We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place Near the Airport” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bogota Marriott Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Bogota Marriott Hotel to your Saves list
Bogota Marriott Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. El Dorado #69b-53, Bogota, Colombia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Brkf+WiFi+Massage+Parking
Ranked #1 of 240 Hotels in Bogota
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A Great Place Near the Airport”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

A perfect place to stay in Bogota near the International Airport. It´s a safe area and near a couple of nice Malls. There is one 4 blocks away (Salitre Center). The other one you have to go by car (Gran Central).
Normal Rooms aren´t very big, but they are well organized, comfortable and very clean. It looks like a new hotel and it´s internal design is very modern.
If your looking for security...it´s all there also. Efficient Check-in and Check-out. Complete car service. There is also an airport shuttle.
It has 2 good restaurants and complete room service.
Breakfast...simple perfect.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juanpie, Manager at Bogota Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments. We are strategically located near the Intl. Airport within the area of Salitre, surrounded of great entertainment, fine dining and the best shopping in town. Our hotel was built in 2009 and yes, you're right...it still looks like new. I'm sure our hotel staff will be happy to read your review and please know that we will do all in our hands to maintain the "perfect" status.
We hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    696
    199
    34
    6
    10
See reviews for
93
158
73
498
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Retiro, Colombia
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This is an excellent hotel in Bogota 10 minutes from the airport and within walking distance to pubs and restaurants. The place is spacious and clean - top notch security for example, with your room key you only have access to that floor and the 1st floor so you can't roam the hotel. The room is good sized, private balcony and comes with heat (it gets cold in Bogota). Service is very good - and they have a free shuttle to the airport. We used points (10,000) to pay for the room and will definitely return.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peru
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I had to stay in this hotel when my trip to Medellin was modified at the last minute. I arrived at midnight, a hotel taxi was waiting for me. The check in procedure was efficient and quick. Room service breakfast was punctual at 530 and delicious. I am sure that if you need to stay around that area of Bogota, this hotel is great choice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juanpie, Manager at Bogota Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and the services we provide. We hope to see you soon when travel needs bring you back to our city. I'm sure you'll love our restaurant as much as you loved room service breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I stayed overnight at this hotel on my way to Buenos Aires. Clean, nice bedding, near airport so it was convenient.
The room was big, bathroom also of a good size and nice fixtures. Water pressure in shower was POOR, honestly the only drawback. Stayed in room 610 (in front of elevators) just in case the Manager reads this review and wants to check the water pressure in person.

The wanted to charge me USD 30 (thirty dollars) for WIFI connection, which i did not pay of course. People, we are in 2013, WIFI should be free in hotels where you pay near USD 300 for a room. PERIOD, no excuses.
Front desk people sort of aloof and not very friendly, but they did their work just fine.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juanpie, Manager at Bogota Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments. We read each and every one of the reviews that our guests write. They all are important and help us improve our service and attention. Our engineer went to room 610 to check water pressure in shower and noticed the problem. It has been fixed. Again, Thank YOU!
We've also passed on your comments to our front desk associates. We do not tolerate aloof service, we strive for perfection when it comes to treat our guests and make them feel like at home.

Once again thank you for writing and we hope to see you back soon when travel needs bring you back to Bogota.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Newly built hotel with contemporary decoration all across the hotel. Price isnt cheap for a place like Bogota. Location is near airport hence far away from everything else. Food was average. Service was good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juanpie, Manager at Bogota Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. You are correct, our hotel is located near the airport in the Salitre area of Bogota. We have shopping centers within walking distance, fine dining around and great entertainment not too far away. The advantage here is that the hotel can arrange safe and not too expensive transportation to visit other areas. I'm sorry to hear that you did not have a great dining experience. Average is not good for us. We'll pass on your comments to our chef whom I'm sure will make necessary adjustments to avoid "average experiences". Visit us again soon, we'll do all our efforts to make you change your opinion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed here on Marriott points for a birthday celebration (its a great place to use Marriott points- good value!). The room was extremely clean and comfortable. Great pillows and bed. The executive lounge and staff were fantastic. The breakfast was good and evening snacks were generally good too. The location is farther away from some of the main sites, but you can easily book a hotel taxi to cheaply get where you need to go. The neighborhood around the hotel was very safe, had good restaurants (a number of steak places, Bogota Beer, Wings) and was a nice place to walk around during the day. There is a small mall within walking distance. The only negative of our trip was really just miscommunication between different people. We booked a tour through the hotel and at one point the concierge said that they would pay the tour company and we would pay Marriott at the end. But this didn't happen so we had to quickly come up with money to pay our guide. The front desk staff all was "in training", the concierge was gone and it was just a weird situation. I'd stay again, but I'd just avoid interaction with the less experienced front desk staff. We did the airport shuttle at the end of the trip (we took a normal taxi from the airport- that was fine too). I'd recommend either, but the shuttle is nice because its free.

