We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful hotel in the old town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa Deco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Casa Deco to your Saves list
Hotel Casa Deco
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12c-2-36 | Calle 12c # 2-36, Bogota 111117, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 242 Hotels in Bogota
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A wonderful hotel in the old town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel several times. Every year, when I come to Bogota for business, I will stay in this hotel. This is one of the small hotels in places I have been in the world (and I have been to many). There are many things to like about this hotel: location, reception, service, room, breakfast, etc. The internal decor is very unique and tasteful. I always at home whenever I stay here. I can't recommend this hotel more. I will definitely stay here again next time I come to Bogota.

Room Tip: the top floor rooms. They cost more but worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    175
    29
    6
    4
See reviews for
67
244
82
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed in Casa Deco for 3 nights, lovely spacious and clean room, great breakfast. Very helpful staff, great location. We were the night of a bank holiday and it was very noisy from the street, but that could have been a one off.The location makes it perfect fro exploring the Candelaria.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

We tried some other hotels in Bogotà, but Casa Deco is the best for atmosphere, amazing new rooms with mosaics and a very tipical colombian style. Excellent the view from the terrace; excellent is all the team. The owners are also the most important expert and sellers of emeralds in the city. We raccomand it, to enjoy your stay. Take the best to get rest.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

My fiancé and I spent 5 nights in Casa Deco while we explored Bogotá and the surrounding areas. The hotel itself is beautifully renovated and our room was spacious, clean and artfully decorated. The house embodies subtle Colombian charm, complete with a winding staircase throughout. We often had coffee or wine on the patio, which overlooks La Candelaria and provides stunning mountain views. Breakfast was freshly prepared every morning with choices of eggs and fresh juice. Casa Deco's location made it easy for us to visit all of the wonderful attractions and sights the south has to offer, including El Museo de Oro, Monserrate, and Plaza Bolívar. The accommodating staff ensured our safety and comfort, although the area felt very secure at all times. We enjoyed a wonderful vacation at Casa Deco and will definitely be back for the next trip to the south of Bogotá.

Room Tip: The trip up the spiral staircase is well worth the easy access to the hotel's balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This is a little gem in a great city. The staff and owner really took care of us when we stayed here giving really useful advice. It helped us get the most out of our time here. Really convenient position; great rooms; good breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We had originally planned to stay in the north, but since we only had one day in Bogota, decided it would be better to stay closer to where we would spend our day. La Candelaria has a reputation for being a bit unsafe, and I imagine at night it is, but we stayed where there were a lot of people and were fine (though heard later about a mugging in the area). A little bit of common sense and some caution will do you fine though.
The hotel itself was lovely, including the rooftop! The staff at the desk were wonderfully friendly and helpful with everything. We stayed in a purple room that faced the street, but the noise was minimal. We loved the herbal tea, coca tea, and coffee that was always on hand (I was even offered a little carafe to take to my room). Breakfast was a standard meal and served well enough - the fresh fruit and fruit juice were lovely.
All in all, much recommended, as the rooms are large, the location fantastic, and the staff very accomodating!

Room Tip: we were fine with a street facing room on the second floor! it is a bit cold though (and no heating...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We really enjoyed Casa Deco. It is very attractive, and it is in a GREAT location. We walked everywhere we went inside the city, and we felt safe walking home from dinner each night. The staff were helpful, friendly and made us feel at home with little extras like bringing us cups of fruit-infused tea after we arrived after midnight due to a delayed flight. They pointed us to a good restaurant with live music (Gato Gris), and made arrangements with a wonderful English-speaking driver/guide (Marguerite), whom we highly recommend for a day outside of the city and the trip to the airport. The bedding is a bit firm, and the pillows too large for my taste. The breakfast was very good. They were very accommodating when I wanted something slightly different from what was offered (I don't like papaya so they gave me extra bananas and strawberries instead). Our only complaint would be that sounds from the lobby carried up to our room, waking us when the phone rang or people talked in the lobby in the middle of the night. The very attractive decor is all hard materials, including nice woods. Perhaps some strategically placed textiles could improve the acoustics. We would definitely stay here again, nonetheless.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not right at the top of the stairs from the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Casa Deco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Deco

Address: 12c-2-36 | Calle 12c # 2-36, Bogota 111117, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bogota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 242 Hotels in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Casa Deco 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
the hotel casa deco emerges in a wonderful decó refurbished building. the inside has a pleasant Italian touch with lovely details given by its Italian owner. it offers the perfect combination between a discrete service with a personal, cozy and artistic touch. the interior of the hotel has generous spaces, high ceilings, wooden floors, big windows and balconies to look out over the nearby pedestrian streets. casa deco hotel is located in the most important governmental and cultural centre of the colombian capital. most of the mayor historical monuments, colonial spots and tourist attractions, such as the gold and the botero museums vanguards theatres and the cathedral situated in front of the plaza de bolivar, are just few minutes away by foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Casa Deco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa Deco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.