We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful time in Bogota” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Hotel Bogota

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Hotel Bogota to your Saves list
JW Marriott Hotel Bogota
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 73 # 8-60, Bogota, Colombia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free breakfast+Wi-Fi+Spa
Ranked #6 of 236 Hotels in Bogota
Knoxville, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful time in Bogota”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

A dear friend invited me to Bogota in July. We stayed at the JW Marriott 4 nights and had a great time! Best hotel in Bogota. Breakfast and dinner in the concierge's lounge was outstanding. No need to take my friend to a traditional restaurant. We had empanadas, tamales, pan de bono, roscon con bocadillo, Colombian cheeses and coffee, tropical fruit, fresh squeezed orange juice, ajiaco, pork loin, arepas, patacones, and the best desserts ever!!! Lots of Club Colombia, too!! We loved to work out in the gym at night and then soak in the tub in our bedroom. Very comfortable beds. Extremely clean rooms. Complete attention to all details. Will not stay anywhere else in our next visit to Bogota.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth_Ospina, Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Bogota, responded to this review, October 18, 2011
Dear guest,
We are glad you and your friend enjoyed your stay with us as well as the cuisine. We like to make our dishes as traditional as possible so our guests can enjoy the full taste of Colombian food.
It would be more than a pleasure for us to have you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    106
    10
    6
    6
See reviews for
33
112
37
260
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011 via mobile

Full of details, amenies, security, ambiance, fine food and decor.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth_Ospina, Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Bogota, responded to this review, October 18, 2011
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your kind comment.
We hope you can visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

Food, service, in-room electronics: all first-rate. I've stayed in business-class hotels all over the world and this one is right at the top.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Belloni, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Bogota, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear Guest,
It is wonderful to know that you consider our establishments "outstanding" and that our in-room electronics were useful to you. Thank you for your recommendations and for having us at the top of your list. We hope to have you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

I've just come back from my first ever business trip to Bogota and spent 4 nights at the JW Marriott. It's been open just over a year and the whole place is really smart. People in the City say this is the best hotel in Bogota and I can believe it. The restaurants are very good - buffet breakfast in the Monet for about $20 is good value by international standards and the Steak and Lobster restaurant (can't remember its name) is great for lunch/dinner. The gym is pretty good but the pool is just excellent. My rooms was very comfortable and quiet with a really high quality bathroom. Staff are charming and helpful and even the security labradors outside (sniffing for guns etc?) are very friendly. The only shortcoming I could find (and this sounds really petty) is that the lifts are a bit slow. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth_Ospina, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Bogota, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
Dear guest,

We want to thank you for taking the time to post a comment about your experience with us.
We strive to reach the highest standard of hospitality so it is gratifying to know that you had a great stay and enjoyed your time at the JW Marriott Bogota.
We would be delighted to have you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

Our flight home on a recent vacation was cancelled due to a hurricane in New York, so at the last minute we needed to find a hotel in Bogota (we had started our trip in Bogota as well and stayed at the Hotel Avia 93). It was a Sunday night and we saw that the rate was only $209, so since I had read good things about the hotel, we booked it. We were blown away when we arrived. This hotel is truely world-class. It's beautiful, the rooms are VERY luxurious, there is a great spa, a couple of restaurants, a good business center, great room service, etc. I typically stay in very nice hotels when I travel on business, but this was possibly the nicest hotel I have stayed at. And our Sunday night rate included a killer buffet breakfast as well as one 60-minute or two 30-minute massages. How can you beat that? My boyfriend and I did our 30-minute massages together and both agreed they were the best we can remember having in a long time, if ever.

Because of difficulty booking a flight home, we ended up having to stay two extra nights. For those nights, the rate was $380 or something, which was pretty difficult to justify, but we were lazy and we loved our room, so we stayed. I can't say I regret it because we had both caught the flu on the last leg of our trip and just wanted to stay in bed and be pampered. The JW Marriott is perfect for that. But if we had been out touring the city and not much in the hotel, I would not have paid that rate. There are other perfectly nice places to lay your head for a lot less. (See my review of the Hotel Avia 93, for instance.)

Other points: the neighborhood is really perfect. You are an easy walk up to the shopping district (about 8 blocks north and 2 blocks west), and the hotel is surrounded by great restaurants and cafes, as well as an English-language bookstore if you run out of reading material. Also, because it is one of the southern-most neighborhoods in northern Bogota, it is not quite so far to get to the tourist sights downtown. (Incidentally, if you are looking for a good guide to figure out the different neighborhoods and get to know Bogota generally, I found lurebogota.com to be invaluable.)

As for safety, the hotel really could not be more secure, which is a comfort. HOWEVER, they need to train their security guards in hospitality, as well. I wouldn't mind being sniffed by a bomb-sniffing dog and having my purse checked (which they did every single time I returned to the hotel, probably 7 or 8 times in my 3-day stay), but you should recognize that I am a guest, greet me with a smile, welcome me back, etc. Treating your guests like criminals when they come in the door is really not acceptable, and given the overall quality of the hotel, they should really know better.

