We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good all rounder” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cranky Croc Hostel

Save Saved
You added The Cranky Croc Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cranky Croc Hostel
Calle 15 No. 3-46 | La Candelaria, Bogota, Colombia (La Candelaria)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Bogota
London
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Good all rounder”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Nice hostel in La Candelaria, the old part of Bogota. Receptionists are friendly and helpful with booking taxis and tours. The rooms are clean, with good showers. The size, space and setup of rooms varies so some will sleep more comfortably than others. There is a really good breakfast menu available, with cereal, toast, eggs, pancakes etc. Good communal area with books and computers.

There is building work going on currently though which makes for a lot of noise. My friend, staying in a mixed dorm, had her locker broken into but the hostel dealt with it well. The manager took her to the police station but the receptionist on duty could have been more reassuring and made more effort trying to move her to a different room so she felt safer.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    53
    20
    8
    7
See reviews for
3
42
62
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

This decidedly upbeat place is great for the go-getter traveler. It's large, has a couple of social common areas, attracts a very international crowd, and has goodies like outlets inside your storage cabinet, free luggage storage if your flight/bus leaves a while after checkout, and good guides to Bogotá and surrounding areas. Very friendly staff that genuinely seem to love interacting with travelers. NOTE: only private rooms get keys - if you are in a dorm, the only barrier is the buzz in/out door at the front, which is staffed 24-7 by a receptionist and a security guard that walks the neighborhood out front at night. Excellent location right around the corner from the Parque de los Periodistas. Showers are hot and there are a good number of them.

Room Tip: As of Dec 2013 there is construction going on which may get a bit loud in the mornings. 3rd floor do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

My husband and I stayed in a 10-bed dorm at the Cranky Croc for two nights leading up to New Year's. We couldn't get a room for actual New Year's Eve, so we had to move hostels. We had made great friends at the Cranky Croc and Jose at the front desk was super nice and let us hang out with all our friends in the common room on NYE. He also gave us free tickets, which were only meant for hostel guests, to the Gringo Tuesday New Year's Party although we weren't technically staying at the hostel that night.

The in-hostel restaurant is great and serves both breakfast and dinner. Beds were made every day, bathrooms were newly renovated and everything was very clean and safe. Can definitely recommend the Cranky Croc and their staff!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Pretty cool Hostel in a good area of the city. There is a nice atmosphere in the communal space in the middle of the Hostel where you can meet a lot of people. The rooms are clean and in a good condition. The staff are totally friendly and help you out with everything you need.
I would recommend to stay there.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed here in 2 different private rooms and liked one more than the other. Rooms in the courtyard can get quite cold at night. Although the blankets provided kept us warm while asleep, anything else in the room like packing or changing was at times unpleasant because of the cold.

A lot of good stuff to say about this place though: The staff were very nice and helpful; wi-fi quite reliable; snacks and beverages available for purchase. There are a few newly renovated, really nice bathrooms; food (breakfast & dinner) is good although breakfast is only served starting at 9am. I had to make a few changes to my reservation and each time I received a reply to my e-mail within 3 hours or so.

I saw renovations of a small part of the hostel but never before 8-9 am. The work wasn't particularly loud while I was there, either. There is a resident dog (Mono) and cat (Tinto), both of whom are very friendly and well-behaved. They're very calm and don't go beyond the common areas, so you shouldn't be discouraged if you're not crazy about pets. Importantly, the owners and staff take great care of their animals. Both are former strays who are now fixed and receive good veterinary care; the owners seem to be genuinely kind people.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
357 helpful votes 357 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

The Cranky Croc has rooms at an agreeable price and hot showers (!!!) that make your stay a pleasant one. Location is ideal in La Candelaria, but be smart at night. Bring an extra sweatshirt or blanket, because it gets chilly at night. Skip the transfer service they offer from the airport, as they may jack up the price on checkout (as they did with us – not cool).

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the hostel for a week, there were building works the entire time, we were overcharged for the airport pickup (more than double what a taxi charges), bottles of water are more than treble, and the rooms are expensive for what they are (can get a hotel with breakfast for not much more). The receptionists are very friendly though ;-)

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cranky Croc Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cranky Croc Hostel

Address: Calle 15 No. 3-46 | La Candelaria, Bogota, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bogota > La Candelaria
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your The Cranky Croc Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cranky Croc Hotel Bogota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cranky Croc Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.