We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bogota Marriott Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Bogota Marriott Hotel to your Saves list
Bogota Marriott Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. El Dorado #69b-53, Bogota, Colombia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #7 of 232 Hotels in Bogota
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“I love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

I should say I am a regular now because of work. Really nice place if you are in Bogota on business or need to spend the night. Located in a semi-business area, around 10 minutes away from the center of town and about the same distance from the international airport. Staff members are amiable – check-in is always done quickly. The rooms are comfortable, fully equipped and quiet. Décor is contemporary, the gym and pool are cool and breakfast is overwhelming. It also has a spa and executive floor.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floors. The view is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_ManagerBOG, Manager at Bogota Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time to submit your traveler opinion.
We are glad you love our hotel as well as our comfortable rooms and the contemporary décor. We are very fortunate to be only 15 minutes away from the International Airport and about 15 minutes from downtown Bogota.

We hope to have you with us again so that hopefully you can treat your self at the gym, pool and spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    156
    29
    7
    8
See reviews for
61
115
63
325
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

This is not for a tourist. It's about a $12 taxi ride into the tourist area. Everything costs extra (internet is $16 a day) and the restaurant and bar are expensive! There is no point in spending this kind of money for a hotel in Bogota. Of course, if you are on an expense account and in Bogota on business, sure. Otherwise, stay in the La Candalaria district.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_ManagerBOG, Manager at Bogota Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for providing us with your comments. It is important for us to know what our guests think about our hotel. Bogota is a very big city and there are tourists’ areas all around Bogota. You are right, the hotel is located in a privileged location near the airport, excellent for the business traveler, however, just minutes away from the hotel we have one of the most renowned theme parks of South America, some of the biggest malls in Bogota and great Colombian and international gastronomy. Regarding the Internet, we may not offer it for free but we guarantee you the best and fastest Internet access in the market with 26mb bandwidth to assure that your experience will always be a pleasant one whether using it for business or pleasure.
We also agree with you regarding La Candelaria district. It is beautiful and every tourist in Bogota should take some time to visit. I am sure it is worth the 12usd ride (roundtrip).
Once again thank you and we hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

The hotel is very nice and clean and in a good location, the staff is not very friendly, this is the only hotel that i have stayed that charges for Internet and breakfast and it is super expensive at over 16.00 dollars a day for Internet is robbery it should be free or at least a small fee. the breakfast is very good but for 16 dollars is very expensive considering that in most hotels is free

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_ManagerBOG, Manager at Bogota Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear guest,

We thank you for your comments. It is important for us to know your opinion regarding our hotel and our staff. I apologize that you found our prices expensive. There are some hotels that offer complimentary breakfast and some others that don’t. Among those that are not offering it complimentary I can assure you our prices are very competitive and the superb quality of the items we serve have provided us with a renown reputation in the market. Regarding the Internet, we may not offer it for free but we guarantee you the best and fastest Internet access in the market with 26mb bandwidth to assure that your experience will always be a pleasant one whether using it for business or pleasure. Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

I slept in this hotel in March (I wrote an excellent review) and I slept again in June this year. What a difference 3 months can make. Check-in took me 43 minutes. The slippers in my bedroom were dirty (I guess someone used them before and they had not been changed). The business center forgot an important request I had made for a Fedex delivery. I insisted the second day and they forgot to instruct hotel security to let the Fedex officer get in. I made a reservation at the restaurant for lunch so I could receive an important customer properly. Then I found out they made a mistake and gave the table I have booked to another guest. Their restaurant buffet is really poor, only starters and dessert and, if you order the main course a la carte, make sure you select the suggestion of the day (only two dishes) otherwise it will take a very, very long time for you to be served.Their gym was the only good memory from my previous stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_ManagerBOG, Manager at Bogota Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear Alex:

Thank you for taking the time to post your comment for second time in our page. We would like to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced in your last visit with us and for the problems that we may have caused. We have already shared your comments with our Housekeeping, Food & Beverage and Business Center staff and we can assure you that we are taking the necessary measures to ensure this situation will not occur in the future.

Once again thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. It is only with your insight that we can continuously improve.

We hope you can give us a second chance to proof our commitment and if there is anything else that we can assist you with please do not hesitate to contact us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

I am generally not a fan of chain hotels but the ambiance and good service made this an exception. The location was a bit remote but all other aspects of the hotel were great. Lovely lap pool and health club and the rooms were comfortable and well appointed. I liked it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_ManagerBOG, Manager at Bogota Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear guest:

We are so pleased to know that our service was an exception for you as well as our lap pool and our comfortable rooms were of you satisfaction. We hope to know from you soon and do not forget to take a massage as well in our lovely health club.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north america
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

I base this review on comparisons with other hotels in Bogota during my 25 years of working here - these include the Bogota Charleston, the Bogota Royal, the Radisson, Sofitel, Hotel de la Opera, Tequendama, Park 101 and others.

