We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, friendly and family hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Charlies Place Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Charlies Place Hotel to your Saves list
Charlies Place Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carrera 8D # 106-84 | Barrio Chico Miranda, Bogota 1100100, Colombia (Usaquén)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 237 Hotels in Bogota
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely, friendly and family hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I've stayed at Charlies Place with my 4 year old daughter and we loved it. The staff was super sweet and friendly, made us feel at home. The breakfast was always good, the room was fine and clean. The hotel location is good and its a quite & safe area a bit far from La Candelaria, but the prices are very reasonable!
Mr. Charlie and all is staff made us feel very welcomed. totally recommended!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    58
    9
    7
    3
See reviews for
16
56
52
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

As two females traveling in Colombia, we loved staying at Charlies Place Hotel. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful and went out of their way to make our stay nice. The rooms are simple, but clean and come with a very good full breakfast. It's a bit far from La Candelaria, so if you are looking for something in the midst of the action, this might not be it. For us, it was a great place to spend our first few nights in Bogota getting acquainted with the city and the wonderful people.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

The hotel is good, but don't expect too much from the rooms as they are quite basic.
However, the staff was simply amazing - they switched us to a different room with no noise without even asking, gave us tips and helped us with everything we needed.

Overall it is highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stayed here on my last night in Bogota as an alternative to La Candelaria. I got an amazing price through expedia of $44 which made for excellent value. Good location near Usaquen which was what i wanted. Staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms solid and good wifi in the rooms. Bar and breakfast. Do not know if would have paid full price but for the price i got....very good very reccomended if not being more south in the city is nessacery

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Overall this is a great, as clean as it gets hotel in a good area of town. We would come again and recommend this place.

Location:
=======
We came to Bogota because we needed visas for Bolivia and Brazil. The hotel is conveniently situated in the middle of both embassies. The area around the hotel is safe. We spent three full days walking more than 200 city blocks getting paperwork for our visas. No problems. The only location flow is that the hotel could be a little bit closer to more restaurants.

Cleanliness:
==========
The hotel was super clean. We had both a room with a shared bathroom and a room with private bath. Both were very clean.

Staff:
====
The staff spoke good English and was super friendly. They helped us with directions, ordering food, calling cabs etc.

Parking:
======
We are traveling through South America with our car. It was very important to have a secure parking and this hotel has one. Fenced off and locked parking in the hotel's backyard. 24h video surveillance. Direct access from the hotel.

Internet:
=======
Fast, good wifi internet. There is a small computer room on the first floor if you don't have a laptop. There is also a printer and a scanner you can use in the lobby (this was very, very convenient for us).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellin, Colombia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

In Bogotá, you really cannot do better than this - this hotel has everything that you want in a stay. The staff are extremely pleasant and helpful. The accommodations are nice (in a rustic way). The rooms are spacious and the cost is low. Breakfast is included, free and delicious.

I stayed in the best suite - the family suite, for which I paid only 200K pesos per night. It has two bedrooms, each with queen beds. The hotel has drivers which can take you to your destination though they're about 5000 pesos higher than taxis on the street. Still, they are friendly, knowledgeable, safe and convenient.

The only downside to this hotel is that the location is not ideal.

Room Tip: Choose the family suite, it's worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I had a last time business trip to Bogota, and I've booked Charlies Place Hotel. They've done all they can do to help me and I can tell you, they saved my stay there. They've given me a really nice room, and helped me with any little detail that I needed. Location is really good specially when you need to work on the area, quite close to malls and business centers.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Charlies Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlies Place Hotel

Address: Carrera 8D # 106-84 | Barrio Chico Miranda, Bogota 1100100, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bogota > Usaquén
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 237 Hotels in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Charlies Place Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quaint, boutique style hotel & spa located in one of the best neighborhoods of North Bogota. Minutes from Park 93 and Usaquen. Operated by its proprietors. The hotel is within walking distance of the Santa Ana Mall, the Santa Fe Hospital, the Santa Barbara Mall, the Teleport Business Center and the World Trade Center. We are 20-30 minutes away from the El Dorado International airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Charlies Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charlies Place Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.