We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute hotel, perfectly located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa Deco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Casa Deco to your Saves list
Hotel Casa Deco
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12c-2-36 | Calle 12c # 2-36, Bogota 111117, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 242 Hotels in Bogota
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
50 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Cute hotel, perfectly located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

For me, La Candelaria was the best area to stay in Bogota, despite the somewhat sketchy feel later at night. A fascinating neighborhood, close to so many of the sights.

Hotel Casa Deco is nicely decorated (lots of bold colors) and has a really friendly and helpful staff. My room on the top floor was big. I was concerned at first because all the windows were frosted. Lots of light, but no view. (Presumably to protect the guest's privacy from the balcony that runs all around the room.) From the balcony, the views are sweeping and lovely, and part of it is sectioned off as a private balcony for the room.

As other reviewers have commented, noise can be an issue, which is the only reason I rated it 4 instead of 5. The open internal staircase funnels noise from the lobby and lower floors. From my room, the outside noise wasn't bad at all -- just typical city noise -- though I didn't stay over the weekend, when the neighborhood may be a lot busier.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    175
    29
    6
    4
See reviews for
67
244
82
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

The staff was wonderful. My bag got lost and they kept calling the airlines to check. They were very helpful.
The breakfast was delicious!
The location was great. Fun to walk around from there to visit downtown Bogota.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Well located hotel close to the old historical area in Bogota. The main tourist attractions are within easy walking distance if you don't mind walking at an altitude of 2600m. Inside is very nicely decorated and our room was a good size, comfortable and clean. Breakfast was plain but good. What impressed us was the fantastic staff who were very friendly and helpful in recommending restaurants, getting taxis and just friendly advice. If there had to be a complaint then it would be about noise but the hotel is close to the centre of the tourist attractions and the narrow streets are busy with vehicles so there has to be some compromise and I guess all hotels in this area must suffer with noise. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Stayed here right at the beginning of our holiday in Colombia. The weather was chilly and wet. Our room was large, well furnished, right on the street but reasonably quiet and the bed was excellent, large and warm. The shower in the bathroom was a bit feeble, but ok. The staff ar excellent, speak better English than I speak Spanish (mind you that's not saying much) and are very helpful. The breakfasts are fruit salad, eggs, and croissant. The coffee could be better, very watery and weak, but the rest was fine. Highly recommended

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage Alaska
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

From the moment we arrived to the time we left, we felt at home at this hotel. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly. Lina at the front desk went out of her way to answer all of our questions and went over and above what was necessary to deliver personal and professional service. Paulo the owner runs a great hotel and anticipates the needs of guests. Jaime the breakfast waiter is very good at what he does and has the patience of Job putting up with picky guests in the sometimes busy dining room. The talented musician playing soothing classical guitar during breakfast was a welcome surprise. A hearty thank you to the guy on night duty (I forgot his name) who we startled at 3 in the morning after we arrived on a late flight.

The rooms are large, clean, comfortable and retain their old colonial charm. It can get a little noisy if guests stomp up the stairs without regard for anyone but themselves but this was not a problem to us. Regarding the noise–if you book a hotel in the middle of a thriving, living city you can expect a little noise. If it's absolute silence you want, go to the countryside.

Everything was within walking distance: 20 minutes to the funicular; less than 10 minutes to an ATM, town square and the museums. Just up the street is the hip plaza del Chorro de Quevedo where you can hang with the local college kids. The rooftop terrace offers panoramic views of this wonderful neighborhood. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

This was a great little place in the centre of the old town in Bogota. Walking distance to all the local sites. They arranged an airport pickup for us and we felt very welcome - staff were really friendly! Only drawback was there wasn't many restaurants for dinner close by, other than that would recommend it!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

I will echo a bit of what Nov. 11's review said: it probably sure can be the best in the neighborhood that is heavy on hostels; I *maybe* passed a nicer looking hotel in La Candelaria, but it may not have really been. It's a boutique hotel look and feel - the breakfast far surpasses what usually passes for included, the staff is extremely friendly from reservation through all stages of on-site, the room for us 2 adults was ample and comfortable. Sure, the bed could be softer and the water pressure better, but that's quibbling. One sincere critique = boy, does sound travel...from outside even up to 3rd floor and from down in the lobby. Otherwise, I would definitely recommend this hotel for the neighborhood and would stay again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Casa Deco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Deco

Address: 12c-2-36 | Calle 12c # 2-36, Bogota 111117, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bogota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 242 Hotels in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Casa Deco 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
the hotel casa deco emerges in a wonderful decó refurbished building. the inside has a pleasant Italian touch with lovely details given by its Italian owner. it offers the perfect combination between a discrete service with a personal, cozy and artistic touch. the interior of the hotel has generous spaces, high ceilings, wooden floors, big windows and balconies to look out over the nearby pedestrian streets. casa deco hotel is located in the most important governmental and cultural centre of the colombian capital. most of the mayor historical monuments, colonial spots and tourist attractions, such as the gold and the botero museums vanguards theatres and the cathedral situated in front of the plaza de bolivar, are just few minutes away by foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Casa Deco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa Deco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.