We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Secure, Friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Sue Candelaria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hostal Sue Candelaria to your Saves list
Hostal Sue Candelaria
Cra. 3 No. 14-18, Bogota 0, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 143 Specialty Lodging in Bogota
Birmingham, Alabama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Clean, Secure, Friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

I stayed in this hostel for an entire week, and I will likely return. The staff are super friendly and the location is great for visiting many great museums: Museo Botero, Museo del Oro and the Gabo Cultural Center. Don't walk the streets alone late at night, however.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    34
    25
    9
    8
See reviews for
2
31
34
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Westminster, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I stayed here 3 nights when I arrived in Bogota and 2 nights at the end of my trip. Compared to my initial hostel experience, I found Sue's to be comfortable and with a good vibe.

The place is clean. The ladies that run this place are always cleaning. There was a problem with one of the bathrooms one evening, and the lady at reception was very good at addressing the issue.

A small breakfast is included. It is basic, and each day its different.

It is centrally located to museums, plaza de Bolivar, transmilenio, etc. Some of the staff speak English, but I did feel on occasion that Spanish was preferred, which makes sense to me. The staff were helpful with maps, directions and other info to navigate around Bogota.

I found the beds I slept in to be comfortable and warm. The outdoor space allows smoking which can be a pain. There is plenty of hot water. And they offer laundry service. There is also a bar in the hostel. It can get noisy depending on the crowd. There are also lockers for valuables in the reception area.

The TV room has sofas and blankets, I have seen people sleeping there, but ive seen this in other hostels too. Not sure if they belong there, or invited by another traveller after a night out, or what the situation is, but I experienced no issues.

Room Tip: The location of the rooms may not be ideal for some. They are either adjacent to a social space or t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We (couple, 41 & 50) stayed at Hostal Sue Candelaria for two nights in May 2014. We stayed in two different rooms - a studio apartment, $35, and a room with shared bathroom, $30. Both are in La Candelaria and both included breakfast at the hostel. The apartment was in a separate building two blocks from the hostel. It was big and comfortable, though a bit run down. The kitchenette had pots & pans, but no spices, condiments, etc. The bed sagged terribly but had lots of blankets. The bathroom was small but had lots of hot water. The room with shared bathroom at the hostel was very small. The hostel has a nice patio and common area. The staff was very helpful. The apartment seemed like a good value, but the room with shared bathroom was over priced. There are dozens of hostels in La Candelaria and we would try a different one if we return to Bogotà.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

The hostel itself is not too bad, the free breakfast is definitely a bonus. It was different every day, sometimes better than others. There is a nice bar and staff is friendly and helpful.
We stayed in a double room and didn't really like it. The room was tiny, barely enough space for 2 backpacks. It got quite cold at night and we had to use several blankets to keep warm which was quite heavy and the bed was hard, springy and uncomfortable.
The location was good, as good as it gets in La Candelaria. I wouldn't necessarily stay here again but price was ok and location is good.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradera, null, Aruba
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We had a private room. The rooms are dark so you can sleep well. But there is a lot of noise. You can hear people walk and talk.
Positive:
- private room
- breakfast (easy but Nice)
- Nice people, good service
- towels incl.
- 3 bathrooms
- small lockers
- location


Negative:
- you can hear everything

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Staff v friendly. Rooms super warm. Decent common area (particularly enjoyed collection of movies). OK food facilities. Atmosphere wasn't great when I was there, but I guess that's down to luck :)

Try the Mongolian restaurant down the road - delicious!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

This hostel is a brilliant place to stay in Bogota. The area, Candelaria, is a short walk from the plazas and is surrounded by quaint cafés. The bathrooms and rooms are kept impeccably clean. Staff are incredibly friendly, and eager to help. The morning breakfast varies in the style but we always found it yummy and filling, plus healthy.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Sue Candelaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Sue Candelaria

Address: Cra. 3 No. 14-18, Bogota 0, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bogota
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 143 Specialty Lodging in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Booking.com, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Hostal Sue Candelaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Sue Candelaria Hotel Bogota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Sue Candelaria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.