We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Misleading rates” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Charlies Place Hotel

Save Saved
You added Charlies Place Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Charlies Place Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cra 8-D No 106-84 | Barrio Chico Miranda, Bogota, Colombia (Usaquén)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 229 hotels in Bogota
Washington, DC
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Misleading rates”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

They advertize as $60 when that is really a room with a shared bathroom. For a small room with bath you pay more than $85 per night. This is Colombia a poor country. I paid $85 for a nice hotel in London. Since it is on the internet and Gringo friendly because of their matrimonial agency you pay more

Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    99
    52
    8
    7
    3
See reviews for
13
54
49
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mobile, AL
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

The staff at this hotel could not have been more accommodating. They responded immediately to all our requests and needs and were very helpful and friendly. This is not a five star hotel but neither is the price. The rooms were clean and comfortable. There was a little street noise and you could faintly hear the television in the adjoining room but no so much as to keep you from sleeping. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone wanting value.

Room Tip: bed and breakfast rooms have shared bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, FL
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

The service is EXCELLENT, and the rooms inside and outside very clean. Walking distance from Santa Ana Mall where you can get everything you need including a Big super market. They make you feel like you are at home. What I liked the most? DEFINITELY, personalized service and the Rate.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

In a city where some caution needs to be exercised , the ownership and staff at Charlie's Place offers considerable care and insight about the nuances and customs of Bogota. The hospitality and service couldn't have been better. The staff is bilingual.Amenities include access to a gym and a restaurant with one of the romantic settings I have ever been in, Cafe de la Montoya. Both are within walking distance of the hotel. By the time my visit was over at Charlie's Place I felt I had a new group of very close friends. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Bogota.

Room Tip: Simply ask for a quieter room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontiac, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

It was a Incredible to stay at Charlies Place. It was my first trip to Colombia, the whole staff was Incredible. From Javier (Manager), Andrea, Charlie (the owner), and his son, helped us out whenever we needed anything; we wanted for nothing, the staff is very knowledgeable and made you feel wanted just like family. I felt like this was my home. We were picked up at the airport. A true pleasurable experience all the way through. I look forward to my next visit to Bogota. It will be at Charlies Place!!!! Rooms are nice, quiet and conformable. , all around great experience.
Will definitely be back! Best service I have had In all my years of traveling.
Daniel and Tatiania
Thanks again!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

I had previously reviewed this hotel and had a wonderful time there. Things have changed!!!!!!! The main draw for me previously was the great staff and how helpful they were. The ENTIRE staff has changed. They were not near has helpful as before. I had actually called the owner in advance to see if he would be available to assist in my plans, and he said to check in and come see him. I was there for 2 days and he was no where to be found. I checked in at 5 am, and the jack hammers at the hotel started at 8 am. So no sleep to be found. The bed was the worst I have ever slept on. I was completely worn out and sunken in the middle and the bed frame itself was in such bad shape that the slightest movement would cause creeking and cracking noise that would actually wake you up. My last trip stay in the hotel was not any better but thought I would wait and see if any improvement was made....it has only gotten worse. This was my last stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cozumel, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

Charlie's Place in Bogota was our choice for this trip. It is located near a big Carrefour store and Santa Ana Shopping Center, so anything you could need you can get there.

The ambience is very romantic and cozy, but even if you are single, you still can enjoy the moment and meet other tourists to chit chat and make friends while in Bogota.

The receptionists are lovely and nice women, very educated and they are willing to help you any time with a smile. They speak spanish and english, so you will not have problems to communicate with them.


Their price is really fair since Bogota turned into a expensive place like any other big city in the world, and they offer a nice breakfast.

No doubt Charlie's Place is your home away from home. It is for us!

Howard & Priscila

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Charlies Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlies Place Hotel

Address: Cra 8-D No 106-84 | Barrio Chico Miranda, Bogota, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bogota > Usaquén
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 229 hotels in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Charlies Place Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quaint, boutique style hotel & spa located in one of the best neighborhoods of North Bogota. Minutes from Park 93 and Usaquen. Operated by its proprietors. The hotel is within walking distance of the Santa Ana Mall, the Santa Fe Hospital, the Santa Barbara Mall, the Teleport Business Center and the World Trade Center. We are 20-30 minutes away from the El Dorado International airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Charlies Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charlies Place Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.