We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and friendly staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Destino Nomada - DnHostel Bogota

Save Saved
You added Destino Nomada - DnHostel Bogota to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Destino Nomada - DnHostel Bogota
Calle 11 No. 01 - 38 | Candelaria, Bogota 11001, Colombia (La Candelaria)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Bogota
Fredericton, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great location and friendly staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

The staff were helpful in letting us know what areas to explore on foot, when to best buy see some attractions. The room was small and average but clean. The only downside was one of our three nights was a Friday and the music didn't get turned down till about one in the morning but the other nights were great.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    26
    9
    0
    3
See reviews for
1
19
27
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poznan, Poland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Great knowledgeable staff, clean rooms, all the amenities and comforts available, fresh meals (the BBQ the on friday is delicius), awesome wifi and excelent view of the city! would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

The main reason we picked this place was for it's location. It's right next to the university, so there are usually plenty of people around, and lots of security guards. That said, the area was completely deserted on Saturday and felt a lot less safe.

As for the hostel itself, considering the price (we paid $35 for a double with private bathroom), we expected better. But then I guess hostels in capital cities are always more expensive. The beds and pillows were rock hard and the hostel itself had a cold feel to it, despite their efforts to make it homely. The breakfast was terrible. Awful coffee and a loaf of stale slice white bread. We didn't bother in the end and just went down the road for breakfast instead.

Good points - the showers were good, hot and good pressure. The two girls at the front desk are lovely. They speak perfect English and are really helpful, and have a good knowledge of the area. The facilities are good too, there's a large kitchen, computers, a bar, and a tv room. I guess it was ok for a capital city hostel, but definite room for improvement.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
German C, Owner at Destino Nomada - DnHostel Bogota, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Salthom,
Thank you so much for your review. The objectiveness on your opinion is what can makes us better. We will make sure to solve the hard pillows by getting other models to offer.
Having a cold appearence is harder to solve, but we will definitely look into it.

Thanks for commenting again and I will make sure to share your great opinion about the girls at the reception. They will really appreciate it.

We hope to see you again and find out how we have improved. All the best and happy roads
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We made a reservation at Destino Nomada after getting a recommendation from friends who had stayed there a few years ago and looking at the reviews and website, all of which made it seem to have a fun, social atmosphere. When we got there, however, it was almost completely empty. I think we were the only guests, and despite it being a Friday night, the social events promised on the website were nowhere in evidence. In their defense, we arrived a day after there had been massive protests and riots in the area, however, we moved to another hostel a few blocks away the next day and it was completely full and lively.

Other than that, the hostel was fine. The private room was small and unheated, but that seems par for the course in the area. The staff was pleasant enough, the place was clean, and the location is convenient for sightseeing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
German C, Owner at Destino Nomada - DnHostel Bogota, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Hi, we are very sorry that you came to visit us and missed the environment that we are known for.

During the week we have permanently a "get together" local style. We eat together and then share a drink so we can meet and exchange experiences, and why not, play a game of poker or try some local Aguardiente. This happens whether the hostel is full or just with a few people.

Unfortunately, you came in a day that it was pretty low for us, and things were extremely calmed. We are taking count of your comments and we are definitely making some changes so you get to live the bogota experience, DN Style.

We are sorry, and make sure you tell us once you come back to Bogota, and we will be pleased to show you why your mates from D.C. were always pleased at the hostel.

All the best. and look forward to have another chance to show you Bogota.

Happy roads
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in over 300 rooms while travelling, and this hostel stands out easily, although not on the positive side...

We had made a reservation for a double room, but when checking in we were shown a shoebox sized room with a bunkbed and no windows. When they saw our disappoinment we were told we could transfer to another room, but that one was 55% more expensive!
Since it was already dark and this is not the safest area to wander around (most of the streets in La Candelaria are deserted by 7 pm), we took the small room.

Before we went to bed we asked for an extra blanket and they gave us ... those small airline blankets (mine was from Lufthansa, my wife had the honour to receive one from Alitalia)! Obviously, these blankets were barely enough to keep us warm.

They have a well equiped kitchen, but the dining area is situated in an open air courtyard, and in Bogotá is always cold at night and often rainy, so...

