We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A splendid Hotel in the Old City of Bogota” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa Deco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Casa Deco to your Saves list
Hotel Casa Deco
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12c-2-36 | Calle 12c # 2-36, Bogota 111117, Colombia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #18 of 242 Hotels in Bogota
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A splendid Hotel in the Old City of Bogota”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

Casa Deco is only a year old but it runs like a very well oiled machine.
An extremely friendly staff led by Gianpaolo Magnani makes sure that every need of every guest is taken care of. The rooms are modern and airy. The best one is room 403, a mini-suite which includes a very large terrace, with panoramic views of the city. Delicious full breakfasts include fruit salad and your choice of eggs or pancakes. A lovely travel experience.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    173
    29
    6
    4
See reviews for
66
240
82
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

This was my first trip to South America and Colombia. I found pictures of Casa Deco's color-themed rooms online and liked the decor of the hotel. When I attempted to book it, they did not have 2 rooms open, so I emailed them to confirm availability. It was a relief to be able to conduct business in English and the owner was very accommodating. Since they did not have 2 executive rooms, they gave us an executive and a suite for the same price. When we arrived after midnight, the staff was helpful and cordial, and the rooms were clean and beautifully designed. The hotel provided earplugs as courtesy, probably because our room was next door to a hostel, but we did not need them as our neighbors were respectful and kept the noise to a minimum. The beds were very comfortable and our suite had two enormous picture windows with appealing views of the surrounding area and mountains.

Colombia is an entirely different world when it comes to service. The hotel has a nylon-string guitar player who performs during breakfast (Juan Carlos, who plays beautifully). When we went down for breakfast and were served warm bread and coffee, I assumed that was it (and the bread was delicious). Being from the states, when a hotel states breakfast is included, it is usually continental and not very impressive. However, this was not the case at Casa Deco. Along with the bread, coffee and fresh juice, we were served bowls of fresh fruit, eggs cooked to order and pancakes (which we declined as we were already stuffed). In addition, we requested cafe con leche daily on the rooftop terrace, which was a wonderful way to spend an hour here and there in the afternoons. The terrace has a lovely view of the colonial district of Bogota and the surrounding mountains; you can even see Monserrate. One member of the staff, Felipe, really contributed to the enjoyment of our experience. He was unfailingly helpful, his English was perfect, and he never made us feel like we were putting him out with our requests (walking up 8 flights of steps to bring us coffee several times a day would not be looked on pleasantly in the states).

I was concerned when a local travel agent advised me against staying in La Candelaria, but am so happy I disregarded his encouragement to stay in a different area (at a much more expensive hotel). There are private security guards literally every other street, and Bogotanos are very patient with rudimentary Spanish and usually speak enough English to help with directions and suggestions (all of the hotel staff spoke English). The area has numerous museums (Gold Museum, Botero art museum, la casa de Simon Bolivar, etc.) within walking distance and literally around the corner is la plaza de churro de quevedo, which houses the oldest church and founding spot of Bogota. It also boasts Rosita's, a delicious and inexpensive restaurant that has traditional Colombian dishes, a must-visit for foreigners. Monserrate's cable car is also a short distance away.

Overall, the hotel was charming, the service was exceptional, and the location was the best for sightseeing and convenience. Waking to live guitar music reverberating up the hardwood Spanish staircases made staying at Casa Deco worth the cost and then some.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ampthill, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

This hotel which is located in La Candelaria is in a really good location with many of the main sights & several good restaurants within walking distance. The staff were all very friendly & helpful & several of them spoke excellent English. The only slight downside was that we were woken up at 6am by the kids going to school, but that's probably the same anywhere in this area of Bogota. Alot of thought has been put into the decoration & furnishings in the hotel with reproductions of Klimt paintings on all the walls & large potted plants in the reception & breakfast area.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

I cant say enough good things about this wonderful little hotel. It is new, clean, very well managed. Owner is available with advice on everything. Room and bathroom have everything you need and just the right size. Breakfast is great. Location perfect. The rooftop veranda is a great place to relax with a beer and enjoy the rooftops of Bogota. Recommend it very highly.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

Casa Deco was truly an oasis - we've been traveling in South America for 4 months now and it was the BEST. Large, modern clean rooms, roof top terrace for sunsets, great breakfasts, friendly staff, Live classical guitar during breakfast and classical music during the day and sunset. Excellent wifi, small intimate bar and is the best area (Candelaria) of Bogota. Gianpaulo, the manager, was extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

Deco represents all that's best in boutique, and easily ranks amongst the best hotels of it's kind I've had the privilege to stay in. Moreover, it was nearly as inexpensive as the spare and uninviting hostel I escaped from the night before. The proprietor, Gianpaolo, was an indispensable resource during my brief stay in Bogota, and I don't believe my boyfriend and I could have navigated the city without his patient help. He was able to point us toward an amazing tour of Candelaria, the best place to buy a suit, to buy an emerald, to have dinner etc. Funny, informative and charming, he made us feel instantly at home. Our room was spacious (an understatement...it was nearly as large as my apartment) and bright, with an amazing terrace and a great view of the neighboring mountains. Beyond this, it was unique and stylish with great attention to detail. I especially appreciated waking up each morning to the sounds of the Spanish guitar wafting up from the lower courtyard. All in all, it is perfection and a true gem. My thanks to all of the staff for making our stay so memorable! I will certainly return.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2011

This is a a stylish, comfortable hotel in a great location and with a staff that is consistently warmly hospitable and helpful "con gusto." I love small, sytlish hotels that have a strong sense of place, and this hotel had all of that and more. The photos on the hotel website accurately depict what you will find. On a few mornings, we awoke to the soft background music of a classical guitarist who was accompanying breakfast. (Be sure to have the excellent hot chocolate at breakfast.)
We enjoyed walking through the streets, taking photos of the historic and colorful neighborhood, and we felt completely safe. The Botero museum complex, the Museo de Oro, the cable car to Montserrat, and Bolivar's house are all within walking distance. We took taxis (inexpensive) to the excellent restaurant neighborhoods recommended by the staff. (Also, when you arrive at Bogota airport, go to the tourist information desk for very good maps and a restaurant guide that includes reliable ratings.)
Others have written about street noise, which we did not experience, despite being at the hotel for four nights that included a weekend. Our rooms were at the back of the hotel, which may have made a difference. In addition, many buildings in Bogota, including this hotel, do not have heating. I am sensitive to the cold and thought this might be a problem, but the days were fine and closing the shades at night kept the room comfortable. I did not find it necessary to request a space heater.
All together, we left this hotel with happy memories and warm feelings.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Casa Deco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Deco

Address: 12c-2-36 | Calle 12c # 2-36, Bogota 111117, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bogota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 242 Hotels in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Casa Deco 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
the hotel casa deco emerges in a wonderful decó refurbished building. the inside has a pleasant Italian touch with lovely details given by its Italian owner. it offers the perfect combination between a discrete service with a personal, cozy and artistic touch. the interior of the hotel has generous spaces, high ceilings, wooden floors, big windows and balconies to look out over the nearby pedestrian streets. casa deco hotel is located in the most important governmental and cultural centre of the colombian capital. most of the mayor historical monuments, colonial spots and tourist attractions, such as the gold and the botero museums vanguards theatres and the cathedral situated in front of the plaza de bolivar, are just few minutes away by foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Casa Deco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa Deco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.