Room Tip: Executive Level is great if you can get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juanpie, Manager at Bogota Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience at our hotel. We strive daily for customer satisfaction and yes, you're right, we had various associates in training. By now the majority of them are already trained and waiting to serve you as you deserve. You'll notice next time you visit. See you then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartsville, SC
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
200 helpful votes 200 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This is an exceptional hotel by Marriott. Much better service, decor and overall quality than typical Marriott hotels in the states.

My wife and I were on our way to the states from Bogota when United Airlines offered us travel vouchers to stay another day. We accepted their offer and were given a room at the Marriott. As such, this review is written from a different perspective than most, because we paid nothing for the room.

We had no issues getting to the hotel (via shuttle) or from the hotel to the airport. We left the airport at noon, so it was not an off-hour issue, as some reviews have pointed out. We left the hotel to the airport at 6:00 am. Again, no issue. As a word of advice to other travelers: if you are concerned about the shuttle, simply take a taxi. The taxi fare from the airport to the hotel is no more than 8000 Colombian Pesos, including an airport fee. This is about $4.50. I realize that the shuttle is free, but I try not to sweat the small stuff.

Check in was easy and the service was excellent. Very professional. The room was fantastic. Very clean, excellent bedding, new decor. There was absolutely nothing that I could say negative regarding this hotel.

There was some confusion regarding the United meal vouchers. The check-in staff didn't know what they were. Several of the staff members informed us that we could use the vouchers as cash. We later found out that this was not true. A very specific and limited menu exists for those using the vouchers. However, despite the confusion, the hotel's restaurant manager took care of everything for us. He amazed us with his service, professionalism and kindness.

Be aware that the other wait staff are a bit over-eager to please. Just keep in mind that most of these folks are "professional" food specialists and received education on how to provide exceptional service. Most are also bilingual. They can be a bit annoying sometimes, but only because they want to please you.

Keep lots of $1 or 1000/2000 Peso bills. Tip frequently in this hotel. It is expected.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juanpie, Manager at Bogota Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Mark R.

Thank you so much for your fantastic review. We are proud of our product and we all strive daily to maintain it as it was the day we opened it. We've taken note about your comment on the "annoying sometimes" referring to our service in the restaurant. We understand some guests do not want to be bother so often so we've let our associates know and see your review so that they can have a little bit more touch when approaching. You can rest assure that we'll do all in our hands to satisfy each and every one of our customers.

See you next time when your travel needs bring you back to our city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bogota Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bogota Marriott Hotel

Address: Av. El Dorado #69b-53, Bogota, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bogota
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 240 Hotels in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bogota Marriott Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bogota Marriott is located in the financial and entertainment center of Salitre, just 10 minutes away from the International Airport El Dorado. The hotel offers the highest speed Internet access available in the city (64 MB). Our 239 rooms feature exclusive sound proof windows, 300-thread count Egyptian cotton linen as well as down feather mattress topper to generate maximum comfort and a unique experience in relaxation. Visit Pimento, an exquisite and elegant Italian restaurant and Tanoshii, our sushi bar to kick back, have a drink, and enjoy chill-out music and genuine Japanese cuisine. Stepping out of this Luxury hotel you will find two of the most important shopping malls in Bogota as well as the Chamber of Commerce. Maloka Interactive Center and Salitre Magico amusement park are just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Marriott so you can book your Bogota Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bogota Marriott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.