The first night they turned off the music at 10 pm, so we were looking forward to a quiet night. But...we misjudged, again.
The staff (3 young girls) were talking and giggling till 03.30 am, till we asked them if they could be a bit quieter. Their answer? "Do you want us to be quiet???"! My wife:"Well I know it's only 03.30 am, but we would like to sleep!"
Luckily, they shut up and we were able to sleep till 06.45 am when they began again...

The second day there was a big soccer game and the girls (the same ones!) invited all there friends to watch the game and to party. And, like everywhere in the world, when people are drunk they start yelling and singing out of tone! It was like staying in a salsa bar...
But around 10 pm, the young guy who was the responsible that evening kicked everybody out!

Of course, it's not all negative! There are also some positive points:
- very hot showers (!)
- lockers
- well equiped communal kitchen
- simple breakfast provided
- perfect location, only three minutes to the Botero Museum
- the last morning the cleaning lady made a very tasty pineapple juice!

So, maybe you're wondering where all those positive reviews are coming from?
Maybe because of the blackboard with following text: "Do you want a free beer? Write about your experience and show (!) us your review"...

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
German C, Owner at Destino Nomada - DnHostel Bogota, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Hi,
First of all I want to apologize my team and I for not being at all at your level. We are very sorry that you had such a bad experience.

Every single negative thing that you mentioned will be taken care of. Some of the things are easier to fix than others, mainly the type of room that we could of give you, not allowing you sleep, and giving you basic blankets instead of something warmer is something that we can fix immediately.

Unfortunately the design of the house doesn't allow us to give you keep the patio warmer area for dining, although the Bar is always comfortable, dry and available anytime.

I sincerely appreciate your comments. Improving and making out of the hostel a place for having a better experience is what makes us what we are. I hope we get the chance to make it up to you and your wife and show you another face of Bogota and Colombia.

Happy roads and let us know if there is anything that we can do beyond the hostel walls.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellin, Colombia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I loved destino nomada, I felt that I could rest all I wanted and relax. The clean of the dorms and bathrooms it´s excellent and the attention on the lobby it´s so friendly . it´s nice The place itself...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
German C, Owner at Destino Nomada - DnHostel Bogota, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Sebastian. We are very thankful for your comments about the hostel. We try to upgrade the idea of backpacking by offering comfortable and clean facilities next to all the environment that you could be expecting in a hostel.

We encourage you to come over and enjoy our place on your next visit to Bogota. All the best and keep on travelling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

DN is a beautiful hostel with the perfect location to discover historic downtown Bogota. I arrived at the hostel to stay for a week and have been here 7 months! The staff is so friendly, helpful, and caring they have become like a family to me. Their bbqs on fridays are so fun and they also serve the best mojitos! Yuum! It's clean, the kitchen is very well equipped, they have 2 tv rooms, lots of good restaurants within walking distance...it's just the right place to be. The hostel is usually busy during the weekends and more relaxed during the week. Also found really cool that there have been a couple of young families who have stayed with their children and the kids have so much fun here as well. Cool hostel in every way.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Destino Nomada - DnHostel Bogota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Destino Nomada - DnHostel Bogota

Address: Calle 11 No. 01 - 38 | Candelaria, Bogota 11001, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bogota > La Candelaria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a Hostel in Bogotá? At the heart of Bogotá, located at the historical centre of the city is DNHOSTELS - DESTINO NÓMADA, a brand new hostel changing the way travelers are to travel in Colombia... Warm Duvets, great Mattresses, enough bathrooms with 24 hours hot showers, Free Coffee 24 hours, Free Internet, WIFI, Laundry service, 24 hours Information and Attention, Treks and Tours Information, Events Indoors and outdoors the Hostel, Party and great moments to have an unforgettable experience. Take a look of our site to know about the events we have planned for the week, or the events going on in Bogotá, Check our Facilities, How to get to the hostel, Contact us with questions about Colombia and your trips and we will answer during the next 3 hours, and think about the chance of being part of the Big DN Family, of the experiences and a Great Hostel, Just the way the good hostels used to be!!!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Destino Nomada - DnHostel Bogota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Destino Nomada - DnHostel Bogota, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.