We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect base for exploring Bogota” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cranky Croc Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Cranky Croc Hostel to your Saves list
The Cranky Croc Hostel
Calle 15 No. 3-46 | La Candelaria, Bogota, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 146 Specialty Lodging in Bogota
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect base for exploring Bogota”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Stayed in private room for four nights. Walkable location to graffiti art tour, Botero musuem, and tram to Monseratte. Hostel provides party bus to Carne Andre de Res, really fun vibe that attracted people from beyond our hostel. Received great service. Be prepared that La Candelaria is a "gritty" neighborhood (with lots of character). Don't expect pristine streets so set your expectations accordingly.

(Also be warned that the city shuts down on Sunday nights so have a movie downloaded or something)

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    57
    21
    10
    8
See reviews for
3
43
66
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I liked this place. Its in a good location , very friendly staff (quite cute to) and very clean rooms and bathrooms. The communal area is smallish which makes it easier for everyone to socialise , the bathrooms are big and newly renovated and the beds are comfortable.

Cons.
There is renovation work going on so each day i didnt sleep past 9am or so.
The shower pressure turns into a drizzle when everyone is showering at the same time.

Everything else is was great.
I would stay here again , and thank you to the reception .... sorry for not checking out on time , and i found my recharger :-p

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Changwon, South Korea
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple nights. The beds were decent and the room was roomy. The location is fantastic. The bathrooms and showers were always clean. I think the only negative was that the staff were just going through the motions, never really eager to help you out.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taumarunui, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

A hostel in the heart of it, staff and owner well versed with all thats happening and only to keen to help you out, being a small hostel enhanced my stay, easier to get to know others, never waiting to long for food , highlight would have to be the bus trip out to some god forsaken place to one of the largest night clubs I have ever been in

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

In preparing for my arrival to Bogota, I did my research of where to stay. The Cranky Croc seemed reasonable from what I read in my guide book and on tripadvisor. The staff were very friendly in email and offered me a pickup from the airport. Jose was very friendly, and patient as he waited 40 mins for me to come through.

When I arrived the staff were friendly. However, my dorm bed was way in the back, in a closet of a room, with no window. The bed was unmade from the previous guest and the room smelled.

After the fact, I learned that taking a taxi is much cheaper from the bus station or airport to La Candelaria than a pickup for 40,000 cop. And its safe to if you do so from the line and get a ticket.

I've no doubt this hostel works for some, and aspects of it are good. It didn't work for me. And I left immediately.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Excellent location, extremely helpful staff (good English for those that need it), well priced, clean and with a good atmosphere. A great base to explore Bogota, easy to get to the main attractions and plenty of bars and restaurants on the doorstep too.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Secure hostel centrally located, friendly staff but take care at night in surrounding area and with taxis (like any major city) Clean dorms and very relaxed chilled vibe In the hostel felt really at home here

We stayed 9 days doing a Spanish language course with Learn More Than Spanish (who were excellent by the way) and it was quiet mid week but much busier at weekends so may need to book ahead. Did the "party bus" to chia one night, was ok (expensive) would not do again had much more fun in central Bogota salsa bars with local crowd and of you want a big club night there are much better options closer by

Room Tip: Dorm beds are very comfy
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cranky Croc Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cranky Croc Hostel

Address: Calle 15 No. 3-46 | La Candelaria, Bogota, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bogota
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 146 Specialty Lodging in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your The Cranky Croc Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cranky Croc Hotel Bogota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cranky Croc Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.