Bottom line, if your company or client is paying, this is the place to stay, no question. If you are footing the bill, check around to see what other nice hotels in the neighborhood are charging. If prices are comparable, the JW Marriott is the way to go. At double the price, I would probably look elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth_Ospina, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Bogota, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
Greetings,

We appreciate your feedback as this is what makes us better every time.
In regards to the rates you mentioned, we are mostly a business oriented hotel with usually 100% occupancy from Monday thru Thursday, since weekends are of our lowest occupancy we have a special weekend rate which was the one you booked and it goes from Friday to Sunday.
As for the safety, we know it is very important to our guests to feel safe so we have made it one of our main concerns to make you feel secure during your stay with us. We are grateful for your comments regarding the security staff and we will most defiantly take action in the training of the guards in hospitality.
It is gratifying to know that the hotel and its service were pleasant for you and we very much hope to have you back with us soon.
Thank you for taking out of your time to let us know about your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walkpl
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

Marriott Hotels are making inroads into South America and the latest is in Colombia where after years of terrorist action and attacks by the FARC business is booming. There are few and far between hotels for US patrons. There are two smaller hotels in the Rosada district of Bogota, but both are super modern and very dark rooms with little or lobbys.
The JW on the other hand is full of light and wood paneling and bright colors more in keeping with the latin flavor. The only offsetting thing here is that the hotel is located in a business district and there is little to go outside of the hotel to see or do. Plus the fact that you have to go through a TSA type screening before you are allowed into the lobby, makes guests and visitors alike a little aprehensive to say the least. Oh well...I guess staying here you can at least feel somewhat safe. Rooms are nice and very large..standard Marriott style but the bathrooms are wierd in that the toilet stall door butts right into the bathroom door and the glass shower door if you open them at the same time. Kind of strange.
There are no views in this hotel . What a shame....because Bogota has some beautiful green mountains to look out on.
Now to the restaurant. As you are trapped here in the evenings (unless you take a 15 minute cab ride), you have to eat in their very disorganized restaurant. Food was good, but expensive and the waiters just didn't have their acts together. Really bad restaurant management in my book. There is also a smaller elite restaurant....but it was twice as expensive as the other one.
So...if you are on a tour which picks you up in the morning and deposits you back at night...this unfortunately is the only place North Americans would want to stay. If you do business in Bogota...it is perfect. If you are just in Bogota to get to know it....I hope they build something else more desireable.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room up high so you don't have to hear street noise at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth_Ospina, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Bogota, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you for your time and feedback which is of high importance to us.
We realize that safety is substantial for all our visitors therefore we have put a lot of effort into making sure our guests feel safe while staying with us.
The JW Marriott Bogota is located next to one of the most exclusive dining destinations in town, the Zona G, which is within five minutes walking distance from the hotel.
We were also extremely concerned about your experience in our restaurant Monet Brasserie, and we apologize for not being able to provide our usual attentive and skillful levels of service on this particular day.
Both our restaurants are considered amongst the best in town, being paid the preference of locals and hotel guests alike for their excellent service and quality.
We have also taken in great care your comments regarding our restaurant prices, which is a point we have always paid great attention to in order to be accessible to our clientele. We believe that such items as live Lobster from Maine and imported US meats, in our fine dining restaurant, might have caused an incorrect perception in terms of price.
We hope you can visit us again soon and that we may be able to read about your experience with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

We stayed 3 nights at the JW Marriott Bogota and it far exceeded our expectations. This hotel is absolutely stunning.

The guest rooms are extremely clean, modern and comfortable. The bathrooms are large, luxurious and very accommodating.

The lobby and guest areas are tastefully decorated and very inviting.

The gym is spacious and well-equipped with plenty of cardio machines and weight training equipment, as well as free weights.

The pool and jacuzzi area, while underground with no natural light, is so tastefully designed and are very inviting.

On a service note, it was my birthday during the stay and on the evening of my birthday, we arrived back to our room to find a card from management and a piece of birthday cake waiting on the table in the foyer of the room. This attention to detail was highly appreciated and not found at most hotels in my experience.

I highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Bogota.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth_Ospina, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Bogota, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking out of your valuable time to comment on our hotel, your feedback is very important to us.
It is great to know you appreciated the birthday greeting on behalf of the hotel and we want to thank you for choosing the JW Marriott Bogota to spend such a special time.
We hope you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Bogota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Bogota

Address: Calle 73 # 8-60, Bogota, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bogota
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 236 Hotels in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Bogota 4.5*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious JW Marriott Bogota Hotel is located at the heart of the financial and entertainment district, next to the corporate offices of major companies and close to the best restaurants and bars in Zona T and 93rd St Park. This Bogota hotel offers the highest speed Internet available (65 MB)for an invaluable entertainment experience streaming movies or music. Exclusive soundproof windows in rooms guarantee you the best rest. Our 264 rooms feature 300-thread count Egyptian cotton linen as well as a down feather mattress topper to offer maximum comfort and a unique relaxing experience. Enjoy a great steak or a delicious imported lobster in La Mina, renowned as one of the best restaurants in Bogota. For a brasserie experience visit Monet, our French restaurant recognized for its exquisite breakfast and lunch buffets. Try one of our 73 different types of Martinis at Dry 73 or chill out at La Terraza, where live music, exotic cocktails and a great ambiance make it the place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Bogota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Hotel Bogota, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.