We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place and recommended” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Platypus

Save Saved
You added Casa Platypus to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Platypus
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carrera 3 No 16-28, Bogota, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 222 hotels in Bogota
Leuven, Belgium
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice place and recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Fine and kind people, very helpfull. One serious minus is the sound insulation. In some rooms you hear every word and breath of the neighbours. Especially when a group of Netherlanders is there ;-)
Great breakfast. Nice well located place in Bogota on the feet of Montserate.

Room Tip: There are a few rooms in the middle of the building: take these.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    50
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
10
44
21
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sherborne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Have stayed in this beautiful hotel several times and have always been delighted. The staff can not do enough for you and are wonderfull. Its well located for downtown and theres loads of small resteraunts abd great bars in the vicinity. Breakfast is full on with as much as one can eat.Theres also free coffee available in the kitchen all day.

The rooms are always sparkling clean and the water in the showers super hot.Theres a TV in each room as well as in the large communal area upstairs.

If you want a superior stay in the historical centre I cant recommend it enough.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Overall we enjoyed our 4-night stay at Casa Platypus. Although the room itself was pretty basic and small, and seemed a bit too simple for the price, it was extremely clean and came with a hot shower. The only other downside to the room was that it faced the courtyard and the lights there were left on until 1:00 or 2:00 AM or so, which made our room pretty bright until then (though the lights seemed necessary to be left on so that other guests could find their way to their rooms at night...).

However, the room price also included breakfast, which was excellent. In addition, the staff was very helpful with our various questions about public transportation and getting to certain sites, etc. They also confirmed our room reservation by e-mail and responded quickly to our reservation request.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my recent stay at the Casa Platypus. Housed in a charming colonial home, the hotel is located in the Candelaria district and is within walking distance of the main sights and museums. It is also very close to a Transmillenium station stop. With respect to cleanliness it is impeccable. A delicious, made-to-order breakfast is included. The beds have cozy duvet comforters, which are a must with the chilly Bogota evenings. Most of all the staff is amazing - helpful, knowledgable & friendly - thank you to all for a wonderful stay - particularly Roman. I highly recommend Casa Platypus and hope to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

This hotel, with dorm facilities, is a cross between a hotel and hostel. It is kept extremely clean with modern bathrooms and comfortable beds (no bunk beds). The internal communal area is open with two hammocks to chill out in with a book. There is also a lounge room with movies, a modern kitchen for use and an awesome breakfast included - eggs how you like, bread, jam, juice, tea/coffee and cereal. Other facilities include wifi throughout, computers with free internet, laundry service (3500 peso per kilo) and helpful staff! The location is great, right next to Parque de los Periodistas.
The only downfall is that when I went it was quiet season so there weren't many people there to give it a good international community feel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Majorca, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We start our holiday in this hostel / Hotel and and was realy a good choice, the breakfast fasntastic and the location optimal in the heart of La Candelaria, we spent just 2 days in Bog
the best spot was the golden museum, clos by bus to the hostel

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

The room was great and bathroom very clean. We enjoyed our stay very much. Great roof terrace with very nice view. Huge thank you to the amazing and very helpful staff we had a perfect stay. The whole hotel is adorable.I will recommend this place with my eyes closed.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Platypus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Platypus

Address: Carrera 3 No 16-28, Bogota, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bogota
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Platypus 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Casa Platypus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Platypus Bogota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Platypus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.