smiles and during my check-out I heard him arguing with a guest through the phone. Not a very good impression of the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed her for our last night in Colombia. Our taxi took ages to get here from the airport and we started to wonder if we had made the right decision! The staff on check in were efficient, not overly friendly but not like previous reports. They allowed us to leave our bags with them for a couple of hours after we checked out and arranged a taxi for us to the airport which was great.

The room was v standard, nothing amazing, bed was small, bathroom tiny. The worst thing was the thin walls and being able to hear everything in the other rooms so at night you could hear all the snoring. The plus side of this hotel was the location for the shopping centre and the breakfast was decent but thats it. I wouldnt stay again, for the price its not good value and would have a nicer stay in a hostel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

This is a nice hotel in a nice part of town in Bogota, the bad thing is their staff is not customer service oriented. The kitchen serves breakfast only and the variety of dishes is very limited. One of the front desk clerks is not willing to help you with anything to be honest. He was always in the night shift when I stayed there. Usaquen is very close to this location which gives you many good dinning options.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor have a balcony that could be enjoyed if you don't mind the cold weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

This is a new hotel with a lot of room for improvement. 1st: Front desk staff should be more friendly and courteous with the travelers. One in particular made us wait while he was in a personal cell phone conversation. This same guy was not courteous or friendly with my fiancee.
2nd: If there are to be additional charges for whatever changes are requested or given by the hotel..the guset should be properly and timely informed...no surprises please.

On the positive side. Rooms were very clean. The housekeeping staff and the girls at the breakfast room were a five start rating staff. Wish all were like them.

I will return but I will make sure that my charges are well documented and explained when I come in. Bookings did my reservation but the hotel charged me more money that agreed. I will dispute those charges.

Oscar

Room Tip: Higher floor..8th floor. quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

I stayed at this hotel and asked if there was a laundry service to be told no problem and to just leave the clothes on the bed. I left it in my own cotton laundry bag (which was never returned!). And upon checking out, the laundry cost (for not many items) came to 60 pounds sterling!! (nearly the same price as a night's accommodation!). The staff did not speak very good English and showed no interest in the fact that they couldn't locate my laundry bag (I asked on 2 consecutive days and again on checking out) nor could they explain the ridiculous cost of the laundry!!. If you are going to offer a laundry service then have bags available and the price list available so people can make the choice (although perhaps I should have asked). Very poor unfriendly service in any case.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights on route to Cartagena.
We read the reviews after booking and were concerned about some negative ones.
However the worst issue was it was hard to find coming in from the airport but once the taxi driver knew where it was it was in a nice central area.
Near a large shopping area and a long row of restaurants and great night life and safe.
Definitely would recommend it to anyone.
The staff very nice and recommended many nice tourist places including the Train ride to the "Salt Cathedral" which was the high lite of our trip to Bogota. They also arranged several taxi rides at a very reasonable price.
The breakfast was a Bonus........Thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: Ask for the room away from the main road to be away from the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Santa Barbara Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Barbara Real

Address: Calle 127 No 7 - 89, Bogota, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bogota > Usaquén
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 222 hotels in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Santa Barbara Real 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Barbara Real Hotel is conveniently located at the beautiful and historic place of Santa Barbara on the north of the city. An outstanding place surrounded by shopping centres, financial centres, hospitals and high-streets. In addition we are just from walking distance to the historic town of Usaquen now full of exclusive restaurants, bars, clubs and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Santa Barbara Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Santa Barbara Real, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.