Overall, I will go back to the Hotel Charleston next time.

The JW Marriott is a good hotel, though there are weaknesses. I paid $209 on Orbitz, with breakfast included. It is certainly not worth more than that, and I would never pay the $369 or so demanded on Marriott's web page.

On the positive side, the Hotel is palatial. The breakfast buffet is outstanding. Service, in general, is superb. Regarding the room, the bed is comfortable, the room is well-appointed, and the bathroom is great.

The pool, jacuzzi and steam room area are nice.

But there are weaknesses.

The gym is much too small to get a proper workout, unless you're content with treadmills. The gym is poorly equipped, and not as good as other Marriott properties. Because of this, I bought a pass to nearby Bodytech gym, but this was expensive and I wish Marriott's own gym was better.

There are other weaknesses.

Regarding the room, there are no openable windows. I like to have a little fresh air, and after six days at the hotel, got tired of the canned air in the hotel.

The workspace area could be larger. Wireless internet is very poor and unacceptable for business purposes, though they charge extra for it. You have to plug into the system to get decent (though not good) internet reception, but the desk is not close to the outlet - this means you have to ask maintenance for a longer cord, which they provide.

My serious complaint regards room service, but this may only be because I have special dietary needs. I am a diabetic and ordered a meal that took 45 minutes to arrive, but was incorrect and required another 45 minutes. Because I had injected insulin, this created a health issue for me. I received no courtesy for the inconvenience.

The Charleston is a smaller, boutique hotel. It does not have the big hotel buzz that the Marriott does, and does not have the amenities (spa, pool, steam room and so on). But the rooms are twice as big, just as nice, service is superb, foods is outstanding, rooms have openable windows, and it is in a much better location. I think the Charleston is better than the Marriott overall.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Bogota Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to share your comment. We would really like to know if you stayed at the JW Marriott Bogota, on 73rd st or Marriott Bogota, near the airport on 26th ave. We need this information to address your comments in a proper manner. Due to Tripadvisor policies we cannot provide contact information, or ask you to provide it so, if you consider it important please find a way to contact us referring to this comment.

Thank you so much again and hope to hear back from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012 via mobile

Highly recommended! I've stayed at several different chain hotels in the city, but my first option is always the Marriott bogota. It has very nice rooms, nice bathrooms, clean and modern. Is even better if you get the executive rooms (floors 8 n up), even if it's just an upgrade. The staff is great and so is the overall service. The breakfast is really good.
The location is another advantage, unless you need to go to the financial center, which is on the other side of the city (and traffic is a pain). But you have nice restaurants within walking distance, and the mall gran estacion is less than 10 mins in taxi (btw taxis are cheap in bogota).

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_ManagerBOG, Manager at Bogota Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Dear RCandle.
Thank you for taking the time to submit your traveler opinion.
It is a pleasure for us to know that your first option for stay in Bogota is our hotel. Our rooms are clean and modern as you said; but the rooms of the 9th and 10th floors are Concierge Rooms. Concierge rooms grant you access to the Executive Lounge, where you can find a hot and cold buffet breakfast served from 6:00 am to 10:30 am and from 5:30 pm to 8:00 pm the canapés. As you mentioned, the surrounding area have many restaurants and two malls within walking distance. We have it all!
We hope to know from you soon to have the pleasure to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bogota Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bogota Marriott Hotel

Address: Av. El Dorado #69b-53, Bogota, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bogota
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 232 Hotels in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bogota Marriott Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bogota Marriott is located in the financial and entertainment center of Salitre, just 10 minutes away from the International Airport El Dorado. The hotel offers the highest speed Internet access available in the city (64 MB). Our 239 rooms feature exclusive sound proof windows, 300-thread count Egyptian cotton linen as well as down feather mattress topper to generate maximum comfort and a unique experience in relaxation. Visit Pimento, an exquisite and elegant Italian restaurant and Tanoshii, our sushi bar to kick back, have a drink, and enjoy chill-out music and genuine Japanese cuisine. Stepping out of this Luxury hotel you will find two of the most important shopping malls in Bogota as well as the Chamber of Commerce. Maloka Interactive Center and Salitre Magico amusement park are just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bogota Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bogota Marriott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.