We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast at the terrace” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pavillon Royal

Save Saved
You added Pavillon Royal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pavillon Royal
3.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Calle 94 No.11-45 | (Parque de la 93), Bogota, Colombia (Chapinero)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 224 hotels in Bogota
Thun, Switzerland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Breakfast at the terrace”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Hotel is well situated and seems in a safe area. Possibilities for shopping incl. bars restaurants are within walking distance, 5 - 10 minutes only.

Breakfast is a good choice of everything incl. warm dishes. The only thng missing is some more (european) bread and good marmelade. I enjoyed the possibility to have breakfast outside while temps are moderade. An additional glass windshield and heaters make your stay even more comfortable.

The rooms are spacy and face a neighbour bilding. Two types of curtains cover from courious looks during the day and another type that darkens the room almost completely. Since the windows are these one-glass-only-type (just as in many countries) the noise of the street may be bothersome for people with a light sleep.

A/C is quiet and properly working. Internet is properly working and each room seems to have a router. Shower and bath are seperated from the washbaisin which is part of the room.

Staff is very helpful and friendly. Once in Bogota again, I will check in at this place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    25
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
9
9
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I am a frequent guest at Royal properties, and a frequent guest at the WTC Royal
when in Bogota. I have over three million air miles, and have never volunteered a review . This time I had the misfortune of checking in at the Royal Pavillon. This property is located near the park 93 area, and that is the end of any sort of amenity recommendation. Prostitutes in the lobby, lost guest records, lack of housekeeping tools, a defective shower, poor restaurant management, and sultry front desk help. That last one could be attributed to the B team on the midnight shift.

The working folks understand the concept of hospitality, and you can sense their willingness to help, but they are inadequately lead by poor managers. I would recommend retraining customer facing managers on the basic concepts of hospitality, and the consequences of negative opinion from frequent travelers like me.

SM

Room Tip: Holiday Inn ( Continental property) across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestService_PVRoyal, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Pavillon Royal, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Mr. S M
We apologize for the bad experience you had at the Hotel and for not having fulfilled your expectations. We will take into account your valuable observations since they are very important for us.
We recognize we made mistakes and we feel very embarrassed for the things you had to live during you stay. We all will be working hardly to improve every day. We hope you can give us another chance to change your opinion.
Please receive our apologies.
Sincerely,
Ana Maria Rodriguez
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

While in Bogota I tried several hotels and the one chain that I can count on for a room and comfort is the Royal in Colombia. So far in Bogota, I've stayed at the Bogota Royal, Boheme Royal, and now the Pavillon Royal...the room was comfortable, that staff was ever present and very helpful. I know that I can count on them.

Room Tip: The best way to get a great room and has worked about 90% percent of the time...is to charm the rece...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We liked this hotel in a smart and safe area of Bogota. The rooms are a good size and well decorated, with a contemporary feel. Everything was in good working order. The hotel is small so breakfasts are served in a restaurant around the corner. The staff in both the restaurant and hotel are impeccably polite and friendly, which is good as so often this is not the case in hotels these days. The free and effective wifi was appreciated too. There is a small gym open 24 hours a day which my partner used early one morning. We used the hotel's own taxi service to visit the area of the city where the most bars are, and not only did it take an eternity to arrive but he took us to completely the wrong area and then drove off leaving us stranded. We pointed this out to the hotel when we got back (having flagged a taxi on the street) and they confirmed they wouldn't charge us for it, and were very apologetic. If you like to be away from the main drag but still in a safe area with plenty going on, this place will appeal to you. There are lots of good bars and restaurants nearby. If however you like to be in the city centre and near most of the sites you may prefer to book somewhere else as it is a 30 minute drive to most of the sites such as the famous gold museum. There was a glossy hardback guide to Bogota in the room but little else and no other info on places to see in the area. I am sure the helpful reception staff would assist if needs be though. They are the real plus point for this hotel. Other high points are the speedy check-in, lack of having to wait as the reception was well staffed at all times and the free water in the room (though this was not replaced daily as other reviews have suggested).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

The hotel is clean and well located, just near the Parque 93. It's a safe neighbourhood to walk around in, even in the evenings. The breakfast was ok, the hot dishes changed from day to day which was nice. The room was quite spacious but not well insulated so a lot of noise from the street below. I recommend bringing earplugs.

I had trouble getting into my room when I arrived, but got the door open. The next morning, when leaving, I wanted to make sure the room was properly locked and it turned out the lock did not function properly. In fact the door had been unlocked through the night. Not a good feeling. When I complained they changed the batteries in the lock and got it back in working order.
It is never ok to have hotel doors that don't lock, but especially so in a city where one has to be security conscious.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karindo
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Very good service, everybody at he hotel were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good, all staff friendly again. You can walk to rhe malls, El Andino, Atlantis and Retiro. They leave fresh water in the room for you everyday :)

Room Tip: You can walk to rhe malls, El Andino, Atlantis and Retiro. They leave fresh water in the room for yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Very nice hotel with everything you need to do business. Good location, nice rooms, nice restaurant with outside terace. Excellent service. I would defenetaly stay there again. i like the mini bar and desk to work with plenty of electrical outlets.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pavillon Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavillon Royal

Address: Calle 94 No.11-45 | (Parque de la 93), Bogota, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bogota > Chapinero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 224 hotels in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pavillon Royal 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Beautiful hotel is ideally located in the 93 street Park, the main district of entertainment and Business in the Northern art of Bogotá. This classic and elegant hotel features you comfort, security and technology. Our 72 spacious and well decorated rooms are equipped with all the ingredients to guarantee an enjoyable stay. In addition to our excellent facilities we offer friendly atmosphere and warm smile, Pavillon Royal Hotels Service include free parking, Business Center, an international cuisine Restaurant, 24-hour rooms service, meeting facilities, dry cleaning service and free Internet access in 100 percent of the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Pavillon Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pavillon Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.