We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel to visit Bogota” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa Deco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Casa Deco to your Saves list
Hotel Casa Deco
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12c-2-36 | Calle 12c # 2-36, Bogota 111117, Colombia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 236 Hotels in Bogota
Bern, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great hotel to visit Bogota”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

If you would like to reach the main attractions by foot, this hotel is perfect. You can reach the Museo del Oro, the Mount Monserrate and the Museo Botero within walking distance. From the rooftop terrace you have a great view on the Mount Monserrate. The staff at the front desk is very friendly and helpful. They gave us some good advice to plan our stay in Bogota. Even the hotel manager really helped us to organise an excursion. We stayed for one week in the Casa Deco. Sometimes there was a young man playing guitar in the morning, which was a nice way to get woken up. A continental breakfast was served with fresh fruits. During the day there was a table with different sorts of tea (for free). WiFi was also included.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    159
    27
    6
    4
See reviews for
62
225
75
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
BremertonWA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

One thing not mentioned in the other reviews is the view of Montserrate from the top floor room as well as the large terrace which overlooks the street as well. Be sure to ask for that room. There is no elevator, but the staff manages your luggage. One other quick note: it was quite cool for our visit December 23rd and 24th, with no central heating, so be sure to bring a few extra layers for that part of a trip. Otherwise, all the reviewers are correct - lovely, comfortable and very beautifully furnished and decorated. Also, arrange for a tour before arriving with Edgar of exlorabogota@gmail.com. He is an extraordinarly well-informed guide.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Great location in the heart of La Candelaria, be prepared, as a result for it to be noisy. In fact be prepared for there to be high level of noise everywhere you go in Colombia, it's part of the charm!

The room we had was large with plenty of space for opening suitcases, shower was ok, breakfast was also ok. Price meant it was very much value for money. The staff were really helpful, were happy to bring our cases upstairs when they arrived having got lost in transit. We explained what happened and they kept us up to date with the calls from the airline which was much appreciated.

One downside was a guy playing the guitar whilst people had breakfast. Nice whilst you were eating breakfast not so nice when trying to catch up on sleep after a late night as it echoed through the internal hall.

Also be prepared for hard pillows, we found this to be the norm in all hotels except one.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, MA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

This has to be one of the best choices in La Candelaria. It is wildly noisy at night when everything comes to life, but that's just the location.

The hotel is clean and rooms and beds are comfortable. The shower was hot, with good pressure.

All the rooms have a color and art theme. The accent colors all match and complement the paintings on the walls. Most of the artwork seems to be Gustav Klimpt and another artist I was not familiar with. The decor is tasteful, as is the lighting, and it was really quite pleasant to spend time in the room.

The two top floor rooms have a balcony looking out onto the Candelaria with good views of the city and Montserrat. Part of the balcony is open to all guests, though this was closed in November, when we stayed there.

The staff are very helpful, pleasant and knowledgeable about the area. There was one evening where we waited 20 minutes to be let in (the doors are locked at all times) at around 8:30. This was annoying but we can call it a one-off thing, giving benefit of the doubt.

The breakfast was good and the eating area is clean and pleasant. El senior who serves breakfast and manages the kitchen was a delight. He was attentive and good-natured.

There is sort of a bar as well. Specifically, there is a glass liquor cabinet and a counter. I did ask for a drink one night and the gentleman at the reception obligingly searched for the key, managed to open the cabinet and poured me my whisky. He said he had never done it before so he just said to tell me how much I wanted. Needless to say, it ended up a good deal, but it's not really a "hotel bar" if you're into that sort of thing.

I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

If you want to stay in Candelaria, I think this is a great option and can not imagine something better. The rooms are huge and nicely appointed and the staff is warm and helpful. The breakfast (included) is outstanding! La Candelaria is a must see as most of the museums are there and it is charming by day. By night, however, it is somewhat lonely and there are far fewer restaurants and bars there than in Parque 93, Zona G, or Zona Rosa. If you enjoy being able to stroll the streets by night and having a long meal followed by a glass of something, this may not be the right neighborhood for you. We did half and half and I'm glad to have seen both. When staying here, we took a taxi to dinners at night and a taxi home. The staff was very helpful and the location is great for walking to the various sights and museums. We were on the top floor and there is no elevator, so if you have difficulty with stairs you may want to stay on a lower floor, but there you are more likely to hear noise from the lobby/breakfast area. Overall we had a lovely experience and loved this Colombian gem!

Room Tip: Be aware there is no elevator and ask for a quiet room (we did, and our room was quiet, but I know o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel in La Candalaria. Close to all the attractions and lots of bars and restaurants. Top floor rooms are best with direct access to the roof terrace and wonderful views. Staff are very friendly and helpful.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

For me, La Candelaria was the best area to stay in Bogota, despite the somewhat sketchy feel later at night. A fascinating neighborhood, close to so many of the sights.

Hotel Casa Deco is nicely decorated (lots of bold colors) and has a really friendly and helpful staff. My room on the top floor was big. I was concerned at first because all the windows were frosted. Lots of light, but no view. (Presumably to protect the guest's privacy from the balcony that runs all around the room.) From the balcony, the views are sweeping and lovely, and part of it is sectioned off as a private balcony for the room.

As other reviewers have commented, noise can be an issue, which is the only reason I rated it 4 instead of 5. The open internal staircase funnels noise from the lobby and lower floors. From my room, the outside noise wasn't bad at all -- just typical city noise -- though I didn't stay over the weekend, when the neighborhood may be a lot busier.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casa Deco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Deco

Address: 12c-2-36 | Calle 12c # 2-36, Bogota 111117, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bogota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 236 Hotels in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Casa Deco 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
the hotel casa deco emerges in a wonderful decó refurbished building. the inside has a pleasant Italian touch with lovely details given by its Italian owner. it offers the perfect combination between a discrete service with a personal, cozy and artistic touch. the interior of the hotel has generous spaces, high ceilings, wooden floors, big windows and balconies to look out over the nearby pedestrian streets. casa deco hotel is located in the most important governmental and cultural centre of the colombian capital. most of the mayor historical monuments, colonial spots and tourist attractions, such as the gold and the botero museums vanguards theatres and the cathedral situated in front of the plaza de bolivar, are just few minutes away by foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Casa Deco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa Deco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.